We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply a real blast ...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Au bord de l'eau

The house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
Swimming pool Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The house
Swimming pool
Dining room
House from the river
Apperitif on the sand bank
Morning
River view from the garden
Pool side
Double bedroom with river view
Double bedroom with river view
Double bed
Twin/ Triple bedroom
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ousson-sur-Loire, Loiret, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
iverdure
Chateaudun, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply a real blast ...”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we arrived with 5 children (5/5/8/9/11), 3 adults and 4 seniors (61 to 80) ... and as a special grant from the lovely owner a very old dog ...
we enjoyed the pool everyday (blessing at that time of year), we enjoyed the simplicity of the amenities but just what we needed, the local aread loads to see, and the calm, the view in a few words I LOVED IT ... I will come back ... my dad sent me a message to thank me for that wonderful time I organised they could not believe the luck we had to be in such a home ... and the mistress of the house who welcomed us and sent us off ... was just lovely
I am so sending this address to my friends ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the easy part all the way through, the fact the owner checked if we were having a good time without being intrusive
Liked least: nothing ....
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniecee
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could ever want from a holiday”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have just spent 2 glorious wks here in Au Bord de L'Eau and all I can say is that this is the most magical place we have ever been on holiday. Tucked away on the edge of a sleepy little French village on the banks of the beautiful unspoiled Loire this house is a true gem. Sitting in the garden surrounded by nature, swimming in or lazing by the sheltered swimming pool, canoeing down the river, walking in the woods, cycling along the river-side, bird-watching by the river, star and moon gazing at night, table-tennis in the basement, eating lovely food and drinking even lovelier wine. How can a holiday get any better?! There was no need to venture very far.
Thank you Gerrard for sharing your beautiful home with us and for coming all the way down from Paris to make sure we understood how to operate the boiler to ensure we were warm and comfortable, also for our great chat over a bottle of wine in the garden! Meeting Gerrard for the first time was like meeting an old friend, thank you for your warmth and genorosity. we have taken a little bit of Au Bord de L'eau home in our hearts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being steeped in nature by the Loire
Liked least: the street lights ouside when star gazing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamieFit...
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chillaxed”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect house for a relaxing break. Boulangerie every morning (Bonny-sur-Loire), Barbeque every night. The 6 bedrooms were ideal, and plenty of bathrooms. The kitchen was spot on for our needs, The kids had a ball between the swimming pool and the basement (TV, DVDs etc). The adults enjoyed reading on the patio and cooling off in the pool, Hired canoes one day from Beaulieu and paddled for 12k down the Loire.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill B
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home set in superb location”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect holiday home for a family reunion of 8 adults. This house ticked all the boxes for us as a family. Light airy bedrooms and enough bathrooms for us all. We didn’t venture very far at all as there were pleasant walks along the river at the bottom of the garden and who would want to leave the lovely garden admiring the view and hearing nothing but the birds singing? The heated swimming pool was perfect and with the glorious hot sun was well used every day and even one evening!
We chose to eat in every evening as the nearby supermarket had everything we needed to cook 3 course meals. With 2 large fridges, a freezer and plenty of kitchen equipment the cooking and storing of food was no problem. We all agreed that no restaurant could beat pre-dinner drinks on the terrace followed by a communal meal sitting outside around the large wooden table admiring the views of the river and watching the sunset. Later in the evening we would move to either the lounge with its 3 sofas to chat and play games or go down to the basement room to play table tennis or use the large television for a game of singstar!!
Gerrard was always very helpful with his emails before the holiday and visited us during the week to check everything was to our satisfaction.
This was our second holiday to the house and we are already discussing our next visit!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and lovely home for family/friend gathering overlooking the Loire”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Au bord de l'eau in early June 2014 for a half term break. We were 4 adults and 6 kids (aged 6-12). We were delighted with Gerard's family holiday home and pleasantly surprised with how well equipped the house was.
There was plenty of space for us all and the kids loved the downstairs games room with table tennis, TV/DVD, bikes etc.
The outlook from the open french doors to the terrace, pool and then river is delightful and we enjoyed just relaxing with a glass of wine and taking in the view.
As listed in the facilities there is pretty much everything you will need as large group or family so need to worry about running out of fridge space or needing to do a wash etc.
Our highlight was probably taking a kayak tour from a few km upstream which the kids absolutely loved.
I think what sets Au bord de l'eau apart is the sense that you really are in someone's home but you feel very welcome and Gerard is as keen for you to have a good time as he would be for his own friends and family.
All in all a fantastic trip and one we will all treasure for many years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing by the pool with a cold beer enjoying the view
Liked least: Some of the terrace furniture could do with an upgrade
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing