We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice base for activities around Banff National Park.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in September of 2011. The accommodations were fairly nice for the price. We booked through AA vacations and got a very nice deal. I found the hotel staff to be courteous and helpful when checking in. You cannot beat the scenery up in the sky in almost every direction off Banff Avenue.

As mentioned in other reviews, the location is on a main street of the town and is quite busy at almost all hours of the day and night. Late in the evening with the windows open for ventilation, you can definitely hear foot traffic outside. This might be a problem for light sleepers. I am not a deep sleeper, and found this mildly annoying.

The room itself was on par with the cost and had a comfortable couch for lounging. The bathroom was nicely furnished and spacious. We also used the Wi-Fi extensively. The location is kind of on the edge of town but we walked to eat lunch and dinner. At a regular walking pace the opposite end of town is probably a 15-20 minute walk. There was also a grocery store within a 10 minute walk.

I will not recommend the restaurant. We tried to have drinks in the bar on a Monday night. There was an NFL game on but there were a few open seats. My wife and I waited at the table and then at the bar for 15 minutes before walking out and leaving. However, if you were under 20 and female, the bar staff would stop what they were doing to make your drinks. I guess being over 30 means you go thirsty
Thinking the bar experience was isolated incident we tried dessert in the main dining hall and were treated like transients for not enjoying an entire dining experience. The waiter seemed highly annoyed we only ordered dessert. I think the restaurant is over price, the service was extremely poor, and there are a lot of better dining options within walking distance.

The underground parking garage was nice but be prepared to maneuver your vehicle or rental in a very tight, confined area. Even though the weather was mild, having a secure place to park in a busy town was welcomed.
This was our first trip to Banff and I would not hesitate to stay here again on another trip.

Room Tip: You lose the view but ask for an interior room if street level noise interferes with your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trancemission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,414 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Caribou Lodge at Banff is a really really lovely hotel. It has some great finishing touches and attention to detail that I haven't seen in some other hotels. Beds were very comfortable and very pleasantly decorated, the big welcoming fire in the lobby area is lovely, and the staff were awesome. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen_Whittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our first trip to Banff and staying at the Caribou lodge. We had been told that it was good but this was better than expectations. Rooms good, house keeping first class, and the Keg Restaurent excellent ~ we enjoyed the breakfasts which set us up nicely for the day. All staff we met were very pleasant and anxious to be helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ok, so this is my second time returning to the resort. It didn't disappoint again. We got a Bed and Breakfast deal. The hot buffet breakfast at the Keg was good, definitely enough food to please anyone.

The only difference this time was we stayed in a two double bed room as opposed to a two queen room. For the ten dollars or so difference, pick the two queens room. The room was much bigger and the bathroom counter too. The beds were a nice size but cramped room. Plus, the double bed rooms were much closer together which made for some noise bleed-through. Overall I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbird31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

A clean comfortable room with a large bathroom.

Check in was busy but the staff worked efficiently, they just have so much to tell you and are very kind.

Complimentary WiFi, Banff Transit Bus Pass (fantastic way to get around, especially because it takes you to the Gondola and Hot Springs!!!), Newspaper, Board Games, Playing cards, DVD players, hot coffee and tea 630am-11am, hot pool/steam room & gym.

We were on our honeymoon and later that evening reception rang to usk if we would like a bottle or white or red white- lovely.

It is a small walk into Banff central but its flat and easy to do.

If skiing the bus up to Lake Louise ski resort stops right at the door!

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,194 reviews
0.1 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
0.7 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,469 reviews
0.8 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $135 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing