We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant venue for large reunion of old friends...”
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CJMobbsy
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant venue for large reunion of old friends and their families”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The mermaid inn served as a superb venue for our recent reunion of old friends and their families - including a dog and 16 children aged between 1-12 years. The location is stunning and remote enough to feel you are completely secluded while close enough to shops to pop out when the tea/ beer runs out)! The weather showed off the rolling hills of the peak district in all their glory.

We all felt the sleeping facilities were quality and appreciated the ability to provide portacots and high chairs.

The kitchen does lack any space for storing food items, which means a group our size took up most bench space with food, so an appropriate storage facility would be a suggestion for the landlord for future guests. It could also do with an update on some of the cooking pots and serving platters (and I couldn't locate a potato peeler), but we certainly managed with what was there ok.

A particular hit was the fact we were living in our own authentic pub - complete with dining room, large lounge with several different meeting places, two separate TV areas, a proper bar area, pool table, karaoke machine, table football etc... The bar was a favoured play area of the kids in the days -who took it in turns doing play acting 'shifts' behind the bar using bottle tops a their currency for buying and selling items (!) - and the adults at night - where the karaoke was a great hit! Only suggestion here is a second working microphone would make for more amusing duet numbers!

Our communication with our hosts prior to and during out stay was prompt and friendly/helpful. We had reason to call out on our first morning as the hot water was not working, but this alarm was responded to quickly and the issue fixed within a very short time.

The name sake mermaid lake which is just a short ramble from the Inn up the road made for an easy wander for us at all ages - and provided lovely views of the area as well as gave more body to the story after which the Coach Inn was named.

We all commented on what a perfect location and amenity this was for us and our needs.

If you are gathering a a large group together who would like the option to break into lots of different spaces while still having the option to join for meals - then this is an excellent choice!
Please just note there is little or no mobile phone coverage in the area, and while WIFI is provided, this can be week, though we managed to do most things like download emails, and make calls via VIBER etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property character and amenities mixed with its location!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning property, excellent for large family gathering”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented the Mermaid to celebrate my mums 80th birthday. In the run up to the weekend all my emails were answered promptly and everyone was very friendly. We were welcomed by Mark who gave us a tour and we were immediately very pleased with our choice! Our group ranged in age from 4 to 80 but there's was plenty to keep everyone amused. Every where was very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was provided and we were very impressed with the kitchen which made cooking a 4 course meal for 24 a pleasure! We had mixed weather but even the huge thunder storm on Sunday afternoon was wonderful to watch through the large picture window! We would love to stay again, maybe for mums 90th?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andysande...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

An amazing place, with everything u could need for a weekend away with friends or family. I will definitely be back. 22 people stayed with me and all were blown away by the accommodation,facilities and views. Great place, comfy beds, great showers,great kitchen..... Just simply amazing

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona J
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Mermaid is a brilliant venue for large groups and suited the birthday celebrations for my Dad who got to be the 'landlord' of a pub for the week. It has excellent facilities and is in a stunningly beautiful location. We would definitely recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space - plenty of room to have quiet time as well as time together
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Venue”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great place for a family/friends celebration gathering. All rooms beautifully furnished, excellently stocked kitchen and views from the dining room blow you away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing