We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OVERALL A NICE HOTEL”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OVERALL A NICE HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Breeze Sea Garden from 10-17 Dec 2011. The place is clean and the staff very friendly. One must sign for all meals and drinks, but not a big deal. Food is good with lots of choices and the breakfasts are delicious - buffet style or a la carte for all meals. Plenty of fresh salsas~!! Coffee is great and you can order cappuccino as well. The drinks are your basic low end vodka, rum, etc, unless you want premium with extra cost. We bought some Absolut for our room to take the edge off and the beer is Corona or Pacifico.
Beach was quiet compared to the daily pool activity noise, so we parked our butts there.
A bit of a hassle getting to town or Bucerias by bus, so we ended up cabbing it (approx $12-15 one way). The beds are very firm, and it was not easy getting to sleep unless we had been drinking. Don't ask for a king bed, because they don't have them in the all-inclusive unless you want to pay the upgrade and it is $$. Also, no bar fridge in the room. Hopefully, they will install them, as we requested they do so, especially for those that have medication to keep cold.
Overall, a nice resort, that wasn't overrun with kids and partiers, but we won't stay in Nuevo again as it is too far from the towns.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have balconies that you can sit out on. The building is small for resort standards, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacksonwillbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    134
    53
    25
    24
See reviews for
288
155
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was most impressed, this hotel is a gem. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the food was excellent (if you didn't care for the buffet food you were able to order off their regular menu. They changed the entrees in the buffet everyday so there was good variety), the service was outstanding and the room was very clean and comfortable. Our room had a spectacular ocean view. The hotel is on the smaller side so you don't have to fight the hoardes like so many of the large resorts. Never had to wait for a seat in the restaurant or for chairs around the pool. This resort offers both time share and all inclusive. I had read some complaints about having to sign for your meals but I didn't have a problem with that. I paid $750 (including taxes) for all inclusive and would be hard pressed to find a better deal. I wouldn't think twice about returning to this hotel for another visit.

Room Tip: I requested ocean view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank n0nda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is an o.k. place.....at the lowest end of the Mayan Group. We had a one bedroom in the "city view" building. Even tho we are owners at Mayan, this trip was a bonus week thru RCI, so it cost us very little.....so I guess I can't complain a whole lot! As you are facing the buildings from the entrance, we were first given a condo on the far left side, 4th floor (2416).....we like to open the sliders at night and turn off the a/c.......well, the huge a/c units were located almost right under our "balcony" (which is not really a balcony) and they are so noisy all night that we had to close the doors....So we requested to be moved and we got a 6th floor unit on the opposite side.....which was much better as far as the a/c noise was concerned.....but the early morning traffic and people noise was fairly loud, too.
We could not sleep in the king bed.....it was too hard.....like sleeping on the ground....so we slept in the living room on the couches/day beds.....which were somewhat better, but not a whole lot.
The unit was very clean and well kept, but the tub/shower combo is fiberglass, and not the nice Mexican tile that we expected. More like Holiday Inn style.....
The pool was mostly clean, although I never saw anyone testing the water during the day, and there appeared an oily-looking scum line around the less used end later in the day and I only saw one skimmer for the whole pool, which doesn't do much for the water circulation.
The food in the Rumm-ba restaurant is adequate, although we felt that the small Sunday brunch buffet is overpriced at $17+. They have an "American breakfast" buffet option that is around $13 that just doesn't include much of the hot food other than beans and potatoes.....you do get eggs prepared however you want them, pastries, juice, coffee, fruit, etc.
The drinks in the restaurant and the pool area are a little weak.....o.k., quite weak. I did return a margarita in the restaurant for more tequila, and they obliged.
Our biggest complaint about Nuevo Vallarta is that there are so few places to eat if you don't want to eat at a hotel. Also, we are not taxi people, so it took the better part of an hour to get into PV by 2 buses. That kept us from going back a second time.....we've been to PV about 6 times, so it was not a big deal.....although I would choose to stay closer to old town PV next time.
We did take a taxi to Bucerias......which was a total waste of time and $30.
We also did a canal trip with Captain Vladimir and First Mate Dora on the "African Queen" steam powered boat, and that was fun!! Saw crocs, lots of iguanas and birds.....and some beautiful homes and boats.
All in all, an o.k. trip......not the most fun we've ever had. I think I like Ixtapa better than NV.

Room Tip: Demand an ocean front room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Sue C :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Sea Garden. We are so glad you enjoyed our facilities.

Regrettably, it would appear we did not meet all your expectations. Nevertheless, this will be shared with the appropriate areas so they can look into each one of your observations, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltillo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

First week of August 2011: Good Service, Good amenities, a lot of families.
Weather: Excellent, it only rain in the night.
Pros: Very good service (Maid, pool crew, waiters). Nice Food (International) and Beverages.
The Hotel room with a capacity up to 4 adults and 1-2 kids. Acceptable A/C. Family ambient.
Clean Hotel, NIght amenities: Bar, Karaoke, Disco in a nearby Hotel (you can use the Mayan Group transport), and THE EXCELLENT DUSK OF BANDERAS BAY.
Cons: After the Dusk a lot of mosquitoes (in the beach, and in the pool). For the usual prices in Mexico , the food and beverages are expensive. If you get the room with kitchen, you can buy food and beverages at a Supermarket (approx. 10 miles) you can use a Bus (3-4 dlls or 30-40 pesos/per person), or take a cab (20 dlls or 200 pesos/per ride) to get there. Nearby there are 2 convenience stores (OXXO with fair prices, and Sun Market-part of Mayan Group = very expensive) and example: 12 pack beer at OXXO $110 pesos and a 6 pack beer at Sun Market $ 105 pesos.
If you don´t know the Puerto vallarta downtown (approx 14 miles) it´s a little far, and an extra expenditure.
One elevator (of two) in maintenance the whole week.
The Worst: The "malecon" or downtown in this time it´s closed, in some kind of redesigning, and apparently it lasts until Nov or Dec 2011. We weren´t able to see the most beautiful part of Puerto vallarta.
There´s a fee for using the WiFi connection, a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank outlet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

My husband and I were looking for a"hot deal" as we decided on a last minute getaway. We paid just over~ $730 (each, taxes in) which I thought was a deal and a half. Some other people even managed to pay a bit less. Due to the deal, I did not have high expectations for this resort as I heard it was rated between a 3.5 - 4*. I was apprehensive as I had not heard much about this resort, and there were not many reviews. The reviews that were out there were helpful and I decided to take the chance and book. After some investigation, I realized this hotel was actually a timeshare but they are now offering this hotel as an all-inclusive. I did not have high expectations as we got a rediculously good deal. It seemed to be the best deal out there at the time. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very clean and modern. Service was better than we have had experienced at some 5* resorts. It is not a huge property, so it was easy to get around and find everything that was available to us. Now, all that being said, there are a few things some people may not like. But, if you get a deal for this resort, the down sides still do not out weigh the good. They want you to SIGN for all your purchases (food, drink, etc..). This does not mean you will be charged! We didn't have to pay for anything, not even bottled water. Many were annoyed withhaving to sign, but it is worth your time and patience to do so. If you use the swim up bar, you don't have to sign everytime you get a drink! Run a tab and sign at the end of the day. Also, if you are a beach lover, the ocean is rough and it is not always advised that you swim there. Like most Mexican resorts on the Pacific side, the sea is rougher. The beach is very walkable and you can walk a good stretch of it. If you are allergic to sand fleas, you might want to stay away from the beach. We did not visit the beach much, but we were still bitten as the pool is adjacent to the beach. My husband usually never get's bit, but even he was covered in bites. I was bitten badly and many of the guests also were. Make sure you take some anti-histimine for the itch. Also, the beds were extremely hard. There is not a large buffet, but the food quality was excellent, just don't expect a huge buffet like at many 4-5* all inclusives. Remember, this was and still is a time share. The food is very mexican in flavour, choice and preparation. I do not enjoy spicy cuisine, but I still managed to find enough to eat. Lunch was a la carte off the menu and there was a great selection. There was always loads of fresh salads every day, fresh fruit and breads. There is not much night life at this resort and there is no spa. There are no a la cartes here, but there are a few local restaurants in the area. If you are looking for rest and relaxation this is an ideal place. This hotel was one of those "wow" deals and we definitely got what we paid for. If we saw a deal for this hotel again, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julinator3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
6.9 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.1 km away
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
#17 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.6 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
1.3 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,027 reviews
1.1 km away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price range (per night): $130 - $531
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Sea Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing