We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, best hoteliers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best location, best hoteliers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We live in Calgary and travel internationally but we choose to spend the holiday season at the Post Hotel in Lake Louise. "The Post" has been our family tradition for almost 30 years because of the consistent warm welcome, high quality bedding, beautiful decorating and easy location. The Schwarz brothers, George and Andre, have just been given the title "Hoteliers of the Year" by Hotelier Magazine and Kostuch Media. This award recognizes that we are treated like family when we arrive. Everyone knows our name, the staff say hello, every person working at the hotel wants to make your stay the best ever. When we crawl into our beds after a busy day of skiing, we know that the sheets will be fresh and the duvets will be soft and there is always a chocolate on the pillow! In the morning, we go in the beautifully decorated dining room to have blueberry pancakes and lattes. Then it is off to the slopes on the Post bus and we are dropped at Lake Louise ski resort without a hassle finding parking and schlepping our equipment. We usually eat at "the pub" a warm, welcoming restaurant with delicious food. Then we crawl in our beds to get ready to do it all again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4bigdogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    161
    62
    37
    17
See reviews for
186
482
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

If you don't live in Calgary, it takes some time and effort to get to the Post Hotel, a relais at Lake Louise in the Banff National Park in Canada's province of Alberta. You have to fly to Calgary, then drive 2+ hours to Lake Louise. And it is not inexpensive. But it's worth it - in any season. I have now been there in summer, late fall and early winter (which begins in November at Lake Louise). The road is good (four lanes, divided, to within a half-mile of the hotel) and the scenery into the Canadian Rockies is spectacular, with or without snow. The hotel and spa were created - in every sense of the term - by Andre and George Schwarz, brothers from Switzerland who in the 1980's rebuilt an earlier property opened in the 1940's. There is nothing fancy about the architecture, but it is stunning in its simplicity, fitting perfectly into its Alpine surroundings, with a babbling brook on one boundary and mountain views everywhere. The food and wine cellar of the restaurant have won many international awards, there is a large indoor pool and also a steam room, and the Outpost Pub draws a local crowd as well as hotel guests evenings with a very informal ambience and hearty fare. Most rooms, and the several cabins, have fireplaces. Perhaps most important, the international staff - largely young people who work there a year or two - are exceptionally friendly, well-trained and very attentive. Lake Louise is about 2 miles away, and the town of Banff is about 40 minutes back toward Calgary. There are many fine hotels and lodges in the Banff National Park, including the more famous Chateau at Lake Louise (a large Fairmont property), but none compare favorably to the Post Hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin, open a window and have the sound of the brook put you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelingPhil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Loved it. Quiet, peaceful. Great service. Romantic. Great food. Beautiful views. Super clean.
Picture this. Wood burning fire. Snow falling gently. Room service brings you tea and cookies. Cuddling with your honey. Go for dinner... exceptional. Great wine list. Head back to the room. Amazing soaker jetted tub...you draw a bath and add the wonderful eucalptus bath salts that have been provided. Like being in a spa! The rest is up to you! Enjoy!
I have nothing negitive to say....all good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
504 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

The Post Hotel is most delightful. On our 2008 tour to the Canadian Rockies, we stayed here in Lake Louise. Our second stay here at the Post. The Chataue Lake Louise is OVERATTED. Choose wisely.

Choose a room overlooking the river. You should not be disapointed

Room Tip: Look over the river and NOT the parking lot! Few bucks more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast, CAnada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Exceptional stay, wonderful attention to detail. Just didn't think the Lamb dinner was up to standards!

Room Tip: Get a river front/fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTravelExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.2 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.7 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
1.6 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.0 km away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price range (per night): $349 - $842
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing