We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RachaelEB...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was very clean,warm and cosy but at the same time spacious. The cottage is on the owners small holding and it was amazing seeing all the animals especially the piglets. The location is was very peaceful and relaxing and it was lovely being able to sit out in the garden for breakfast waiting for the robin to visit.
The cottage has everything you need and a nice welcome pack which included "blue" eggs and honey. Lots of little extras.
Jo and Veronica are friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
We will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Clean, peaceful, location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome cottage, friendly owners. Loved it”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have jus returned from a fabulous stay at acorn cottage ... Cannot praise it enough. We loved every minute. Walking in to the lights on and a cosy warm place all ready for Us as we was arriving late. It's the little things that impress. Even more impressive was the scrumptious lemon drizzle cake and eggs from the resident Hens. Well equipped cottage for dining even fully stocked Cleaning provisions. Bin liners. Even foil and cling film. The doggies are thought of too with towels And dog bed/ water bowls. Even poop bags and the offer to borrow leafs etc if forgotten your own. Cannot praise this place enough. Cannot wait to return. Thanks Jo & Veronica

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich C
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat.”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just returned from our second visit to Acorn Cottage & have already booked for next year. The owners Jo & Veronica have thought of everything possible to make your stay a memorable one. The added little touches like complimentary milk, tea/coffee cake, & eggs on your arrival are great. The cottage its self is a cosy barn conversion, it’s very well equipped & stands in a lovely quiet location. Dogs are welcome & there are plenty of walks in the nearby countryside & woodlands to tire them out. We would defiantly recommend this cottage & the number of visitors returning each year speaks volumes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little added touches, Milk, eggs. cake ect
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3dogmum
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I can describe Acorn Cottage, Jo & Veronica in one word . . . FABULOUS! Everything far exceeded my expectations. The only negative I have is that my husband & I did not stay here for the 14 weeks we were in Derbyshire in 2013 because we didn't know about the cottage. Now I know, but it looks like it might be quite difficult booking for several months as everyone who stays here will always book again. Thank you Jo & Veronica for offering such an idyllic setting & cottage. Out of all the self catering I've stayed at in England, Scotland & Wales, this is by far the BEST. Cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition & location of cottage and Jo & Veronica.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is an outstanding cottage, the best we have stayed in. The accommodation is excellent and the welcome received from Veronica and Jo was quite special. A card, cake, eggs from their hens, and honey from their bees . There was even a bed for the dog, in case you had forgotten to bring one! The cottage is very well equipped, spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable. The dog had an enclosed private garden to play in and plenty of quiet lanes and open fields to explore. The cottage is very well situated for visiting all that the Peak District has to offer and their are four excellent pubs nearby. We couldn't have asked for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing