We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
USD 398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
USD 305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
USD 372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 237
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
USD 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 153
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 241
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
USD 137
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 355
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 864
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,823)
Filter reviews
5,823 results
Traveller rating
2,064
2,058
986
428
287
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,064
2,058
986
428
287
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssir georgesports baradult pooljunior suitedon rafaelflamingo restaurantplaza bargourmet restaurantmain buffetthomson repsasian buffetmattress toppergreat holidayceiling fanmichael jackson showevery other daylas caletas
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 5,823 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We are here at the moment and are having a great time. Even after our 12 hour flight once we got to the hotel we were greated with refreshing drinks and were off to our rooms in no time. Ok so may be hard to get sunbed by pool we were luck today lol there is plenty of beds on the beach and there is shade by palm trees or you can hire a parasol. Jacob always on hand to bring you a drink if you wish as are the other staff (sorry only been a few days and need to learn more names) There is plenty to do for all ages. There is a variety of food choices and you can grab a bite to eat anytime from one of the restaurants.
If anyone has a moan about this hotel then I can’t understand why. The teams from cleaning reception bars waiter/ess and entertainment all work endless hours and very hard. We hope our holiday goes slow we will be sad when we have to leave.


Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
13  Thank sweatcake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Pros:
-The rooms and grounds are kept very clean by staff.
-The weather was perfect while we were there last week of March. Didn’t even see a cloud.
-Resort layout is perfect with everything revolving around the center bar and seating area.
-Room was nice with a fully stocked bar everyday.
-Close to airport, towns, and shopping. Felt very safe on resort and in the towns around the resort.
-Hard working staff, majority are super nice and helpful.
-Lobby music and theatre were really good and had good variety.
-Bar layouts are good and there’s always one close to where you are.
-Some of the food was very good while some was an imitation (steak)
-the nearby towns are awesome we visited Malecón, Bucerias and Yelapa. All the people were very nice and majority of them spoke English.

Cons:
-Got food poisoning the first day after eating eggs. They were cracked and cooked right in front of me (over easy). Was sick all day for 12 hours it was horrible. Spoke to one other person who was sick from the eggs also. Made me nervous to eat the rest of the week.
-Too many people. Resort struggled to keep up. Buffet was shoulder to shoulder, waiting in lines etc.
-Garbage is laying around pool and beach. Lots of cigarette butts in sand on beach.
-Restaurant format is a joke and needs to be changed. You have to lineup ahead of time and aren’t guaranteed entry.
-Pool chairs are reserved as early as 5am and pool was a little crowded, hard to get drinks.
-Swim up bar only had one bar tender most of the time and he was rude. However I do feel for him as he has no help and there’s constantly 10-15 people waiting for drinks.
-A/C quit working last night of our stay and made sleeping difficult.
-Beds are pretty firm and there isn’t much for blankets.
-The steak and pork chops were an imitation and tasted nothing like the real deal.
-Resort felt worn out slightly. Our room didn’t feel that way just the pool area, bars and bathrooms. Seems like it’s time for some renovations.

Overall it’s an average resort that is a little crowded and a little worn out. The food is decent, the staff is excellent and the location/weather is perfect. 3/5


Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank RyanL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

As a service-oriented hotel chain, we really appreciate your positive comments about our staff and we are pleased that you received a positive impression of the location of our hotel, because at RIU, we carefully select the spots.

Furthermore, we are glad to read that you had good weather and that the guestrooms and grounds were to your satisfaction.

On the other hand, it is very disappointing to read your comment regarding the stomach issues you believe you contracted while eating eggs at one of our restaurants and since for RIU gastronomy is a very important aspect, we are sorry to learn that we were not able to meet your taste with our wide selection of exquisitely presented dishes. We have not had any cases reported and we can assure you that the health and safety of our guests is taken very seriously and we follow strict procedures while handling our food products in order to prevent and avoid any kind of alimentary risks or hazards.

Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Vallarta
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful & had the cleanest bathrooms I’ve ever seen at a resort. I was impressed. There’s a tile plaza at the center of the hotel & they WASH IT EVERY MORNING!!! The food was great & the staff was very friendly, with the exception of one consistently grumpy bartender. The only criticism I have is that I was unable to get a lounger around the pool ALL WEEK, because people leave their towels out there 24 hours a day. This was very disappointing. The hotel needs to implement a rule that overnight towels will be removed so that EVERYONE can enjoy sitting around the pool. Having said this, I’d go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Sherrdean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We just returned from 4 nights at the Hotel Riu Vallarta. I'm still trying to decide how I feel about it, so I will just list out pros and cons.

First, as background, we traveled with our two children, ages 6 and 8 and with another family with two children the same age.

Hotel Room:
Pros:
We booked a Family Room and were placed in a room on the 6th floor. Our balcony had a very nice view of the water.
The room was clean and was well stocked with beer, bottled water, and some mixers to go with the liquor taps.
There is plenty of space to store clothes and luggage.

Cons: Our room faced the Riu Jalisco, which although maybe a quarter mile away, had live music/entertainment every night so that didn't stop until 11AM. Luckily, we had a white noise app on our phone to block out the noise, and our children were so tired by the end of the day that they went right to sleep.
The room was freezing despite turning up the temperature and the bed is only made with a sheet. We did find blankets in the closet, and the maid made the bed the next day with the blankets.
The beds are hard, but that didn't really bother us.

Hotels Grounds
Pros: beautifully landscaped. The staff are constantly cleaning up and polishing light fixtures, pruning palm trees, etc.

Hotel Pools:
There are two pools. One adult pool and one family pool. Because we were with our young children, we didn't spend too much time at the adult pool, which is the only one with a swim-up bar. I'm glad, because the hotel was packed with drunk college students from Minnesota, but luckily, they stayed away from the family pool. The family pool was very nice, and the kids had fun going down the slides. We bought cheap inner tubes from Target before we left, and they enjoyed floating on the inner tubes.

Beach: We were pleasantly surprised by the beach. It is a very wide beach with dozens of chaises lounges. Yes, many of the chairs were claimed early in the morning, particularly at the pool, but we were always able to find chairs at the beach by 9AM. The water is warm and calm in the morning, with the wind picking up mid-afternoon. You can check out kayaks and boogie boards from the water sports kiosk. The boogie boards are falling apart, but we still had fun using them (and they're free!).

Food: The food was hit or miss. The buffet had plenty of choices, and we went there for breakfast and lunch each day. The Flamingo steakhouse was a bit of a misnomer, because it was the worst, most inedible steak I've ever had; my children had the grilled chicken, which was actually delicious. The Flamingo Steakhouse faces the beach, so the sunsets are absolutely beautiful. Nirvana Restaurant was actually an Asian buffet with sushi and hot dishes. The food was pretty good there. The drinks were pretty good, and the bartenders worked hard and quickly.

Entertainment: the last night we were there, it was the Mexican Fiesta. There was a Mariachi band, a mechanical bull, Tequila shots, and some games for the kids. We had a great time.

Kids Club: Pretty much nonexistent. It's open from 10AM - 1PM and then again from 3PM - 4:45. It's really for younger children, but our kids went there for an hour one day.

All in all, I would probably have rated this hotel a higher score had there not been dozens of young Spring Breakers. We chose this hotel specifically because they state a policy not allowing groups for Spring Break. Luckily, my children were completely oblivious to the drunk kids, so I'm grateful for that. I don't think I would go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Our Family Room on the 6th floor had a beautiful view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stephabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Vallarta
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Well, I stayed at the Riu Vallarta a week ago. The weather was beautiful! The grounds are pretty and clean. The swimming pool in my opinion it is quite small and not relaxing. They are always having some loud activity and games. My room 5018 a jr. suite was okay. The furniture is very old and the bed was awful. I thought I was going to get a bit more of luxury by staying on a jr. suite. Now, the view was beautiful. If you are traveling with kids is a good value since is all inclusive.

Stayed: March 2018
7  Thank lacoquideadjuntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are pleased to inform you that at RIU, we are constantly working on the renovation and maintenance of our hotel portfolio ranging from Europe via Africa and Asia to America. We have set ourselves the goal of bringing all hotels up to date, which is achieved step by step. Of course, we will share your impressions with the relevant department, to make adjustments if necessary, or to take them into consideration for future refurbishments.

We hope you will choose to visit one of our RIU hotels again and give us the chance to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Vallarta
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews