We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art”

Canada House Art Gallery
Ranked #34 of 91 things to do in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1974 Canada House Gallery has been a destination for Canadian art in Banff. Representing over 50 painters, 20 sculptors, 3 jewellery designers plus Inuit art there's always something new and exciting to see. You'll receive a warm welcome from friendly and informative gallerists. If you don't see what you're looking for, let us know - we have many works tucked away in the back room. Everyone is welcome... come on in after hiking, skiing, cycling, horseback riding.... our art friends enjoy our gallery in their jeans, gortex and spandex!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A great gallery just a short walk from the main avenue. Worth a look to see how others have perceived Banff National Park.

1  Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Owner at Canada House Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Trekbud!

Thanks for finding our gallery 1 short block off Banff Avenue! We always find it so interesting how our artists interpret their love of nature through their original creations! We're so glad you enjoyed the collection too! Come see us again when you are in Banff!

All the best,

Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 6 reviews
"buy something"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful paintings"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"jewelry"
in 8 reviews
"purchase"
in 10 reviews
"canadian"
in 5 reviews
"purchasing"
in 3 reviews
"ship"
in 2 reviews
"bears"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

This is an international class art gallery that has been increasing its holdings of sculpture. We have bought art from the gallery before and have found the staff cheery and helpful.

1  Thank DavidGunn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Owner at Canada House Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hello DavidGunn1!!

Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear you love our gallery so much! We love it too! And to share our passion of Canadian art makes us just plain happy. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

I think this is definitely a stop in Banff even of you aren't art lovers, this gallery has so much canadian art on display and the staff are very helpful at explaining the origin of the art. There is paintings, sculptures and even jewellery. This is free and a must visit.

1  Thank tsvarakadenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Owner at Canada House Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello tsvarakadenga,
Thanks for your recent visit to the gallery, and your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed viewing our collection and chatting with our team. We're passionate about representing over 100 Canadian artists, and there's always something new to see. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

The Rocky Mountains evoke certain things: images of landscapes, animals, forests, etc. And this is what Canada House focuses on in a wide range of media. They have a lot of large pieces, but also many smaller ones. Staff are always friendly and helpful when you have a question. If you love interesting art, this is a must-see stop for you.

1  Thank BenLar137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Owner at Canada House Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Helllllooooo BenLar137!

THANK YOU so much for your recent visit and glowing words! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our gallery and vast selection of original art. What you see on the walls is just a fraction of what we have tucked in the back... And we're always happy to pull works our of storage to have a little art party! To be honest we LOVE being surrounded by the ever-changing beauty of the art work in the gallery. We really appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit!

Cheers,

Barbara Pelham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Canada House will always have a special place in my heart; mostly because they consistently offer great art by a variety of Canadian artists.

Regularly on my recommendations list for friends that are travelling through Banff.

1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Owner at Canada House Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi d-milne_writer,
Thanks so much for your ongoing support and patronage. It's truly special to us that you love the gallery so much! We look forward to seeing you again and meeting your friends when they come through Banff!
Cheers,
Barb Pelham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canada House Art Gallery also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canada House Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing