We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,591)
Filter reviews
5,591 results
Traveller rating
4,086
1,018
315
101
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,086
1,018
315
101
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun bar el toro palace resorts zen restaurant rock spa resort credit sunset cruise pool party rock star city tour punta cana romantic dinner on the beach entertainment staff spa treatments zip lining fire show sushi
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 5,591 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I looked at several properties before deciding on HRH Vallarta. One of the things that sealed the deal for me was the number of positive reviews I read, and I'm happy to say that they were all correct.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank jsteiner1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Jsteiner1001
Thank you so much for all your comments and for the opportunity you gave us among other options in the zone. We are glad to read that you and your family had a wonderful time during this spring. We hope to see you next year or sooner with us for another amazing vacation, do not hesitate to contact us prior arrival if you require help with the arrangements of your trip.
Keep Rockin'!!
"This review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This resort was amazing!! The service, food, drink and music was top notch!! I loved the American music, like 70's 80's, 90's and todays hip hop it was terrific!! I have to admit, I was a little scared with all the tainted alcohol and drug scares in Mexico in general, but we never ever felt scared at all on this resort or in Puerto Vallarta!! We were treated so great and like they truly appreciated us visiting. Have to say the service here or anywhere in Mexico has always been top shelf compared to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic!! Here in Puerto Vallarta we were treated so kind and they truly seem very sincere in making sure your stay is nothing less than perfect!!
The alcohol was top shelf, food excellent... some restaurants were slower than others, but still they aimed to please!! We loved that the men in our group didn't have to wear pants or closed toe shoes to the restaurants just no tank tops for men. Also, it was great that we didn't have to make reservations for the restaurants at night. Loved not having to have a room key as well as our wrist band got us into our rooms. The Brazilian restaurant was our favorite, but the Italian came in a close 2nd. Service on the beach and pool was great!! Luis (snoop dog) did an excellent job making sure we were taken care of and came around often to see if we needed drinks and even food!! He would remember everyday what we were drinking.
The weather was amazing with no clouds at all the entire week we were here. The ocean is a bit cold but you get used to it. The waters aren't the pretty turquoise like on the Atlantic side of Mexico, but there was no seaweed and rocks. Only fluffy white sand that did get hot in the middle of the day if you walked barefoot on it.
I did get a pedicure at the salon with our resort credit and she did a good job. Have to say the resort credit is a bit decieving as they tell you, you only have to pay 20% but the prices are above and beyond ridiculous, way higher than what we pay in the midwest, so that is why we didn't use the spa services much.
We did take a van for our group of 10 to the board walk in Puerto Vallarta and it was about a 40-45 min drive there, but nice to see. Every morning they had a bike ride to the small zoo we did one morning and that was cool. The bikes aren't the best, but worked for the purpose. It was a trip to remember as one of the girls in our group got "squirted" on by a male tiger in his cage. Guessing he was marking his territory. Made for a great laugh!! I did yoga one morning and it was pretty good, never had done it before so don't have anything to compare it to, but I would definitely do it again. Also, I went to the fitness center one morning and it was nice, but small.
This resort is smaller in size, but we liked it as you didn't have to walk far to get to things. Entertainment at night was great and the bands in the sunbar and by the pool ocassionally were terrific and kept people going. We played water volleyball almost daily. Swimup bar gets busy, but they do a fairly decent job trying to keep everyone full and happy!!
I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and I hope to someday make it back again!! Thanks Hard Rock for making this another memorable trip for our group of 10!! Most of us came in on our own and not as group when checking in and leaving and that all went smoothly. Most rooms aren't ready until 4 if you come in early, but you can use the fitness center to change clothes and enjoy the warmth!!

Date of stay: March 2018
2  Thank Myron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Myron B
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your great experience. We are glad to read that you enjoyed so much your vacations and to know that you felt like royalty the entire time. Your kind words for our staff are grateful; thank you for recognizing their superb work, integrity and value. Each one of them are incredible rockers that are always willing to go the extra mile and the credit of our success goes to the entire team. We all wish to see you sooner than expected to keep up the good times and please do not hesitate to contact us prior next reservations to assist you with the arrangements for another incredible experience at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta.
Hasta pronto amigos & Keep Rockin'!!!
"This review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Thank you to Felix, in costumer service, he solved all my problems. He made my stay here at the Hard Rock very enjoyable. I recommend all my friends and family to stay at this hotel. Great hospitality and service.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Elena S
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to know that despite any inquiry, our characteristic customer service was superb and took your experience to another level. We hope to see you in the near future to share another fantastic time and please feel free to reach us again to assist you with the details of your trip.
Warm Regards,
"This review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The Hard Rock Vallarta overall was a good stay. Here are the good and bad about this hotel, I'll start with the positive, the hotel has a great vibe, it is good size property, not too large or too small, 3 great pools, beautiful beach and mostly the staff, servers etc were incredibly nice. The bands at the night club were pretty good and fun too.
The bad, the food, not so great, they have 4 maybe 5 restaurants the best restaurant is Frida by far, I give the food a C. Also, even though our room was nice, clean and great view we had bats in our room 2 nights in a row, they did end up changing us to another room after the second night of finding a bat in my room (room 6018) but it was not the same category we had payed for, hotel was very concerned and nice about the whole bat ordeal, however, in my opinion hotel should've given us an upgraded room if they didn't have the same category, not a lower one, or maybe a small refund for the trouble or even though we probably would've said there's no need, they should honestly offered a free massage or something. We realize things happen and they tried to be nice about it but they could've definitely done much better in response to this experience.
Overall I would probably stay there again in the future.

Room tip: Anything but room 6018 :)
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Monica
Thank you so much for your review and for all your feedback. It is sad to read we missed the mark this time during your visit especially with the meals but surely all your comments will help us to keep improving and offer you a fantastic experience on a future stay. We love to learn from the experiences of our guests; We as a Hard Rock have a very unique personality and we are proud to have the opportunity to offer you the best of Mexico in combination with epic service and incredible meals that will always be the perfect mix of luxury, relaxation and comfort. We would love to have you back for another amazing experience, we invite you to contact us prior arrival and we will happily assist you in any way we can to ensure you an outstanding time and a 5 star unique experience.
Best Regards
"This review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We read the reviews on Hard Rock Vallarta for several months prior to our trip the last week in March. We were impressed by the consistent rave reviews. 5 star after 5 star. After staying for a week at the Hard Rock Vallarta I wonder where these people have been traveling or if they have even traveled at all? My review is based upon nine vacations to Mexico staying at El Cid, Secrets, Hard Rock Heaven, El Dorado and Casa Velas several times.

The service was the one thing that seemed to be mentioned by everyone. Yes, the service was good. But certainly nothing like Casa Velas...while it was much better than our stay at El Dorado and Secrets Huatulco. It was on par with our stay at Hard Rock Heaven in Riveria Maya. Frank in the Sun Bar, Hercy in Concierge and Charlie in the spa stood out to us.

The check in process was easy and the front desk accommodated a room change for us. The rooms are average. A large waste of space with the hot tub right next to the bed. Shower is well tiled but the water never was hot. One sink with no counter space. Mini fridge was never restocked. The best thing about the room is the bed was very comfortable and sleeping well was no issue.

There are four restaurants and each is average. The food is not awful but it is not fine dining. We enjoyed Ciao (Italian) the most and Zen the least. There are two breakfast and lunch buffet locations and both were adequate. There is a smaller buffet at Frida where you could order burgers or fajita chicken on the grill. The guac and chips are very good. Room service was generally quick and accurate. I would recommend the romantic sunset dinner on the beach. It was hands down the best meal we had over our stay. Lobster and filet.

The choice of spirits is average. By no means is there a selection of top shelf liquors. The tequila options were in the C range. The best tequila they displayed was Don Julio Reposado or 1800 Anejo. To anyone that knows tequila...disappointing. The high end vodka displayed was Absolut and Finlandia. We were able to tip enough to get Grey Goose from the main bar (Sun Bar) but it was not available most of the time. They keep it hidden in a bottom cabinet. It is hard to get good liquor if you don't have a red, platinum or black band on.

There are three main pool areas and a kiddie pool. The main pool with the activities is the largest and is run by the entertainment group. I would rate the entertainment team as below average compared to our other vacations. There are children allowed in the main pool...this is the first thing I would change if I was in management at Hard Rock Vallarta. Despite what you read on this review site....getting a chair at the main pool is difficult. We worked with the pool concierge but we had to pay each day to get chairs. Money will get you much better service if you do not have the right color band on.

The beach is the nicest I have seen in PVR. It extends for miles to the north and there is a break by the marina canal four resorts to the south. It is open to everyone so there is a lot of traffic but no vendors. You can walk and view all of the other resorts in Nuevo.

The spa was excellent. It is much smaller than the spa at HR Heaven but it is well constructed and new. The hydro circuit is a must and I would rate it as my top circuit experience of the six spas we have been to in MX. Ask for the eucalyptus in the sauna and steam room. Make sure to ice plunge in between the sauna and steam. It will cost you 25 credits and $5 each time you use it but it keeps you refreshed on vacation. Charlie was excellent in service at the circuit. The couples massage my wife and I had was average but very expensive at 630 credits with a 20% cash charge.

You will need to meet with one of the Legendary specialists after check in to receive your room credits. They will offer the buy in sales pitch but they are not overly pushy and if you bargain you can make the pitch worth your time in room credits.

The resort itself is old and in need of maintenance. I was surprised by how outdated it was for a Hard Rock...especially after our stay last year at Hard Rock Heaven. The grounds were maintained well but it just does not compare to our other stays. We were informed by the sales team it is the oldest Hard Rock in the MX line. Much of the resort is in dire need of a paint job.

The shows are offered each night in a amphitheater. It is a nice set up and the shows are well done. The Michael Jackson show was the best we saw but there are other rock compilations and it is the only area where you can hear some loud music if you like some thump. The Sun Bar did have karaoke Wednesday night but it lasted only one hour. That was the most fun we had in the Sun Bar. There are average bands that play each night.

We are a married couple in our 40s. We have 5 children. We take one trip together with another couple each year as a get away. We have only stayed at one other resort that was not adult only, El Cid. We decided to give Hard Rock Vallarta a try despite it not having an adult only side because we LOVE Puerto Vallarta and the adult only options in PVR are more tranquil and upscale. We looked for reviews with concerns about kids but they just never were mentioned. Well, it was a large mistake on our part. Kids were everywhere. It was like Disney. Kids in the party pool, kids in the restaurant late a night. There was no escaping them. Kids splashing near the sides in the main pool...to the point you could not eat by the pool. Screaming, crying kids with parents not controlling them. It put a huge damper on our time. Again, our fault. But if we had known it was like Disney in Mexico, we certainly would have booked else where. So, the fact that kids are not mentioned much in reviews should not lead you to believe they are not everywhere. The fact there is no adult only party pool boggles my mind.

We had been thinking about buying into Hard Rock after our time at Hard Rock Heaven in Riveria Maya. But that came to a screeching halt after Vallarta. We hear that Punta Cana is the same as Vallarta but much larger. Two new HR resorts opening soon in Cabo and Riviera Cancun so hopefully they have adult only sides.

Hope the review is helpful. Ask any questions you'd like.

Room tip: Go as high as you can for the best ocean view
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Mike B
We are very sorry to read that your experience was below your expectations, as you can read in most of our reviews we strive to provide the most epic and incredible vacations to all of our guests and it is part of our mottos to deliver an outstanding service all the time.
In regards of the room, they have been designed under the highest standards of comfort and relaxation; We have multiple room categories and amenities that include the best entertainment systems, smart Tv's and incredible amenities that every rockstar needs. In regards of your meals, I would like to explain that we offer 5 specialty restaurants each one with a unique and different menu carefully designed under the most strict standards of quality and include the best flavors of the region with the special touch of Hard Rock. We have a unique list of dishes that include several vegan, celiac or vegetarian preparations always taking care of your health. Additionally we have our In-room service 24hrs and the possibility to acquire the special Chef's menu or to use your resort credits to upgrade your meals. We are more than willing to prepare something that will delight you, just let us know and our staff will gladly help you.
I truly regret we didn’t have the possibility to talk during your visit to provide you with an amplified service and take care of your needs. We would like to change your perception in every area of opportunity you mentioned and we invite you to contact us prior future reservations and allow us to take care of every detail for you.
Best Regards
"This review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews