We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We came, we saw, we had a blast!!!”
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
GUARD STATION AND ENTRY AS SEEN FROM THE SEA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
GUARD STATION AND ENTRY
AS SEEN FROM THE SEA
LOOKING SOUTH AT CASITA FROM MASSIVE DECK
KAYAKING WITH DOLFINS AT SUNSET [taken from deck of home]
LIVING ROOM W FIREPLACE AND BRICK DOME
OWL ON GRAND CARDON NEAR OUR HOME
VIEWS FROM CASITA
SAILING RIGHT BEHIND THE HOME [taken from deck of home]
KITCHEN BAR LOOKING INTO LIVING ROOM
CASITA TO THE RIGHT ABOVE THE HOME
BRICK DOME IN LIVING ROOM
YAKING WITH BUDDIES [taken from deck of home]
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
HOW REMOTE? TAKE A LOOK.....
APPROACHING THE HOME. CASITA NEAR PALMS
SEA FRONT DECK OF CASITA
ADOLFO, HEAD OF SECURITY AND KEY MASTER
HOUSE SITTER, BLUE HERON ON THE PALAPA
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
BEAUTIFUL HOMES ON THE BEACH
ALL GOODIES AND APPLIANCES
HOME LOOKING NORTH, CASITA ABOVE GARAGE
HOW TO GET HERE
BILLIONS OF SHELLS 16  MILES DOWN THE BEACH
MASTER BEDROOM W KING
THANKSGIVING 2012 BASH
QUEEN BED IN BEDROOM 2
LUSH MATURE LANDSCAPE
FESTIVE BATHROOM DECOR
YUP, THAT'S HOW IT FEELS
2ND BATHROOM
TYPICAL SEA, PELICAN AND PONGA [Nov 2012]
FULL SIZE LAUNDRY CENTER
ROOF TERRACE
LIVING ROOM LOOKING INTO HALL
BUGAMVILIA
DOOR TO DECK FROM BEDROOM 2
WHALE ON THE BEACH [5 miles up the beach]
UPPER CONNECTED TERRACE
LITTLE SKIM BOARDER
SEA LIFE AND MILLIONS OF SHELLS
BIRD ISLAND-HOME TO OVER 3,000 SEA LIONS [about 25 miles north]
KIDS OF ALL AGES LOVE THE BEACH
BEACH STARFISH [right behind the home]
SKIM BOARDING IN THE TIDE POOLS [taken from deck of home]
VOLLEYBALL ON THE BEACH
COOL TRANSPORTATION IN Y GRIEGA 25 MILES TO THE EAST
PELICAN ON THE BEACH [1 mile north of home]
BEAUTIFUL WOMEN AND BUGAMVILLIA
TYPICAL SUNSET FROM THE DECK
MASSIVE GRAND CARDON JUST A FEW MILES AWAY [8 miles east of the home]
FAMILY FUN ALL DAY LONG
900 TO 2,000 YEAR OLD POTTERY WITHIN 1/4 MILE
MASSIVE SAGUARO CACTUS WITHIN 1 MILE
A LITTLE BAG OF CHEETOS FOR THE WAY HOME
SHRIMP BOAT IN THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
HUGE SAND DOLLAR [found on the beach by our home]
TYPICAL DESERT SUNSET [7 miles from the home]
RAINBOW OVER THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
RARE WHITE PELICANS [taken from deck of home]
NOV 2012 SUNSET FROM DECK
MASSIVE MUTANT CACTI [10 miles north]
AINCIENT PETROGYPHS [40 miles east]
ANOTHER TYPICAL SUNSET [taken from deck of home]
BIKE RIDES IN THE DESERT EAST OF THE HOME
GREAT BLUE HERONS [1 mile north]
VIEW OF THE SEA FROM THE ROOF TERRACE
LIVE SEA HORSE
BIRDS ON THE BEACH
SWEET BLUE JELLYFISH [the size of a softball and 'non-stinging']
MOUNTAIN OF PINK/WHITE SHELLS
WHALE SKELETON AT CEDO
PADRE KINO MISSION [in Pitiquito 55 miles east]
THE 2ND LARGEST ASPARAGUS PRODUCING AREA IN THE WORLD
GIANT SEA TURTLE [3 miles up the beach]
FATHER & SONS IN THE DESERT
I AM TALKING 'BIG'
HAPPY FAMILY VACATION NOV 2012
FAMILIES STROLLING THE BEACH
FRONT YARD AND STAIRCASE TO CASITA
INCREDIBLE SKY
YAKERS IN OCTOBER 2012
YAKING THE WAVES-NOV 2012
BLUE HERON IN TIDEPOOL NOV 2012
MORNING MOON OVER THE SEA NOV 2012
SITTIN' IN THE WAVES
ULTIMATE BODY SURF
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Penasco, Northern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MillyGu
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We came, we saw, we had a blast!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the house a few hours after sundown, but getting in was easy, we had a key. We unpacked and fell into a coma like sleep. The journey was long. When we woke up the next morning and discovered that the tide was out we migrated to the beach and it seemed like the tide had retreated all the way to China! Our two girls plodded into the warm water like baby sea turtles bent on a reunion with long lost relatives. They spent so much time in the water that I think I saw gills behind one of their ears. The ten days we spent there were filled with beach combing, swimming, star gazing and day dreaming. We kayaked with dolphins and swam with what must have been ten thousand jelly fish. ( don't worry, they don't sting ) On freshly exposed sand bars, we dug for sand dollars, and boy did we find some! -even a couple of whale ribs. The army of crabs that guard this little slice of paradise didn't protest our presence, too much. We stayed in the casita and it seemed like it was made just for us. Milo and Boni are awesome people, Real people, the kind who have no enemies and the whole world is their friend. Milo and I shared a couple of beers and a couple more stories and Boni is one of the most kind hearted people I've ever met. Great job guys, Thank you! I've been to Rocky Point a hundred times or more but I've never had a more fulfilling experience than the one I had in Santo Tomas. "I'll be back" -Cheers,

The Guthries.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa M
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! Familiar, Fun, Romantic”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is one of the best in Mexico, definitely the perfect place to spent Quality Time with family, spouse/partner.
The fact that is not open to vendors and general public its great.
Experience with nature awesome, dolphins were so friendly.
Owners provides the place with all the details it makes you feel like your are home right next to the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dolphins experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally K
St. George, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The tans will fade but the memories will last forever... at least until next year!”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I will always treasure this trip because, for the first time, we were able to bring our four children (ages 5, 6, 7, and 8) and let them experience this raw and invigorating wonderland. I have told them stories about kayaking with dolphins and finding sand dollars as big as their face, however, to give them the opportunity to experience it for themselves was so special. I love that I can stay in such a remote and untouched location, however, have all the comforts of my own home while I enjoy, quality time, making memories with great company! We are all already counting down the days until next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I had all the comforts of my own home while I was staying in paradise! The beach is right out the back door and during low tide we could walk out to within 10 yards of the dolphins!
Liked least: Having to leave such a beautiful place!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa U
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful space that is very homey. The views are breathtaking and the ocean breeze is very cooling on hot days. We had and exceptional time staying at this home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Wi fi sporadic
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela411...
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I probably shouldn't write this review and keep this place a secret destination for my family, but that would be selfish. My wife found this property after a long search on the internet and are we ever happy with the results of her efforts.

We have two teenage children, a boy and a girl. Those of you with teenagers can relate to the challenges faced with planning a family vacation. It was quite a drive from our Southern California home to this very remote area about an hour south of Puerto Penasco , driving on two lane poorly maintained roads and through a portion of unpaved dirts roads to our final destination. A true gem of a home situated atop untouched natural sand dunes. A real paradise worth every bump in the road of travel. The owners of the home, Milo and Bonnie along with their wonderful dog Penny were present during our stay and we couldn't have been more welcomed. Milo and Bonnie are absolutely two of the kindest, nicest people we have ever met.

Our kids had the time of their lives exploring the beach and near by sand dunes. From sunrise to every stunning sunset there was never a dull moment.

The casita was everything they described, and more. I could write a book about our week at this home but I will end this review by simply saying that you must experience it for yourself if you're in the mood for adventure.

We will definitely return to visit our new friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing