We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
79
69
27
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
69
27
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main square pleasant stay secure parking old world town square would stay again busy road remaining nights bed was comfortable every morning without a doubt excellent hotel high ceilings cathedral balcony bell plaza
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

I paid about $54 per night for four nights. Credit cards accepted. My standard room was small. Bathroom small, too. Very clean. Strong A/C and wifi. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Ice machine--a rarity in Mexico. Computer terminals in the lobby. Good restaurant onsite. Located next to the Cathedral, the tourist office, and the museum. Nice staff. Close to banks and an Oxxo. Small pool, big terrace, and decent gym...

If I'd paid ten bucks per night less I'd be really happy...but if you're a non-backpacker gringo who wants comfort and amenities, you should probably stay here...

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

When you arrive in the centre of town, and on checking in are handed a great, fresh, cold fruit drink, can it get any better ?
Yes there's street sounds, music, kids, but, it isn't an old folks home you've checked into. This' a stay in a piece of history, in a really cool,, clean, friendly, musical, safe, fun place.
Hotel food is great, the staff really friendly, most important, the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Although now part of the Best Western chain this hotel remtains much of its charm and atmosphere from its recent ownership by the Cebellos family. It sits along one side of the plaza, with a streetside outdoor terrace and cafe. On arrival we were directed to the car park at the rear of the hotel with access directly to the reception lobby. As we checked in we were offered a citrus cocktail and cool face cloths - very refreshing. Check in was smooth and efficient. We were shown to our rooms by a friendly and knowledgeable concierge.
We had reserved a king bed room ($115 CDN). It was at the front of the hotel with a Juliette balcony overlooking the plaza. It was average size with a tiny hallway which had ample closet space and a small bathroom. The shower worked well and the bed was comfortable.
The menu in the outside cafe was unremarkable but the food and service were good. Next day, the buffet "brunch" was 120 pesos each, most of the selections were lunch related but it did have fresh juice and an "egg" station serving omelettes with bacon etc.
The only negatives were the standard room ($100 CDN) booked by our travelling companions, which had just one double bed. It was an interior room so had no windows - only a mural with a "window view" painted on the wall.
The other disappointment was the pool which is really just an unheated hot tub on the roof. But the rooftop is well worth a visit as it affords excellent views of the plaza and a great photo opp of the volcano which was smoking during our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the square. The upgrade to king size was worth the extra.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

We stayed here 3 nights and had a great room with two small balconies overlooking the street below and Cathedral. A breakfast buffet costs about 130 pesos and has lots of great food. 16 foot tall ceilings (I estimate) in a classical 1861 building. Small pool on the rooftop and free protected parking around back
The staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: room 112 was great for us - views of city life
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This hotel has a wonderful outside restaurant to meet travelers or tour guides right on the Colima Square. The buffet brunch is outstanding. The rooms are great!! Accommodating staff. Even enjoyed the souvenir shop!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews