We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Little Gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Winchester

The Lodges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station Historical Ropley Station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station
Historical Ropley Station
Kitchen is modern with granite work surfaces
FULLY FITTED KITCHENS
Kitchen
Kitchen
THE BATHROOM
Shower
THE LIVING ROOM
THE TWIN BEDROOM
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM
The Lodges
The Winchester Lodge
Lodges
The Alton
Welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alresford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn H
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Gem”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely peaceful site for tents only. A tiny bit of noise (choo choo!) from the Steam Loco's but that adds to the excitement and experience of this site. Children will love it, especially finding Thomas parked up for the night. Facilities are superb. Ladies the shower areas has good mirrors and hairdryers! cubicles are spacious so if you are on the larger side these will make you feel thin. The disabled shower room is also very good.

We stayed two nights (visiting Peppa Pig World) and will be back again as so much to do in the area. I was in two minds about writing a review as I am not sure I want to share this secret......but it would be a crime not to.

Recommend a pub called the Cricketers in Alresford which is great for Children. Fabulous children's play area and kids menu. Alresford also have a yummy Indian if you fancy takeaway rather then getting the camp stove out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: everything
Liked least: can't complain of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexYvon...
essex
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent shower block”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was very quiet, in fact we were the only campers here. Very small campsite and we had to park on a road and had to carry camping stuff up steps to a site. If you are a steam train enthusiast you could not be in a better place but we expected a proper camp site with a shop etc

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have opened this year for our first season for campers. From 2015 we are looking to open a site office which will have some supplies as well. We are indeed a relatively relaxed small site. Many of our regular guests like this and this has been reflected in their reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayJay
Woking, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fab views, spotless facilities, nice and small”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a truly lovely campsite, a great base for exploring locally. It is basic, a good number of parking spaces. The pitches are raised slightly away from the road, a little breezy as on top of a hill but the scenery is breath taking. You are right above the watercress line, we were not disturbed by the trains or early morning coal burning. We were with 4 small boys who were fascinated. There is a small playground in the station which our boys played on whilst we packed away. The facilities are very good, 4 washing up stations in a separate area. The toilets were large and clean as were the showers. All very clean and whilst we were there was a gentleman cleaning. The hand dryers are not so good (not dyson) and there are no pegs by the sinks to hang stuff whilst brushing teeth or washing hands. This place works on honesty, no one to check in. The campsite was very busy with at least 3 tents per pitch (A-F) but there were no issues. I hope it continues as is, with the honesty and not too people finding out about this lovely campsite and just turning up and not paying. Is a fantastic base for the Watercress line, we took the train to Alresford and back and had a spot of lunch at the Ropley Inn which was very nice. Definitely worth a visit and a great base for other local attractions but not somewhere we would stay for longer than a couple of nights unless with a group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are always so grateful to receive feedback. We will be making sure that some hooks are put by the sinks to hang possessions on. We really hope you will come back as next your we will be making some changes. We will have a site office and we will be offering Glamping tents. The Mid Hants railway will also hopefully have the small gauge railway open which volunteers are building at present. Kind regards. Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good location but cleaning needs sorting”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

No formal checking in and didn't see anyone in charge except the cleaner for the six days that we stayed. This was ok when only a few tents but not so good when almost full! Lovely new shower/toilet block but shared with visitors to the station and these were not adequately cleaned.
Have given a yes to recommend to a friend but cleaning needs sorting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
custard_a...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Steam train magic on your doorstep”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

These new lodges, positioned close to Ropley station on the Watercress Line, were delightfully painted in the traditional British Rail colours of cream and green. The kitchen was modern, and the laundry was large with a separate washing machine and dryer. Cleaning was to a high standard. In fact we were so comfortable here that we cancelled our trip to Ireland to stay a third week.
Stunning views of the Hampshire Downs are literally a stone's throw away.
The nearby town of Arlesford is very pretty with friendly locals, some of whom we met at a church in Ovington.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Duvet-only bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing