We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Lake Louise”
Review of Lake Louise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Louise Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We got in on a ski pass deal so only paid about $130 with taxes. The hotel itself was a bit dated (who doesn't have LCD TV's in the room?), but in remarkably good upkeep. Plentiful parking abounds, as well as some decent options for bars and restaurants right on-site.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that line the pool. The pool closes at 10 o'clock, so unless you're coming i...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuyFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,931)
There are newer reviews for Lake Louise Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,270 - 2,274 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Lake Louise is expensive, no doubt about it, but if you get value for your money, at least you don't mind. This outdated, tired and depressing hotel just could not care less about its guests. In the first place, the buildings are not clearly numbered (it looks like stalag 6) and we found it really difficult to find our block.Lighting and signage was poor and in some cases non existent. Then, we did not know there was a lift, so dragged heavy cases up two flights of stairs with some difficulty. Then, for the first time ever in years of travelling, after struggling with our key and the door, we discovered it opens outwards! Why for heavens sake? If only the reception staff had been pleasant and friendly as we found everywhere else in Canada, these things would either not have been an issue, or we would not have minded, but when you are paying over the odds for miserable staff and inconvenient rooms, comment needs to be made! Breakfast was not included by the way, and there was thick dust on the bedside tables. Room was huge and well fitted, with lots of hot water, but faded and sad, ready for a revamp. Bathroom had peeling paper round sink area. We only stayed one night before moving on to Banff and will certainly not be staying here again. But if you are driving to Banff as we did, don't go on the main road, use the Bow Valley road - in February full of snow, it was quite simply beautiful.
Lake Louise Inn, read all your criticisms and do something about your lackadaisical dump!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

As many other reviewers have noted, the spectacular scenery of Lake Louise and the surrounding area are the big draws. We had specific lodging "requirements" for a group of five guys on a ski trip. Needing five separate beds, two bathrooms, and a kitchen - all at a reasonable price - made selections very limited. Lake Louise is not really even a small town, there's virtually nothing there except for a handful of hotels and a few retail establishments (couple of restaurants, gas station, small grocery store, gift shop, and liquor store). The Fairmont and Post hotels may be better known an nicer, but are far, far more expensive and cannot accommodate a larger group. Some places can sleep six, but are made for couples.

We rented a Big Horn Loft at the Lake Louise Inn and it met our needs. On the plus side, the place was very conveniently located to skiing, it was clean, the beds comfortable, good wireless internet access, and the daily cleaning service adequate. There's also a convenient shuttle bus which runs every 30 minutes right from the front of the Inn to the ski lodge.

On the down side, we found the room to be in need of remodeling (rather dated styling, old CRT TV, etc.) and the kitchen was small and very poorly stocked (very few cooking utensils, no spices, etc.). The oven didn't work the first day, but maintenance was quick to get it fixed by the next day. There's no room for a kitchen table and there's one small table with two chairs in the living room area.

We ate dinner one night at the hotel restaurant and it got mixed reviews from the group. The service was a bit slow and the burgers underwhelmed. You can save money by staying here and walking across the street to the Outpost Pub (in the Post Hotel) for a better meal.

Overall, it's an adequate place to stay if you're looking for reasonable prices in the midst of a very expensive location. Banff, while still small, is a relatively larger town with many more lodging options, stores, and restaurants, but it's about 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTripHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here with a group - Some people didn't get the rooms they requested while others were "upgraded" into those people's rooms. One member of our group was given a room without a real bed, just a folding bed. When we spoke with the front desk manager we were told that rooms are distributed at the discretion of the front desk agent.

Almost everyone had problems with the keys and we all spent time locked out of our rooms waiting for security or walking back and forth to the lobby for new keys. A technician came to repair the lock on our door but later we were told the fault was ours and we (all?) had demagnetized the keys.

When we visited the restaurant we waited long periods only to be told many of the items were not available and waited even longer to find out the waiter hadn't placed our order for what was, so we spent a half hour sitting empty handed - not even a drink. It wasn't that the server was busy we were one of 3 tables at the time.

For the price difference we'll stay somewhere else next time - it will be worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank blueeyedgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at the Lake Louise Inn on February long weekend. It was $279 for one night for 2 couples in a room with 2 queen beds. The Inn is a motel style with 2 story buildings. Our room was on the top floor, and the stairs are outside, not a big deal but a little irritating when its $279 and -15 outside. The room itself is quite nice, roomy and well decorated. However, overnight there was a major problem with temperature - it was way too hot overnight - despite keeping a window open and the thermostat down - we could not even use our blankets or sheets. I don't usually have any problem sleeping and I was awake most of the night. Pretty disappointing for that price, and did not set us up to have the greatest day on the slopes the next day!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank restless1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.6 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,397 reviews
2.3 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,723 reviews
2.8 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
285 reviews
1.7 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
741 reviews
11.9 km away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Inn

Address: 210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $130 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Louise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Louise Inn has the perfect guestroom or suite for your Rocky Mountain getaway. All guest accommodations provide the comfort and convenience of modern amenities like FREE Wi-Fi in a beautiful and rustic mountain setting. Individual room and suite styles may feature kitchens, balconies, patios, fireplaces or Jacuzzi tubs. You can also take in the spectacular mountain scenery through floor to ceiling windows as you relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool and whirlpools. Guests can also enjoy our many dining options, from cozy fine dining at Legends Restaurant to delicious pub style food at Explorers lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Louise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Lake Louise Resort
Lake Louise Bed Breakfast
Inn Lake Louise
Lake Louise Hotel Banff
Lake Louise b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing