We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
USD 743
USD 388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 357
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 440
USD 237
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 260
USD 189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
USD 331
USD 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 401
USD 177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 138
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
USD 428
USD 369
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 337
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
USD 864
USD 726
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,817)
Filter reviews
5,817 results
Traveller rating
2,061
2,055
986
428
287
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,061
2,055
986
428
287
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssir georgesports baradult pooljunior suitedon rafaelflamingo restaurantplaza bargourmet restaurantmain buffetthomson repsasian buffetmattress toppergreat holidayceiling fanmichael jackson showevery other daylas caletas
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 5,817 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I was recently at this resort and I did not appreciate the way me or the people I was there with were treated. No respect for their guests whatsoever and that includes the bride in the wedding I came for. The staff was incredibly disrespectful, the food was bad, and they tried to charge you extra for anything they could. I would not recommend this resort.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
6  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We were surprised to read your comments about the service. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests and for this reason we are very sorry to learn that you have left our hotel thinking otherwise.

We will send your comments to management in case our standards have not been appropriately fulfilled at some point.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to one of our hotels and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Vallarta
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

As I write this I sit on the beach on our last evening here. We came away for the Easter holiday on our first big holiday together. We have enjoyed the pool, the bars, the food. Being a vegetarian the food has been varied and enjoyable. We loved the hotel for the first two days and then decided to get away to a village along the coast. A 45 minute walk down to Bucerias and we were blown away, we then thought that we’re in Mexico, beautiful colours, markets and cheap bars and friendly people. The stall sellers are highly persistent so you have to be stern and not sucked in-however very easy to barter with! When we returned to the hotel it seemed as though American spring break was in full swing! This only made us want to go out of the hotel more and not stay around the rowdy crowds.
We easily got a taxi to Puerto Vallarta, for $250. A worrying journey as it felt as though it went on forever along the highway, a scary sight of a vehicle with men with large guns, as soon as we got to our destination the anxiety melted away and we loved the town. Amazing food, tequila, flea markets, gorgeous hidden away bar with hammocks surrounded by trees. The taxi ride back was far more relaxed.
We made another trip back to Bucerias and enjoyed more of the fishing village, we stopped off at La Poste -not Mexican food but was totally delicious!
On our last day we decided to walk left up the beach from the hotel, don’t bother there is nothing to see other than condos and more hotels.
The staff have been amazing at this hotel, they cannot do enough for you, any maintenance issues are sorted out ASAP, the shows are fun to watch, the beach is lovely, only remember to drink a lot of water as they ply you with excessive amounts of alcohol!
Try and not come when there is spring break as it almost ruined the holiday but staying on the beach removed the bustle of the pool! Finally seeing baby turtles venturing to the see was totally magical!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Fi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We are here at the moment and are having a great time. Even after our 12 hour flight once we got to the hotel we were greated with refreshing drinks and were off to our rooms in no time. Ok so may be hard to get sunbed by pool we were luck today lol there is plenty of beds on the beach and there is shade by palm trees or you can hire a parasol. Jacob always on hand to bring you a drink if you wish as are the other staff (sorry only been a few days and need to learn more names) There is plenty to do for all ages. There is a variety of food choices and you can grab a bite to eat anytime from one of the restaurants.
If anyone has a moan about this hotel then I can’t understand why. The teams from cleaning reception bars waiter/ess and entertainment all work endless hours and very hard. We hope our holiday goes slow we will be sad when we have to leave.


Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
13  Thank sweatcake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Pros:
-The rooms and grounds are kept very clean by staff.
-The weather was perfect while we were there last week of March. Didn’t even see a cloud.
-Resort layout is perfect with everything revolving around the center bar and seating area.
-Room was nice with a fully stocked bar everyday.
-Close to airport, towns, and shopping. Felt very safe on resort and in the towns around the resort.
-Hard working staff, majority are super nice and helpful.
-Lobby music and theatre were really good and had good variety.
-Bar layouts are good and there’s always one close to where you are.
-Some of the food was very good while some was an imitation (steak)
-the nearby towns are awesome we visited Malecón, Bucerias and Yelapa. All the people were very nice and majority of them spoke English.

Cons:
-Got food poisoning the first day after eating eggs. They were cracked and cooked right in front of me (over easy). Was sick all day for 12 hours it was horrible. Spoke to one other person who was sick from the eggs also. Made me nervous to eat the rest of the week.
-Too many people. Resort struggled to keep up. Buffet was shoulder to shoulder, waiting in lines etc.
-Garbage is laying around pool and beach. Lots of cigarette butts in sand on beach.
-Restaurant format is a joke and needs to be changed. You have to lineup ahead of time and aren’t guaranteed entry.
-Pool chairs are reserved as early as 5am and pool was a little crowded, hard to get drinks.
-Swim up bar only had one bar tender most of the time and he was rude. However I do feel for him as he has no help and there’s constantly 10-15 people waiting for drinks.
-A/C quit working last night of our stay and made sleeping difficult.
-Beds are pretty firm and there isn’t much for blankets.
-The steak and pork chops were an imitation and tasted nothing like the real deal.
-Resort felt worn out slightly. Our room didn’t feel that way just the pool area, bars and bathrooms. Seems like it’s time for some renovations.

Overall it’s an average resort that is a little crowded and a little worn out. The food is decent, the staff is excellent and the location/weather is perfect. 3/5


Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank RyanL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

As a service-oriented hotel chain, we really appreciate your positive comments about our staff and we are pleased that you received a positive impression of the location of our hotel, because at RIU, we carefully select the spots.

Furthermore, we are glad to read that you had good weather and that the guestrooms and grounds were to your satisfaction.

On the other hand, it is very disappointing to read your comment regarding the stomach issues you believe you contracted while eating eggs at one of our restaurants and since for RIU gastronomy is a very important aspect, we are sorry to learn that we were not able to meet your taste with our wide selection of exquisitely presented dishes. We have not had any cases reported and we can assure you that the health and safety of our guests is taken very seriously and we follow strict procedures while handling our food products in order to prevent and avoid any kind of alimentary risks or hazards.

Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Vallarta
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful & had the cleanest bathrooms I’ve ever seen at a resort. I was impressed. There’s a tile plaza at the center of the hotel & they WASH IT EVERY MORNING!!! The food was great & the staff was very friendly, with the exception of one consistently grumpy bartender. The only criticism I have is that I was unable to get a lounger around the pool ALL WEEK, because people leave their towels out there 24 hours a day. This was very disappointing. The hotel needs to implement a rule that overnight towels will be removed so that EVERYONE can enjoy sitting around the pool. Having said this, I’d go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Sherrdean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews