We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural Idyll”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Megan D
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rural Idyll”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bankside Cottage is a lovely peaceful cottage in the middle of stunning scenery. We have a lovely stay in November with fire every evening and it was extremely cosy. The cottage was furnished to a high standard with lots of lovely touches and a well-equipped kitchen allowing us to cook each night with our purchases from local farm shops.

We took our dog who loved the walks in Dovedale and Tissington. For anyone visiting with a dog, the garden is not enclosed and is open to the road (albeit a quiet one) so we only took our dog out on the lead. There is a utility area for the dog - great for letting them dry out after a muddy walk. There were some fantastic leaflets with circular walks in the cottage which we used extensively. - it would have been nice if there was also an ordnance survey map for the area.

I would not hesitate to recommend the house to friends and family and would come back here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Thank you for the great review. Ordance survey maps now supplied again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thank you for the great review. Come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A lovely kitchen and warm bedding made it very homey
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnnieD993...
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a weekend at Bankside cottage, and what a great time we had. The cottage was very cosy and extremely well equipped. Having Dovedale on the doorstep was great for us and the dogs. Pimms in the garden, whilst smugly watching other not so lucky folk return to their cars, proved a perfect end to the day!

Would recommend the walk up the hill to the George, dogs are welcome in the front bar, the staff were very friendly and the food amazing.

We enjoy travelling to new areas and do not usually return to properties, however I think Bankside Cottage will be the exception, and a must for next year.

As a little point of interest, we were looking at the painting of a pub in the master bedroom wondering if it was the George. Amazingly it is The Pipe and Glass in South Dalton, which incidentally also does wonderful food and is located in a village just a couple of miles from where we live!! Would love to know what the connection is?

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and look forward to you visiting again soon. Will email response to your point of interest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrB9999
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

200 characters is hardly enough to do justice to this wonderful cottage, it's tranquil setting, the courteous and professional service from the owners and the level and quality of equipment provided for your stay...
Simply to say thank you Vicki, for setting such exemplary high standards that would be the envy of others - you turned what could have been an average holiday into a truly memorable one for all of us.
We hope to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and make sure you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing