We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allergy discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Allergy discovery”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here on a quick overnight getaway with our teenaged children. The condo with loft was perfect, as kids had own beds and we had privacy. The only problem I had was with the intense smell of woodburning smoke which made me well aware of an allergy that I and my son both have discovered overnight. Thank goodness for cold and sinus meds. otherwise a great room and lovely location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets. It’s fantastic to hear our One Bedroom Loft Condo was perfect for your needs and provided the much needed privacy you sought. We are taking steps to provide a more green experience for our guest as we are slowly introducing gas fireplaces in all of our rooms. We currently have a small number of rooms fitted with gas fireplaces fitted and we would be happy to accommodate you allergy requirements next time you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    403
    159
    68
    39
See reviews for
632
139
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the resort at the end of March 2012 while we were on vacation skiing at Lake Louise. We stayed in a loft unit with two bedrooms (one loft, one main floor) with three queen sized beds in total (two in the loft). There were one and a half bathrooms which was very handy for five of us in the mornings heading out to ski and again in the afternoons returning. Our children 8 & 10 really enjoyed the water slides and play area and spent several evenings there.. Also to keep peace help keep peace in the family there were three flat screen TVs, one each in the loft, living room, and main floor bedroom. The price while not cheap was reasonable for the accommodations. The next time we come to Banff we'll be certain to stay at Douglas Fir.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wpg_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for providing your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us. Our One Bedroom Condo’s are perfect for larger families which provide the much needed additional space, extra bathroom and additional bedroom. We have a number of great promotions available throughout the year, be sure to stay connected via our e-newsletter as well as our Facebook and Twitter accounts to be the first to know about our best prices. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Douglas Fir Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is the second time my children and I have spent a night at the Douglas Fir Resort. The kids LOVE this place. We stayed in a "loft room" which had an upstairs (loft) area which the kids were thrilled about. The full kitchen and fireplace made our stay so much more comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newfiehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for staying at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets and for your subsequent review. It’s wonderful to hear that our fully equipped kitchens made your stay comfortable and convenient and your kids enjoyed the loft! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December 2011. We are a family of 5 and had some friends visiting from Australia (family of 4). The ages of the kids range from 8 to 15 (3 girls and 2 boys). The kids loved the pool (which had apparently just reopened after some renovations). We stayed in a loft unit with 3 bedrooms (each with 2 queen size beds) and a total of 4 bathrooms (one en-suite in each bedroom, and another on the main floor beside the kitchen). One of the loft bedrooms was a bit small and the bathrooms in the two loft bedrooms were pretty small, but everything was clean and functional. We loved having a full kitchen, huge dining room table (would have easily seated 12) and living room. We were there for 3 nights and had breakfast in our suite every morning before heading off for a day of skiing and/or sightseeing. We ordered pizza in for dinner one night (recommended by the front desk, very good) and ate in Banff the other two nights. The adults especially appreciated the free shuttle bus into Banff which ran on schedule and ensured that we could all enjoy a glass of wine with dinner without having to worry about designated drivers or finding parking in Banff. This hotel is NOT within walking distance of Banff's main street, but the shuttle bus stops directly in front of the hotel and has many convenient stops within the Banff town site.

Our unit came with 2 underground heated parking stalls which was a nice benefit; no scraping the windshields in the morning! The kids also liked the daily "turn down" service with the delicious chocolates left in their rooms.

We would definitely stay here again, the price was right and the accommodations were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3princesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you so for much taking the time to write a review. We’re ecstatic to hear how great your family holiday was. Our 10 person, 3-Bedroom, 4-Bathroom, Family Suites are ideal for large family gatherings; we built them to ensure every room has their own private bathroom and we included an large additional forth bathroom with soaker tub to accommodate a more comfortable bathing experience. We have a number of wonderful promotional available through our e-newsletter as well as our Facebook and Twitter accounts, so be sure to stay connected. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Douglas Fir was a great family hotel with plenty of things to do in the evening to burn off the kids last bit of energy.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom w/ loft and loved it. The room had a real mountain ski resort feel to it. There's also a grocery store attached to the hotel so any odds and ins that you need can be picked up without leaving the property.
Any time we're back in Banff we'll definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmm474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your review, I’m pleased to hear how wonderful your stay was with us. Our suites and cabins are the perfect mountain getaway for many and our on-site grocery store provides convenience for the last minute bits and pieces you may have forgotten. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,105 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
769 reviews
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.8 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price range (per night): $163 - $397
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing