We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,382)
Filter reviews
2,382 results
Traveller rating
1,048
878
277
99
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,048
878
277
99
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck pond log fire groupon deal leisure facilities jacuzzi bath manager wayne four poster bed evening meal quiz night reception area dog friendly hotel venison three course meal two nights breakfast was buffet style lake district family room
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 2,382 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We managed to check in a little early as our room was ready which was great. The room could have done with a revamp as it was quite old fashioned and the paintwork a little chipped, however it was clean and comfortable in a quiet spot which is all we needed. It was Easter Sunday and we were also greeted by an Easter egg waiting for us on the bed - lovely touch!! Thank you! We had cream tea and unfortunately I think we were forgotten about so I had to go and ask after about half an hour of waiting - the staff were very apologetic though and the scone was nice. We went to the pool which was also lovely and warm - remember to take a pound if you want to use a locker or you can just take your bag on the pool side, towels provided free of charge. The gym looked like it has a nice view overlooking the gardens but we didn’t try this. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely, the only thing I would say is it came out too quick for us, there wasn’t much time in between courses so we ate it all a bit too quickly. (The ducks sitting looking through the window were funny - again a lovely view from the restaurant). The bar/lounge was also great, felt like a pub so it was almost as if we had gone out of the hotel, relaxing for a nice evening drink. Breakfast the next day was also really good - I am fussy with sausages I hate it when they don’t look like meat but these looked and tasted great. All in all we had a nice stay, the staff were all extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. We would stay here again and recommend it. A refurbishment would be nice for some areas but then it would no doubt put the prices up so it’s just one of those.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank pinksoda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks so much for your nice review and for staying here. We work hard to offer great value for money and are delighted to have done so for you. That doesn't mean we don't reinvest in the hotel of course and that will continue as well. Thanks for recommending the hotel to others and we hope to welcome you back again too! Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is our second visit to the damson dene, the first being 5 years ago and must say that then it needed updating and now even more so. We stayed in room 29 which although moderately clean it had plaster hanging off the walls and the room was freezing !. Breakfast was ok not a great choice and the evening meal was edible but nothing special, leading us to eat elsewhere on the second night. Most staff were friendly, having been served rather abruptly by the manager Wayne on the first night we found him quite rude and obviously favoured returning guests who he chatted with throughout the night. Sadly won't be returning here and only came because our usual hotel was fully booked. Maybe with a full refurbishment this hotel would be up to scratch with others in the area which are priced very similar. Images can be seen of cracked plaster and the awful stained seats in the bar area.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gillb736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We're sorry to read this review but appreciate the feedback. We work hard to keep the hotel a great place to visit and will continue to do so. We also compare our rates to all of the nearby establishments and seem to be a fair bit cheaper than most, helping us to offer great value for money, normally. We are in the planning stages for bar refurbishment which help freshen it up and completely change the layout and design. We will always reinvest in the hotel and feedback like yours will help us do so. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Thourghly disappointed, we had a jacuzzi room with four poster bed, bath was cracked in numerous areas, the bed squeaked like a hamster was present every time you moved, the curtains were hanging off the rails. The bar and restaurant were freezing! The log fire in reception didn't get lit till after 2, I have written to the hotel before posting this, but no reply!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rolfe714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We're so sorry to read this review and it's not what we want for our guests at all, especially on a birthday stay. We would have certainly tried to find a different room for you and we're sorry we weren't able to during your stay. We also haven't received anything in writing or email recently as we would have responded and done everything to come to an amicable conclusion. We're sorry we weren't able to in this case and hope you can resend your message again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you Manager; Wayne and team! You have made mine and my partners stay so welcoming! The hotel is fabulous and the food has been delicious; eating along side my new best friends (the ducks). The rooms are very cosy and we have made so many good memories to cherish at The Danson Dene. We originally booked here for 3 nights but as we loved it so much here we booked a further 4th then 5th night, we would have stayed even longer if it was possible to stay away from work and home. We will most definitely coming back (hopefully soon) and recommending The Damson Dene to all our friends and family!

Thank you once again; Katie

Room 19,45,36.
26/03/18-31/03/18

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katie Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

If only you could have quit your jobs and moved right into the hotel, that would have been best for everyone! Thanks so much for staying with us for your extended stay and posting your delightful review. Everyone is so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to make some wonderful memories here! Until next time, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I have been coming to this hotel since I was 15 years old that’s 18 years ago. The hotel food is fabulous, the pool and leisure facilities are great for everyone. The lounge area is relaxing and cosy. Some on the rooms are looking a little tired and could do with a revamp. The dinning room has never changed in the 18 years of me coming and could do with modernising.
The receptionist lady Jean was extremely helpful and sorted out a minor issue for me regarding the extra cost of my dog.
The only thing I would say is to offer a better variety of children’s food on the kids menu.
I will definitely return again as I have done for many years.

Room tip: The hotel has a new extension with new rooms
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Claire1984Rotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

What a delight to continue to welcome you for the last 15 years! My how time flies! We thank you for your comments about the food and service. Thanks for the comments about the restaurant too; we have recently removed the carpet and have a lovely hard wood floor now with more planning in the works for the bar as well. Hope you come and see us again and approve of the changes. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews