We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, Great location, overall excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #20 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, Great location, overall excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

first impressions where great, I love staying in small hotels so that you get to know the staff, and have them greet you daily. the lodge manager `Dee` was especially nice when recommending places for us to check out around town.
The homestead Inn is located very close to ice skating rentals, bars, museums, and a very nice coffee shop called `the wild flower`.
We had met a few other travelers in town that where staying in hotels further down the main street and stated that they had to walk about 15 mins to the bar we where at, this made us thankful of the downtown location in the very cold weather.
the rooms where clean and the housekeepers where nice.
overall loved it here.. would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: get to know the lodge manager, she gave us a really great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    100
    77
    23
    20
See reviews for
69
94
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very terrible service and managment, floor tiles were falling out, the bathroom door had a hole in it, that of which the hotel attempted to patch with drywall putty... We had another room with us; they had a hole in their ceiling and tiles were also falling out. We also had apparent complaints about our rooms at times we were not at the hotel - The manager tried to take the previous damage out of our damage deposit, and also tried to garnish us for other rooms accomidations; thankfully we took pictures as soon as we walked into this terrible motel. Had to mention lawsuits to get a refund on the days we were no longer welcome. Talked to a few locals, this is an apparent common issue with this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famousdels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aflierjans, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
To your review we would like to respond as follows:

On the night in question, we received numerous noise complaints from our guests about the excess noise coming from your rooms. We issued warnings to both rooms making the noise. This is the reason we asked you to leave the next morning. It is our experience that our guests appreciate a quiet sleep at night.

In regards to your comments about the state of the rooms, we like to point out that we received the 2012 Alberta Hotel Lodging Association for “clean and well maintained rooms” (see the award plaques in the lobby). We achieved that award by working hard keeping the rooms clean and in good order and by evicting “guests” that could damage our rooms and our outstanding reputation.

Our apologies go out to the other guests that were kept awake that night.

To our future guests - we invite you to read the other reviews we have received on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Can't beat the price! Walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainkidsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahon, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

First impression on arrival was good all the staff we met were welcoming helpful and knowledgeable. The location was perfect for us, skiing in Lake Louise, walking distance to the Banff Avenue, the shops, restaurants etc. Although it was -29c and wind chill more so we used the car more then we would have done had it been slightly warmer.

The rooms were perfectly adequate for us, clean - yes a little dated but you get what you pay for. The water was hot for a nice bath after a long day and the rooms warm. Would have been better if the entrance to the rooms were internal. But during the summer this would cause no issues

We had breakfast in the sister hotel Banff lodge good value at 10$, we also used the laundry services useful when on a ski trip.

No complaints from us and would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Same as other comments if you can't manage the stairs ask for ground floor, but no problem for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ST0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

The hotel haven't been updated for quite a while. We stayed for 9 days during Christmas in double queen room ($61/night). The room was dicently cleaned every day. It is equipped with TV, mini fridge, coffee machine, and hair dryer. The first floor is definitely a noisy place. If you can get to the 3d floor (no elevator), should definitely choose a room there!
You will need your own tooth brash and tooth paste.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga-Dzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price range (per night): $77 - $148
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing