We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend - fantastic site!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Winchester

The Lodges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station Historical Ropley Station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station
Historical Ropley Station
Kitchen is modern with granite work surfaces
FULLY FITTED KITCHENS
Kitchen
Kitchen
THE BATHROOM
Shower
THE LIVING ROOM
THE TWIN BEDROOM
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM
The Lodges
The Winchester Lodge
Lodges
The Alton
Welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alresford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheShedga...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - fantastic site!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just come back from a wonderful 2 night camp at this fantastic site. We were a larger group and chose this site for our annual camp with friends.
It was perfect. Jo, the owner, was super friendly and helpful and checked in with us at various points during the weekend. The facilities (showers/toilets/washing up area) were clean and there was plenty of hot water.
The weather was a bit iffy on our first day but we drove to a local pub (The Cricketers in Alresford - also recommended!) and waited for the rain to pass. Jo had also recommended a nearby Thai restaurant and the menu there looked good.
The site was fully booked, yet we were pleased to see that there was plenty of space and we had no issues pitching and managed to all camp together which was great. The site is really well looked after and is level and not stony which makes all the difference.
There was a 'Day Out With Thomas' event on at the same time as our stay which meant we were able to see some steam trains in action which was a big hit with the kids - there is access to the station behind the shower block so although we didn't have tickets to the event, we could see lots going on.
We're already planning our next trip to this lovely site and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The men in our group are certainly keen to find out more about the Real Ale Train!!

Thanks Jo, lovely to meet you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for this really lovely review on a very busy weekend!! I am so glad you had a lovely time and it would be so lovely to see you all again in the future... Real Ale train is brilliant and often on a Friday and Saturday night you need to book tickets but definitely fun :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew_Mint...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Impressed!”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We arrived late on the Friday with the heavens about to open and the wind blowing a gale. Oh I love the British Summer! I wasn't in the best of moods but the lady (Jo) who met us was very patient and gave some gentle advice on where to pitch out tent and presented us with a voucher for the Steam Trains. The weather during our entire stay was awful but we still had great fun. This was mainly due to the condition of the site and the amazing facilities on site. The showers and toilets were spotless and there was plenty of hot water. Having the Train voucher enabled us to keep our 2YO daughter entertained on one particularly wet day too. I can only imagine what an even better time we'd have had if there'd been better weather. I'm sure we'll find out one day as we'll definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Drew thank you so much for this lovely review and your comments are very much appreciated.... It would be great if you could come back we have events like A Day Out With Thomas next door which starts Saturday... We also have the Santa Trains is wanted to stay in a lodge and if want a grown up night can catch the Real Ale Train....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naturalCe...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An ideal solution for our big family party”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

These six comfortable lodges, painted in the yellow and green livery of the Watercress Line and standing right alongside the historic railway itself, have real charm. They look almost quaint but inside they have every modern comfort and convenience, and their breezy hillside location is both private and quiet. We're a big family, so we occupied all six lodges and our grandchildren had a wonderful time dashing from one to the next, concluding that perhaps this would be an ideal permanent lifestyle! On the other hand, privacy is good and visitors should have no qualms about booking an individual lodge if that is all that is needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jms197220...
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent camp site with great facilities. Friendly and welcoming staff.”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Only stayed for the one night, but was amazed at how spacious, safe and quiet the site was. A real bonus is the local steam engines that run from the train station only yards away from the site. Don't worry, they only run during 'office hours'. But what a great trip it makes for the young children.
Was made very welcome from the start and staff were welcoming, helpful,and informative.
Many thanks for the great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Dear John

Thank you so much for this lovely review and we really hope you come back and visit again.

Kind regards

Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomitch36
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, glamping at it's best.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had an excellent stay,made to feel totally welcome
Accommodation was 5* the lodge and safari tent that we hired had more than we could have asked for,or even expected.
We will all be going back with our family's. They have some great family events planned.
Situated right next to the Water Cress steam train line ,idyllic countryside views,with Alresford and Winchester not far away.
Thank you so much for a most wonderful experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation was more than expected. ..very clean.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing