We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Ahhhhhsome

A great trail. I have travelled this trail a few times, usually in early/mid summer. This time was... read more

Reviewed 27 September 2018
deathracerJH
,
Okotoks, Canada
via mobile
The hike was just half the ride!

I hiked Rockbound Lake Trail this past summer as a means to summit Castle Mountain. The trail is... read more

Reviewed 30 August 2018
Mike_Slawik
,
Winnipeg, Canada
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
10
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elevation gain tower eisenhower reward spray trek bear trail snow falls
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

A great trail. I have travelled this trail a few times, usually in early/mid summer. This time was late summer almost fall, and seeing it after a recent snowfall was ahhhhmazing. The fall colours were starting to show and what a show they provided! The trail is well maintained and easy to follow. There is a steady elevation gain up to Tower Lake and a steep hike up to Rockbound Lake. Worth the effort to this amazing place. Highly recommend you check it out!

Thank deathracerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I hiked Rockbound Lake Trail this past summer as a means to summit Castle Mountain. The trail is long but beautiful. It hides a lot of the mountain scenery at first but when you finally get to see Eisenhower Tower, it's very impressive. The lake is gorgeous and the view is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. But that was just a part of the journey to summit Castle Mountain. Its about 8km to Rockbound Lake. It's not for the unfit that's for sure. But the end is worth the journey! Just be bear smart and carry your bear spray. I didn't see any activity, but someone I talked o had seen a black bear and 2 cubs.

Thank Mike_Slawik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Agreed, the first few kilometres are a tiny bit tedious, but once you get out of the forest, it's just magnificent! If you want to get rid of the tourist hordes, this is the place to be.

Thank CedricDeBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Rockbound Lake in Alberta's Banff National Park requires purchase of a pass to explore and enjoy. Preferably experience it on a non rainy day as it can get slippery. We had rain for 2 weeks straight and unseasonably low temperatures so we just had to go with it, the plus was no bugs not a one.

Take a pcnic as there is a 2nd lake and the view is very romantic.

Thank chickandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

firstly, the end justifies the hike, which is not bad, but those of you not in great shape, it's a trek. my 18 year old bounded up to top, then climbed further past lake to get premier photos, I was very sore upon return. hiking shoes a must, camera a must, some snow at top, marmots running around, beautiful lakes, great rockstacking options, have fun, go in morning, and beat crowds.

Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

As most other reviewers mentioned this is a long hike but with a wonderful reward. My recommendation is to start in the morning to catch the hot sun once you are at the second lake. If you can, definitely worth making it past the first lake (a 1/2km trek over a ridge) and the offshoot to the falls near the start of the hike. The falls don't connect with the main hike so it is out and back but the three tiered falls are pretty cool.

Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

There is a reward waiting if you can make it to it past the first lake. From the first lake it is about 30 min hike and about 15 min with some steep grade but not too bad. So serene and peaceful. You will barely see a few people while hiking. A very good romantic getaway for couples. It is excellent for families too. You can take a dip in the pond if you wish. There was wolves warning when we hiked in Aug probably the perfect weather not too hot or cold. We never saw any animals on the way but I guess you should be prepared as with any hike in the Rockies with a bear minimum Bear spray. About 17k round trip which requires some of level of physical fitness but no need of scrambling unless you decide to continue further. It is not a very difficult hike in terms of difficulty level medium.

Thank mdcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Just after Castle Junction off the Transcanadian Highway you will hit the smallish car park. Most of the people there wil only be heading for the Silverton Falls nearby and therefore if you do not arrive early in the day you might not find a parking slot so easily.
The first stretch of the trail through the woods is going up moderately and offers no particular highlight. Once it narrows reckon with quite a few muddy patches if there was rainfalll or if snow melted a few days before your visit. Some large stone slabs will allow you to avoid a few of the worst bits, but all in all you will encounter mud. Keep going if you are not walking around in tennis shoes or town shoes (we met a few optimistic tourists you had to give up!) and soon the wood will clear so that you get a good view of the back of the impressive Castle Mountain and especially of the majestic Eisenhower Tower. the first lake you will get to is Tower Lake surrounded by high cliffs. One of those will need all your attention: it is the headwall leading further up to Rockbound Lake. Stop at some of the switchbacks where the tree curtain is not so dense to get a good view of Tower Lake down below and enjoy the panorama of that wide valley with snowy peaks in the background. But watch your feet on the steep and slippery natural steps that bring you to the top of the headwall. Once done, you will see Rockbound Lake and get an even better view of Castle Mountain. If you have enough energy left a small trail that leads you higher up on the right side of the lake will allow you to gain an even better view. If it is too much for you, just turn around and walk to the edge of the headwall on your left side. The whole valley lies at your feet and on a clear day the panorama is breathtaking.

Thank nordlysMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We did this trail after a recommendation from one of the staff members at the Banff information centre. I think her name was Carla(?) and to her goes my big thank you! What a lovely hike and stunning views at the top.

Rockbound lake is surrounded by Castle mountain and can be reached after a 8.4 km hike (one way) and 760 m of elevation gain starting from the parking lot at Castle junction. It is not a particularly difficult hike, just long, but can be done in about 5 hours roundtrip at a good pace. The last 500m or so (after passing the first lake) are very steep, hiking poles are useful at this stage.

The view at the top is beautiful. It was very peaceful since there weren't many hikers around, maybe because we hiked in the morning. Make sure you do this hike if visiting Banff and plan for a relaxing rest at Rockbound lake.

Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Important tip. If you make an early start and get to the region before 9am, use the washrooms at nearby Johnsons Canyon - they are the best mountainside washrooms in the area and there are no washrooms at the Base of the Rockbound Lake walk.

The walk itself is an 8.4km long trail with a 760m elevation. The prize is the lake at the top with the cliff rocks around it. Well worth it but it is a long way down.

Thank DandJandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews