We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,764)
Filter reviews
1,764 results
Traveller rating
712
743
206
67
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
743
206
67
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews granola hot tub economy room premium room breakfast staff breakfast was included breakfast room the main street shops and restaurants two sinks third floor steam room street noise would definitely stay here again underground parking mini fridge stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 1,764 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

The rooms are pretty good. Service is great. Breakfast is not the best though, no options for soy milk or gluten free. Very little with choice but it is included in the stay, so can't complain too much. Like the use of the laundry room as well, very handy for a family.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank NewExplorer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make use of our laundry facilities, it can be rather useful. Your breakfast suggestions are fantastic, with this increase in allergies this is definitely something we will look into. We do offer bacon and sausages from a local butcher (Valbella Canmore) which are all gluten free.
Thank you,
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

In our travels we have spent many nights in hotels. This place is genuinely unbeatable. The staff are incredible, friendly, smiling, helpful and welcoming. Maintenece went out of thier way to accomodate a issue we had with our vehicle. The rooms are in excellent condition. You cannot be disappointed !!! Thank you for making our stay one of the very best we have had internationally !

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank manycolors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you very much for your glowing review, it is wonderful and we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that our maintenance team was able to help you with your vehicle, they are a great team and we are so glad to work with them. Please do stay with us again.
Thank you,
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I had spent a long day hiking through Banff when my friend and I arrived to check in to the hotel. She had booked the hotel via Expedia or another third-party site. When checking in, the hotel manager talked down to us and yelled at us for booking via a third-party site instead of directly with the hotel. My friend had used her English name instead of her Korean name to book the room, which she had done in the past. The manager refused to let us have the room because her ID did not match the name she booked with. While I understand this is a security concern, there was absolutely no reason for her to yell at us and berate us for ten minutes. Not only did she yell at us, she also yelled at her own employee in front of us, making the entire situation extremely uncomfortable.

Finally, my friend found some ID with her French name on it, and she let us check-in to our room, where we finally were able to relax. The room was spacious, comfortable and nice. The free breakfast in the morning was plentiful - many options to choose from, including chicken sausage! While the hotel itself was great, the experience with the manager really made me feel uncomfortable here.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Hello Elizabeth,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. On behalf of the Front Desk Manager and the entire team we would like to apologize that you were made to feel uncomfortable while checking in. We do aim to provide exceptional customer service to each and every guest and this is not how we would like anyone to feel. For security purposes we do require matching ID when checking guests into their guest room, when reservations are made directly with us we have further information such as contact information and an address which can help verify a guest checking in, unfortunately with other bookings we only receive the name of the guest and it is very difficult to verify without correct ID. We apologize for any inconvenience that this caused at your check in.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the complimentary breakfast which we offer, the chicken sausages are my favorite too.
We do hope you consider staying with us again in the future and we can wow you with our superb customer service skills.
Thank you,
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days during the first week of December 2016 as a mini skiing vacation. This is a nice, clean boutique hotel right on the main Banff Ave strip. The hotel is 3 floors high and walking up and down wasn't an issue. Our room came with a mini fridge which was convenient for storing our groceries for on lunches on the ski mountain. The room also had robes that were handy when going down to the hot tub; a daily activity for us after skiing all day. :)

Pros:
- Convenient location on the main strip. IGA (grocery store) just one block away
- Free underground parking (first come, first serve)
- Outdoor hot tub, next to gas fireplace
- Clean, spacious room
- Hot breakfast included. Homemade granola was great
- Ski/Snowboard locker room. Front desk will provide a padlock to secure your equipment.
- Hot cider served in to lobby daily

Cons: (not much but here are some just to nit pick)
- Elevator is small. It could fit 4 people. Add luggage and it would be super tight. We took the stairs most of the time
- There was a Streamer room next to the hot tub that we tried but it didn't seem to work or do anything when we pressed the button. It was cool that they even had this. It just didn't work for us.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to others. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaGetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you very much for your great review, we really appreciate your comments. We are happy to hear that you had a great few days of skiing in the mountains and that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel. I followed up with our maintenance department regarding the steam room and they mentioned that they do check it every morning to be sure it is working but that it does take a few minutes from when it is turned on for the water to heat up and produce steam, we are looking into signage to be sure guests do have the chance to enjoy this relaxing feature. We do hope you stay with us again and thank you very much for recommending us to others.
Thank you,
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The rooms are a decent size, clean and functional. The open air hot tub in the courtyard is nice. The breakfast package makes it easy to get out to the hill a little quicker.

The location is fairly central and within easy walking distance of shopping and restaurants.

Rooms facing the street can be a little noisier when late night revelers head home.

One of my favorite features is that there is a fair bit of outdoor over-sized parking suitable for pickups. Not always easy to find in Banff.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews