We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Always a treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was one of many stays at the Banff Springs, and being the Family Day long weekend the hotel was very busy, with lots of children. We spent the $40 to upgrade to a Deluxe room, which is worth it for 100 square feet more than a Fairmont room, but we were in an adjoining room which had a baby next door and you could hear every sound through the thin walls. Since the hotel was almost sold out, when we asked about moving, there wasn't much to be done. Check in was quick and efficient, Chris in Valet was the one who greeted us when we drove up and he was very friendly. The hotel, well, due to its age, your guestrooms are tiny, but the grounds and common areas are enchanting! We could walk for hours through the hotel, visiting the shops and galleries and looking at all the old pictures. Grapes Wine Bar is our favorite spot for dinner, great menu and staff. Really an experience, nothing beats it in Banff.

Room Tip: Spend the money for an upgrade, 250 sq. feet for a standard room is just too tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,880
    1,197
    490
    279
    160
See reviews for
1,392
2,727
135
840
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed there in mid-January 2012 for a conference and many of us had terrible experiences with our rooms. I echo an earlier review that called the rooms dilapidated...they are. I was moved to another room that arguably worse than the one I started out in. Both rooms had worn old green carpet, dusty old furniture, small dated bathrooms with mildewy tiles and noisy old ceiling fans. The worst part was the mattress - it was soft and worn into U-shape so that I sunk into the middle and my back was actually sore after a 3 day stay. Oddly, I had a similar issue at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler at New Years - a King size mattress, way too soft with a big dip in the middle (not sure if Fairmont had a bad purchase of mattresses). It was inexcusable to have such a terrible mattress at reputable hotel chain like Fairmont. I would have changed rooms a second time if it weren't for the stories I heard from others at the conference - rooms with broken heating necessitating space heaters to be brought in and others where the breakers kept tripping in the room.
The overall architecture of the hotel is beautiful. It's a shame, but I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone expecting comfort or posh rooms. When I checked out and mentioned my concerns, they said "some of our floors have been renovated", which did little to satisfy my disappointment. I used to stay at Fairmonts routinely for business travel but my recent experiences at the Banff Springs location and the Chateau Whistler have me thinking otherwise. There's no excuse for terrible mattresses.

Room Tip: Have them show you your room at check-in and be sure the manager comes with you. Check the mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dan11doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

One of a kind resort. A must stay to appreciate the castle atmosphere.
Service was great. Food and bevies were great (for a pretty penny). And location was great.

On the negative side:
Valet parking: $35/day even if you leave your car parked the whole time. An alcoholic beverage is about $10-15. A dinner plate is about $30-50 per person. It is an expensive stay.

The worst of it all: the rooms. Don't plan on sleeping in. From 7am-10am there is a constant slamming of doors from people leaving other rooms to hit the slopes. And it's not quietly. I am a heavy sleeper and was awaken everytime a door slammed (about 15-20 doors).
It makes a long weekend away, a very very long long and tired weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RustyDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful hotel with all the amenities! Food quality could have been a little better but overall a great experience. Service was excellent. Hotel has one of the best locations in the world!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful resort hotel in the mountains. Rooms a little dated, but fits with the "castle" vibe. Lots of activity going on in and around the resort at all times.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdawn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.9 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
2.2 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.9 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price range (per night): $376 - $878
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing