We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect dog-friendly rural retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen
Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Double Bedroom
View from the Kitchen Window
Sitting Room with log fire
Another view of Foxglove Cottage's Garden
View from Outside Foxglove Cottage
Twin Bedroom
Another view of the Double Bedroom
View from footpath along the lane from the cottage
Dining Kitchen, newly fitted in December 2013, now includes a dishwasher
Bench outside Foxglove's front door
Foxgloves in the garden
Bathroom
Ashover Village
View from the lane just outside Foxglove Cottage
Heather Moorland within 2 miles of cottage
Bluebell Walk in the Spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dog-friendly rural retreat”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is lovely - clean, cosy, comfortable and well-equipped. The owners were very friendly and helpful with very good communication before our visit. The location is excellent with lovely walks from the cottage door and proximity to excellent pubs. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
84mele
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant family friendly cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in Foxglove cottage for 3 nights over the Easter weekend with our 2 children. Sue the owner was really welcoming, the cottage was really clean & warm (heating was on before we arrived as it was a bit of a chilly day), & equipped with everything we needed, plus a few extras such as toiletries & a few chocolates which was lovely. There was a parking space right outside the cottage which was great, & also a little garden with seating - although the weather wasn't good enough for us to use unfortunately. It was a great location for getting to places in the Peak District, Bakewell & Chatsworth House were only a short drive away. We will definitely stay again the next time we are visiting the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English_L...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both cottages and it worked very well for a large group. Sue was welcoming and very organised a pleasure to deal with. The cottages were both really well equipped and had nice touches like the welcome tray, milk in the fridge & the fire ready laid for a cosy winters evening.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakotah
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“180 degree views.”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was clean, very warm and cosy. There are great views from the windows and plenty of space for a couple traveling with two labs. Walks for the dogs straight from the door with wonderful sunrises if you are an early bird. A welcome tea tray awaits you in the kitchen with chocolates to nibble in the lounge. Upstairs the double bed was very comfortable with quality duvet and bedding and soft towels. The bathroom has an electric shower so plenty of hot water and enough complimentary toiletries to last the week if you wish. The all important Wifi is free.There is also a very large cellar which is a usable space for drying clothes and has a larger freezer. We would have liked a little more kitchen work surface to prep food, There seemed to be alot of kitchen gadgets taking up space. The people in the small hamlet were very, very friendly and gave us some good driving tips for short cuts. We would definetly stay again if we were in the area.
Cottage is very central to some wonderful days out and walks. Chatsworth house, Dovedale, Beely Moor and Monsal trail are but a few,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and bedding
Liked least: Not enough kitchen work surface to prep food.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“cosy and welcoming home-from-home”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've stayed here 4 times now and love it more each time. It's a lean, well-appointed comfortable cottage with stunning views across the valley and a friendly, welcoming host. We've never had any complaints about the cottage, except that no one wanted to go home!
It is a good, central base for exploring the Peak district with some lovely local walks. I would highly recommend it. We will certainly be going again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the bath is a bit narrow!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing