We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great site, well maintianed and located with...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Winchester

The Lodges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station Historical Ropley Station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station
Historical Ropley Station
Kitchen is modern with granite work surfaces
FULLY FITTED KITCHENS
Kitchen
Kitchen
THE BATHROOM
Shower
THE LIVING ROOM
THE TWIN BEDROOM
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM
The Lodges
The Winchester Lodge
Lodges
The Alton
Welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alresford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RickDevon
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great site, well maintianed and located with direct access to the steam railway”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We camped over a showery and blustery weekend in July but had a lovely time at this first rate campsite. The relatively small site (max c20-30 pitches including overflow field) is well maintained, with excellent drainage (no muddy puddles/soggy patches) and modern facilities. Set in a green valley, the linear site is positioned on the side of a hill with great views. The lodges are at the far end, with camping pitches nearer the entry point. All of the pitches/lodges overlook (through bushes/trees) the steam railway which is approx 30m away/below. The smattering of brick built BBQ stands are a nice touch, and the site has good dish washing, toilet/shower facilities which were always clean. The direct access to the back of Ropley station/yard, which is part of the Watercress line, was a nice touch at although this means that steam engines are moving around/steaming up from relatively early and into the evening, we found this a nice backdrop and point of interest rather than a disturbance. In sum, this is an excellent site with a lovely atmosphere and good facilities – we’ll be back, most likely booking a lodge for the colder months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you for this lovely review and really look forward to welcoming you to our lodges.... Kind regards JO
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leviathon...
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't choose your neighbours ”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent the night here this weekend. We met Jo and we were pleasantly suprised by the trains next door ( a bit more research on our part would have shown them earlier) we were recommended to a good pub ( about a mile away) where we had a great meal. The facilities on site are clean and better than a lot of campsites we've been to. It's situated in some beautiful countryside and has some stunning views. The only down side of the trip was that someone ( not on this campsite!) Chose that night to have a rave until 4am, but this is nothing that ear plugs couldn't sort ( if only I'd packed some). This experience shouldn't stop you visiting the site though, as I can't imagine it's a regular occurrence, and we already plan to visit again Soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your review of the campsite. I am so sorry that there was a noise issue in the area. This is as you say a rare thing and I am relieved you have offered constructive comments and will come back and visit.. Kind regards Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mum_to_2
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What's not to like about Watercress Lodges? They are positioned right next to the Ropley station of the Watercress Line, they are clean, and very well equipped. Plenty of places to walk in the area and some lodges are dog friendly. Convenient location-Alresford is a few minutes away, Alton and Winchester close as well. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Dear Guest

Many thanks for this wonderful review. We have really enjoyed you staying with us with your lovely family and dog. Hope to see you back when you return to England.

Kindest regards


Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlejbf...
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Glamping at it's best!”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in the Safari tents for two nights over New Year and despite the terrible weather, had a fabulous time. Jo has thought of absolutely everything you need for your camping experience, but this isn't just camping....her personal touches and great eye for detail make this true glamping!

We will definitely book again, next time in the summer and although it will be a shame not to light the log burner, there is a huge firepit bbq to try out.....I can't wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quality, Style and Location
Liked least: Showers - only because you need to keep pressing the button but this is normal for all campsite showers.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickPearc...
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting for a lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our company conducted a survey in the local area and this is where we stayed, sort of a birthday present from my boss.
On arrival we were pleased to find a lovely warm, clean lodge waiting for us. A sign my boss still likes us.
All the facilities were excellent and the bed was great, but never mind that. its adjacent to the mid-hants steam railway line! so you can wake up to a glimpse of our transport heritage without having to set foot out the door.
would be an excellent place for young children/ train enthusiasts.
walkers might be pleased to note that the altitude of the site provides good views and fresh air right from the get go.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the railway next door and the sunset over the hill behind the lodges
Liked least: how much it rained
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing