We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage in a fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harrow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Super comfy, super king size bed with memory foam mattress Master Bedroom with super king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Super comfy, super king size bed with memory foam mattress
Master Bedroom with super king size bed
Larger of the two twin rooms with two single beds
Smaller twin room
Either twin room can be made up with childrens' bedding to make the little ones feel at home!
Plenty of board games and DVD's to keep the whole family entertained
Cottage owners Libby & Greg also run the White Lion and are happy to deliver meals to the cottage
The neighbouring White Lion serving delicious food 7 days a week
Scrumptious!
Fantastic children's playground - just up the lane.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lizziepop...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

On arrival the cottage was so welcoming, really warm and clean with a fantastic welcome surprise! It is spacious and well appointed with every detail catered for. Within 5 minutes of being there my husband and the children all said they wished we could stay longer. We did not cook anything at the property as we were only there 3 nights but it was really well stocked in the kitchen, even some herbs and spices in the cupboard. We ate the pub attached to the cottage two nights of the three and it was fantastic, very cozy with a good variety on the menu. There were some DVDs and games at the property too so the kids had a great time.

The location of the cottage is great, so close to Bakewell and the Monsal trail runs by close at the back of the village. We hired bikes and cycled this picturesque trail one of the days and then in the late afternoon walked through the valley under the viaduct - just beautiful.

We would really love to visit this cottage again and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: The mattresses in the front twin room were too hard for me!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review Liz and family. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to have you back again.
Ps thank you for introducing me to the world of geocashing!! Learn something new everyday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolobar
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped cottage in great location.”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a great week staying in this cottage, helped by it being the hottest week of the year. Cottage is well equipped, great welcome pack and we bought some extra home made jams to bring back. Had a couple of meals in the owners pub opposite. No noise travelled from the pub to the cottage, even when they had a live band. Limited space to sit outside but there is a big park 2 mins walk away. Kids enjoyed walking to the local dairy to get milk and yoghurt. Wifi only in certain spots but that didn't bother us, good to get the kids doing other things. Great location for south Peak District.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Hi Rose, thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I'm so glad you, your mum and your daughters enjoyed your stay. You did have great weather that week didn't you?! Just to let you know that the Wifi was upgraded shortly after your stay and is now no problem! Hope to see you again. Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodSnobZ
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We recently stayed at Harrow Cottage. What lovely accommodation conveniently next to an equally lovely pub! The village is peaceful with local shops nearby and we definitely made good use of the playground. Thank you to Libby for making our stay so enjoyable and for being so helpful; the welcome pack was an extra special touch. We only wish that we had booked for longer and would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettyspage...
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely cottage and facilities. Even a train set for my grandson and a stair gate, just in case! Next door to a pub called white horse which served good value food at honest prices and with a smile.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Ah we're so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and the little man enjoyed the train set! Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of things, cosy feel and location
Liked least: If I had to say would be wi fi but not a huge issue at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review Jennifer. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay, we do like to ensure the little ones are taken care of (happy children equals happy parents!). Your point re the Wifi has been taken care of and we have now installed new Wifi!! Many thanks, Libby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing