We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thornbridge Manor - A Dream Property”

Review of Thornbridge Manor

Thornbridge Manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thornbridge Manor
Thornbridge Manor Garden and Tennis Court
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Thornbridge Manor
Thornbridge Manor
Garden and Tennis Court
Garden
Play area
Game of Croquet?
Superb country kitchen with Aga
Main lounge
Stair well
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roger C
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thornbridge Manor - A Dream Property”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Having just returned from our 4 days at Thornbridge Manor I thought I must put in writing what a fantastic time our party had at the property.

From the website we anticipated that the house would be special but on arrival it exceeded all our expectations.

Every room was furnished to an extremely high standard and provided more than ample space for each family in a very homely environment. The garden, the children’s play area and the tennis court allowed everyone to enjoy a weekend of safe outdoor activity and the location on the Monsal trail was perfect for exploring the heart of the Peak District.

Chris was the perfect host, always on hand if we needed anything but out of sight so that everyone could relax and feel as if they ‘owned’ the property.

We have stayed in a number of large holiday homes in the past but we can honestly say that Thornbridge Manor ranks at the top of the list for quality, space, amenities and value for money.

Thank you to all involved for an exceptional experience.

Best regards,

Roger Cooper

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the rooms and space at the property
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyK201...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious house in beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was the perfect venue for my hen weekend as the house has plenty of room whilst also providing large communal areas for eating and drinking together. The house is beautifully decorated and felt luxurious but still homely. We loved the kitchen and spent most time in here eating, drinking and taking in the atmosphere. The gardens and surrounding area are beautiful and i only wish we had had more time to take advantage of these. The party included family and friends of all ages and the manor suited everyone's needs perfectly. The owners were very helpful and provided a good briefing on the manor whilst also been considerate not to eat into our time there. Thank you to Chris and Claire Goddard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and spacious but homely feel to the manor
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dream house”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Thornbridge Manor for a hen's weekend last weekend and I must say the house completely made the weekend. Not only was it one of the most beautiful houses I've ever been in but the service that Chris provided was above and beyond what he needed to. If we didn't have something we needed, he was there to help and provide it.

The house is tastefully finished to the highest standard and comes well equipped with everything you should need.

We are already planning a reunion there next year. Thanks Claire and Chris for letting us enjoy your house for an amazing weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings and decorations
Liked least: Little toilet roll
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW, WOW, WOW AND MORE WOW!!!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After a lot of research into properties accommodating large groups, I booked Thornbridge Manor for my hen weekend for a group of 21 and then let my friends, family and future family organise the weekend away ! I can only say that I had the best experience of my life made all the more memorable because of where we were staying. Not only was it stunning and equipped with everything that you could ever need, it was run by very friendly and accommodating people who helped out even when a mini crisis occurred when a DVD player wouldn't work!! I was a little worried about bunk beds for our glam weekend away but even they were top notch! Thornbridge Manor is comfortable and homely yet very sophisticated and modern! Love it and we are already talking about going back, perhaps venturing beyond the house to some of the lovely walks and pubs recommended. (One of which was right outside the door and took us to a lovely cafe!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: There was nothing to not like...maybe a couple more toilet rolls!!!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing