We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a great stay at Charlton's Cedar Court. The room was a standard with two queens for a family of 4. It was clean and comfortable with a HUGE bathroom as far as hotel bathrooms go having a shower and separate bath. All the right extras were provided including conditioner and mouthwash and pleanty of HOT water was available. The room was up to date with flatscreen, mini-fridge, coffee maker and teapot, desk, coffee table and two comfortable chairs, good lighting, and an excellent wi-fi connection. I also was happy to find lots of electric outlets in convenient locations. Most hotels leave me climbing under desks to figure out which light I don't need to find a plug or having to sit in an uncomfortable location to have my laptop plugged in. Large windows on both sides of the room gave us pleanty of daytime light and a reasonable view.

We had originally had some reservations about staying here as we specifically wanted a whirlpool and there was no mention of it on the list of ammenities. Rest assured though, the pool areas is clean (and warm) with a very nice pool, large hot tub, sauna, changing rooms, and towels provided. The pool was open late (till 11:00) so we had plenty of time to enjoy it.

The free breakfast was a nice touch. Fruit/melons, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, bagels, and toast with an ample number of toasters. The staff at breakfast was extremely friendly and helpful. We had pleanty to eat before heading to the slopes. Safeway was just around the corner for any additional items/snacks we needed and the ice and snack machines were new and well stocked.

We'll definitely be back soon. I think I'd like to try the fireplace loft next time.

An added hint, dinner at the Magpie and Stump (Mexican) was delicious and very reasonably priced with menu items I hadn't seen before and great service.

Room Tip: The rooms get quite warm at night so don't pack the heavy pajamas. The carpet had some stains d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    316
    167
    62
    47
See reviews for
224
398
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I bought this deal on Living Social for $189/ 2 nights at the Charlton's Cedar Lodge loft suite. For an older hotel that's been renovated, I would have to say it was a pretty nice suite and very comfortable. My only complaint was that the loft area was too hot for sleeping and the sitting area was too cold at night. The staff were were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was your average continental breakfast. The pool was a bit too cold but the steam shower was awesome!
Would definitely go back to the Charlton's Cedar Court.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggy0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Loft rooms not as comfortable as what their site advertises. Not overly romantic. No view from room, cool on lower area, uncomfortably warm in loft area. Keep window open in loft area to cool room and woke to lower area freezing in morning (April). Stairs to loft area hard to negotiate.
Very noisy between rooms, could hear clearly what was being said and preformed in other room, kinda like a cheap porn movie without the picture.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Welland, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I hate to do this as I usually can find reason not to complain and can find good in most places I've stayed...but even in 3rd world countries I have had better accomodations and service... this needs to be said...
Ok first let me say that the staff was friendly, although not knowledgeable or helpful.Or perhaps it was just that management hides when there is trouble and leaves the staff to act like they can't help?
I booked 2 Superior King Rooms on the web site ...it showed those rooms as having a lovely big deep tub...no tub was to be found in the room only a shower stall, when I questioned it I was told by the lady at the front desk that only the queen rooms had tubs...HUH??? Because printed on my confirmation paper, that I brought with me... under room amenities was ...yup tub...but no tub was to be found. Also under amenties was a blowdryer...nope that's not there either( I checked for it after I discovered my next concern)... the plugs in the rooms by the sink would not hold in my hair dryer(that luckily I had with me) or the curling iron... even when you did the little spread the prong trick...it was so bad, that my dear husband had to hold the dryer into the socket while I dryed my hair...same for the iron. It was the same in the other room we booked for my son and his wife. My husband told the young man at the desk but nothing was done to fix it. We had also requested rooms on the ground floor and close together...We were 3rd floor and on other sides of the building (apparently they really don't care what you ask for, as the hotel was fairly empty being the Monday after Easter) Also the carpet in our room was disgusting...Room 339. I would not walk on it in bare feet I can assure you!
In the morning I wanted to print out our boarding passes...it cost $2.00 per minute to use the internet and it was so slow and then it froze on me...Again the staff was unable to do anything ...including refund my money as it had been inserted into the Computer itself...Cute trick!
The only good thing about the hotel was that the bed was comfortable and because it was empty the hotel was quiet...Would I stay again...NO WAY IN HELL...There are so many hotels in Banff to chose from...please do yourself a favour and don't book here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed here, both times booking the loft suite with fireplace and its been great both times. We also enjoy the pool/hot tub area, its small but clean and often very quiet. Overall, its a great place to stay for the price, the rooms are clean and well maintained and the staff is good. There are no real views from any of the rooms but you're in Banff so get outside and see them. Its an ideal place to stay for a quick night away, a mini-vacay.

There is no restaurant on site, but they do have a little eatery for the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: The loft suites with fireplace are great. There's a little fridge in the room so bring some wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skett_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.1 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
797 reviews
0.8 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,216 reviews
0.2 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price range (per night): $147 - $413
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing