We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“'Lambing Live in Alstonefield'”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Coach House

Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
The Coach House - converted barn on working peak district farm All this over your garden wall!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
The Coach House - converted barn on working peak district farm
All this over your garden wall!
Lounge with patio doors enjoys views of farm and Wetton Hill
Cuddles at lambing time.
Lambing Live from mid March to May - book your stay now
The Coach House nestles at the foot of Wetton Hill on our farmstead in the beautiful Peak District
Lambing time at Gateham Grange
Coach House - Spacious well equipped kitchen/diner
Private garden has lovely views down the valley
Pretty Double Bedroom with vanity unit
Lisa and Declan the Bull
Spacious family bedroom with antique furnishings
New arrivals!
During your stay challenge yourself to climb to the top of  Wetton Hill
Nearby Thor's Cave
View from inside Thor's Cave
Alton Towers, the country's top attraction if less that half an hours drive away
One frosty morning at Gateham Grange
Entrance to Gateham Grange, Alstonefield
Nearby Dovedale
All free range!
Carsington Water just a short drive away
A helping hand
View of our farmstead from the top of Wetton Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catharine...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Lambing Live in Alstonefield'”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had a wonderful week in March staying at the Coach House despite getting snowed in!!!
The cottage was comfortable & we felt quite at home there.
We were made to feel welcome by the owners,Teresa,Robert & son,Sam especially on the farm.We helped with many jobs - bedding with fresh straw,feeding corn & hay,refilling water buckets,assiting with moving new mums & lambs to individual pens & delivering 2 lambs.
It was a wonderful experience which we're hoping to repeat next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Thank you so much for the review
Your help, kindness and friendship was greatly appreciated, as was the cream cakes!
It was a pleasure to have you both stay and you really lifted our spirits
Hope to see you again
All Best Wishes
Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country retreat”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This is the perfect location for walking in the countryside. Within easy access to all the local attractions and beautiful views over the valley. It has the added bonus of being dog friendly. Sam is amazing and showed us around the farm and answered all our questions without irritation. He even towed us out the snow with his tractor!!
Theresa is very attentive to your needs and is considerate as to your safety and comfort.
I'm sure we will be back in the future, maybe in the summer next time though lol.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KettsCorn...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location, bouncy lambs!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Gateham Grange is set in the most beautiful green and limestone location - with Wetton Hill and amazing walks a stone's throw away. We went to this working farm specifically during the lambing season, and Theresa, Robert and Sam couldn't have been more patient and informative. We saw lambs being born and helped feed them. Our accommodation was great - especially liked sitting in the back terrace for breakfast listening the the rooks cawing, chickens clucking and lambs baaing. A perfect tonic and highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDCol...
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cosy Cottages, Friendly Owners”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Location is unbeatable - gorgeous scenery and numerous walks from the front doors. The land backs on to the imposing Wetton Hill which dominates much of the view from the outside. Both Gateham Cottage and the Coach House are lovely places to stay, cosy and comfortable. It is perfect for people looking for a delightful rural escape. The wifi is limited in most places other than the cottage's front room/ bedroom, and phone reception is sporadic and pretty much non-existent at the Coach House. But this just adds to the sense of escape and seclusion. There is land backing onto the properties which is great for a ramble and view over the valley, and our children loved exploring and clambering, even in the gale force winds that buffeted us over Christmas!

Alstonefield and Wetton are short walks (c. 1 mile) away, with great pubs at both (the George at Alstonefield is more 'gastro' with prices to match; the Royal Oak at Wetton is more down to earth and affordable. Both are great places for a cosy drink though). Further away is Hartington which is a delightful village with a wonderful store and a couple of great pubs.

Teresa the owner was extremely helpful and friendly and really made us feel welcome and her son Sam was excellent: he introduced us to the bulls and calves, talked us through the farm and took our 7 year old (also Sam) on tour of the farm and to help out with getting the sheep in, feeding the animals and various other things. Really lovely people who made a Christmas break even more magical.

Highly recommended, and we would love to return some time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip66...
1 review
“A most enjoyable holiday for the three generations of our family.”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I traveled with our daughter and two young granddaughters. There was something to suit all of us. The adults enjoyed the great comfort and facilities of the Coach House and the beauty of the surroundings, whilst the two children threw themselves enthusiastically into the life on the farm.
Our hosts could not have been kinder or more welcoming.
We were all sorry to leave (our eldest granddaughter cried) and we have already had a return visit.
We will go again and would certainly recommend the premises to people of all ages seeking a truly relaxing break.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. We enjoyed the company of all of your family. We are pleased we met everyones' needs for an enjoyable and relaxing break and look forward to seeing you all again at lambing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing