We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best dolphin encounter ever!”
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
GUARD STATION AND ENTRY AS SEEN FROM THE SEA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
GUARD STATION AND ENTRY
AS SEEN FROM THE SEA
LOOKING SOUTH AT CASITA FROM MASSIVE DECK
KAYAKING WITH DOLFINS AT SUNSET [taken from deck of home]
LIVING ROOM W FIREPLACE AND BRICK DOME
OWL ON GRAND CARDON NEAR OUR HOME
VIEWS FROM CASITA
SAILING RIGHT BEHIND THE HOME [taken from deck of home]
KITCHEN BAR LOOKING INTO LIVING ROOM
CASITA TO THE RIGHT ABOVE THE HOME
BRICK DOME IN LIVING ROOM
YAKING WITH BUDDIES [taken from deck of home]
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
HOW REMOTE? TAKE A LOOK.....
APPROACHING THE HOME. CASITA NEAR PALMS
SEA FRONT DECK OF CASITA
ADOLFO, HEAD OF SECURITY AND KEY MASTER
HOUSE SITTER, BLUE HERON ON THE PALAPA
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
BEAUTIFUL HOMES ON THE BEACH
ALL GOODIES AND APPLIANCES
HOME LOOKING NORTH, CASITA ABOVE GARAGE
HOW TO GET HERE
BILLIONS OF SHELLS 16  MILES DOWN THE BEACH
MASTER BEDROOM W KING
THANKSGIVING 2012 BASH
QUEEN BED IN BEDROOM 2
LUSH MATURE LANDSCAPE
FESTIVE BATHROOM DECOR
YUP, THAT'S HOW IT FEELS
2ND BATHROOM
TYPICAL SEA, PELICAN AND PONGA [Nov 2012]
FULL SIZE LAUNDRY CENTER
ROOF TERRACE
LIVING ROOM LOOKING INTO HALL
BUGAMVILIA
DOOR TO DECK FROM BEDROOM 2
WHALE ON THE BEACH [5 miles up the beach]
UPPER CONNECTED TERRACE
LITTLE SKIM BOARDER
SEA LIFE AND MILLIONS OF SHELLS
BIRD ISLAND-HOME TO OVER 3,000 SEA LIONS [about 25 miles north]
KIDS OF ALL AGES LOVE THE BEACH
BEACH STARFISH [right behind the home]
SKIM BOARDING IN THE TIDE POOLS [taken from deck of home]
VOLLEYBALL ON THE BEACH
COOL TRANSPORTATION IN Y GRIEGA 25 MILES TO THE EAST
PELICAN ON THE BEACH [1 mile north of home]
BEAUTIFUL WOMEN AND BUGAMVILLIA
TYPICAL SUNSET FROM THE DECK
MASSIVE GRAND CARDON JUST A FEW MILES AWAY [8 miles east of the home]
FAMILY FUN ALL DAY LONG
900 TO 2,000 YEAR OLD POTTERY WITHIN 1/4 MILE
MASSIVE SAGUARO CACTUS WITHIN 1 MILE
A LITTLE BAG OF CHEETOS FOR THE WAY HOME
SHRIMP BOAT IN THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
HUGE SAND DOLLAR [found on the beach by our home]
TYPICAL DESERT SUNSET [7 miles from the home]
RAINBOW OVER THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
RARE WHITE PELICANS [taken from deck of home]
NOV 2012 SUNSET FROM DECK
MASSIVE MUTANT CACTI [10 miles north]
AINCIENT PETROGYPHS [40 miles east]
ANOTHER TYPICAL SUNSET [taken from deck of home]
BIKE RIDES IN THE DESERT EAST OF THE HOME
GREAT BLUE HERONS [1 mile north]
VIEW OF THE SEA FROM THE ROOF TERRACE
LIVE SEA HORSE
BIRDS ON THE BEACH
SWEET BLUE JELLYFISH [the size of a softball and 'non-stinging']
MOUNTAIN OF PINK/WHITE SHELLS
WHALE SKELETON AT CEDO
PADRE KINO MISSION [in Pitiquito 55 miles east]
THE 2ND LARGEST ASPARAGUS PRODUCING AREA IN THE WORLD
GIANT SEA TURTLE [3 miles up the beach]
FATHER & SONS IN THE DESERT
I AM TALKING 'BIG'
HAPPY FAMILY VACATION NOV 2012
FAMILIES STROLLING THE BEACH
FRONT YARD AND STAIRCASE TO CASITA
INCREDIBLE SKY
YAKERS IN OCTOBER 2012
YAKING THE WAVES-NOV 2012
BLUE HERON IN TIDEPOOL NOV 2012
MORNING MOON OVER THE SEA NOV 2012
SITTIN' IN THE WAVES
ULTIMATE BODY SURF
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Penasco, Northern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maureen_P...
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“The best dolphin encounter ever!”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Milo and Bonnie's beach house was a good find. The beach is safe and private and perfect for families with small children. The dolphins visited every day. We are looking forward to a return visit!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Great people have great times and these people are the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decibul
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
“Empty beaches, didn't leave the casita once!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a magical time in Los Dunas. My husband and I traveled with 2 boys who were 8 and 6, and grandpa and grandma. We specifically tried to avoid the spring break partying in Rocky Point, and that we did! We had the beach to ourselves almost every day! I've traveled to many beaches, and have NEVER had this much privacy. It was a truly unique and relaxing experience. The sea kayaking was so much fun, and the dolphins came around every day. The casita was beautiful, and the outdoor patio was even better. The pictures online can't do this beach vacation any justice. Milo and Bonnie, the house owners, make sure every need is met! They even gifted us some local hot sauce, yum! Cheers to anyone who books this place ;) PS There is wireless internet, which was a pleasant surprise...also the water was from a well and drinkable!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Looks like with a 97% Five Star rating with over 75 reviews something must be right....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traci S
Gem, alberta canada
1 review
“Seclusion and beauty”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. The casita is warm and cozy. The large open patio is great for watching the Dolphins swim by every day and the Pelicans who fly by so close you can almost touch them, or to just sit and enjoy the sun. Well equipped kitchen and bathrooms. The grocery store in town was great with the girls using their phones to help translate what we were asking for since we don't speak Spanish. A couple things that could be upgraded is the tv and DVD player. We had to stay inside a couple days because of really high winds, so spent time using that equipment and the tv is very old and has had an image burned into the screen and a large dark spot. Also, the bedding could be updated a bit, since I had those mountain scene sheets when I was a teenager and I am almost 50, lol. Kayaks available, but the water was very cold and it was very windy causing high waves. Great to look at, but not something I want to try to paddle on. All in all, a wonderful, relaxing time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Tanj, thanks for the suggestions and the comments. New TV on the way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little casita on a beautiful uncrowded beach! Beats Rocky Point hands down!”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay in the Casita, and we had the most wonderful Thanksgiving holiday ever! The kitchen is well equipped to handle all your cooking needs, right up to a big holiday meal like Thanksgiving. The beach here is so beautiful and uncrowded. We love being able to bring the dogs along with us - and they love the beach as much as we do. The variety and number of sea birds is amazing, and the porpoises swam and played in the surf in front of the Casita every day. While we didn't venture out on the kayaks this time, it's great to know they are available when we want them. We loved being able to take our side by side ATV down the beach for miles and miles in both directions. And behind the dunes, there are acres and acres of beautiful Sonoran desert filled with saguaros, organ pipes and other dessert plants. We were amazed at the number and size of the nests built in the saguaros! The ejido (small town) has a great little store with the basics like beer, ice and produce and it is a lovely little community with vineyards and olive orchards. It's not too far to larger towns if you need something the little store doesn't carry. If you are looking for a quiet getaway on a beautiful, uncrowded beach, this is definitely worth a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, uncrowded beach.
Liked least: I don't have a single complaint!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to eat so freshly while sitting by the ocean and drinking a beer.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing