We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous escape for New Year”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharon155
south yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous escape for New Year”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A little gem of a cottage with little touches that make it extra special.
We were left fresh eggs preserves milk and cookies.
The cottage is cosy yet spacious and close to loads of interesting places to visit.
We did not want to travel far but wanted a place to enjoy New Year's Eve with friends.
Ashover has 3 pubs to visit and is a lovely 45 min walk with our dog.
There is a pub at the end of the lane just a short 10 min walk where we were made very welcome for an early New Year's Eve drink. More than anything we enjoyed the log fire and the doorstep walks with the dog who loved the enclosed garden.
Veronica and Jo have thought of everything.
Well worth the visit.
Sharon Abbott

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich C
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, A real home from home with everything you need for a relaxing stay. This was our third stay at Acorn & we have just booked again for next year, Lovely location for a pre xmas relax.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katrayner
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My cousin and I have stayed at Acord Cottage twice now. Last September, and now this year too. We meet up there as we live in opposite sides of the country. It is quiet and peaceful, and Veronica and Jo are the nicest people and nothing is too much trouble. There is always a cake and some fresh eggs waiting for us on our arrival. Easy parking too! I have never stayed anywhere else that is as clean as this cottage. Plenty of space also. Takes a bit of finding, so use your sat nav! But well worth the effort. Would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Narrow country lane
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelEB...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was very clean,warm and cosy but at the same time spacious. The cottage is on the owners small holding and it was amazing seeing all the animals especially the piglets. The location is was very peaceful and relaxing and it was lovely being able to sit out in the garden for breakfast waiting for the robin to visit.
The cottage has everything you need and a nice welcome pack which included "blue" eggs and honey. Lots of little extras.
Jo and Veronica are friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
We will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Clean, peaceful, location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome cottage, friendly owners. Loved it”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have jus returned from a fabulous stay at acorn cottage ... Cannot praise it enough. We loved every minute. Walking in to the lights on and a cosy warm place all ready for Us as we was arriving late. It's the little things that impress. Even more impressive was the scrumptious lemon drizzle cake and eggs from the resident Hens. Well equipped cottage for dining even fully stocked Cleaning provisions. Bin liners. Even foil and cling film. The doggies are thought of too with towels And dog bed/ water bowls. Even poop bags and the offer to borrow leafs etc if forgotten your own. Cannot praise this place enough. Cannot wait to return. Thanks Jo & Veronica

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing