We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service, Loud rooms”
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
southern alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Loud rooms”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The service was terrible, front desk staff must have been having a bad day .... all of them. Found a hair in my breakfast but the unattentive waitress couldn't be bothered to come back, and there was only 2 tables ... including ours! Close to Mt Norquay is the only real selling feature at this point. We used to love staying here but the service has declined. Make sure you don't stay on the main floor as the rooms are loud! There was a wedding while we were there that didn't help but you can hear every move from the people above. Not to mention check your bill as we were charged 30+ dollars more than we should have. Overall really don't like having to write this but wouldn't stay here again, witch is really unfortunate.

Room Tip: Bonus is the ski out from Norquay and the hot tub. Thats about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katemar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    303
    103
    52
    24
See reviews for
201
457
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We went for a weekend last year with our dog, a Great Dane. The staff was really friendly and very good about us having such a huge dog. the rooms were beautiful, newly renovated and the scene from our window was gorgeous. however, I left my camera battery and charger in the room. I contacted them about it and normally hotels send small items like this for free however when I got to the post office I had to pay $50! for a tiny parcel. the employee had sent it as COD charging me an extra $30 on top of the COD charges. I contacted the manager and he said the post office charged the hotel extra for sending COD (a statement which I verified with Canada Post that it was NOT true). after about 2 months of trying to contact the manager of the hotel I got a phone call from someone higher up, all he offered to do was pay the $30 extra fee.. he did not try to remedy the situation at all, he just made the excuse that their employees are "transient" and left it at that.
overall our stay there was great but I would never go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
162 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel. It was cozy and comfortable and the room appeared to be modern looking. Staff was attentive and friendly. Price was reasonable. It was clean and the shower was great. Would definately stay again next time I'm back in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent Christmas Day at the Juniper Hotela nd had a great time! Beautiful room, views and the breakfast was excelent!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Calgarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I chose this property for our first-married-Christmas getaway. We stayed in the Healy Creek Suite. It was fabulous. The room was spacious with a grand fireplace, a wall of windows to the oversized balcony and incredible mountain views, as well as a stone-set jacuzzi for two in the bathroom. At less than 170 a night (tax incl) we could not believe we got all that comfort for that price.

Because we stayed over Christmas, there was a lovely tree in the foyer, with a garland wrapped staircase that made the whole place smell lovely and inviting. Every time we walked by the front desk there was a plate of fresh cookies (sometimes gooey and still warm) that were there for the taking. On Christmas day we woke up to find a thoughtful card and small gift left on our door. Little touches like that really made it a great stay.

All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The suite is decorated with a bit of 70's flare (re, the orange corner chair). But it wasn't dingy-old style, it was more like funky vintage style. The room and the whole hotel were very clean and quiet.

Possible drawbacks:
The hotel has an amazing view, although it is located close to the highway. While it didn't make a difference for us in the winter, if you stayed in the summer and liked to sleep with your windows open, it could be slightly noisy. Another trade off of the view is the fact that you are located slightly out of town. It is still less than 5 minutes by car to the town center, but if you want to be able to walk to everything, this may not be the place for you.
The restaurant in the hotel was kind of higher end, which is great for a nice romantic lunch or evening meal, but it lacked the convienence of being able to grab a quick and cheap breakfast on the go. The local Tim Hortons, McDonalds and Subway are less than 5 minutes away by car, however, we had one morning where we got picked up by a charter quite early, and running out and back for breakfast wasn't very appealing. We would have grabbed some grocery store items to eat in the morning, but the suite did not have a mini-fridge or microwave.

Room Tip: Go for the suite. For a little extra money you get a lot more luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.1 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.8 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
1.8 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price range (per night): $133 - $333
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing