We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy experience in the majestic Lake district”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with full oak panelling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with full oak panelling
Secretdoor in the bookcase from the living room Orton Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Living room with full oak panelling
Secretdoor in the bookcase from the living room
Orton Hall
Living room of Royalist Suite
Fireplace in the Royalist Suite
Lots of books, films and games to keep you entertained
King size bed in the Royalist bedroom
Bedroom with king size bed
The fountain on the front lawn of Orton Hall
Fully equipped kitchen
Separate bathroom with bath tub and overbath shower
Views over the rear lawns from the Great Hall
Great Hall with pool table, baby grand piano and wood panelling
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orton, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy experience in the majestic Lake district”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Orton Hall is a great place for a couple or for a small family of four. It’s located right at the boarder of the Lake District so easy to travel to both northern and southern lakes. The apartment is equipped with all amenities and the decor is truly majestic. The building has a fully functional piano, a pool table, old book cases with plenty of books to read if the weather is grey, all this with a secret passage through the book shelf; an old fashioned VCR is the cherry on top. Kids absolutely loved this place, my boy played with the bunnies in the lawns whenever he got the time. Only downside is that there are hardly any phone signals (O2 and Vodafone) so please expect that and the provided wifi is also slow (hence the reason for 4 stars)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N4920DKbe...
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant accomidation”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location of Orton hall was perfect - very quiet and hidden away and only minutes from the motorway. The grounds were huge and really nice to walk around. The Royalist suite itself was perfect - had great character, it was perfectly clean and had all we needed. The passes for the Penrith spa were brilliant and used everyday! Overall, was a brilliant stay and we very much hope to visit again in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area. We didn't know about the extractor fan and could have sent an electrician if you had notified us of the problem. But thanks for letting us know now - we'll get it fixed! I hope it didn't detract too much from your stay and I hope you will visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denise S
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a stunning Manor House to stay in”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Loved staying in the Royalist Suite with its secret door in the library. Easy to book through TripAdvisor. Loved sitting at the table watching the rabbits, woodpeckers and red squirrels playing in the garden. Easy access from the M6 to explore the Lake District and the Yorkshire Moors. Did not use the Spa at Penrith.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Hello Denise, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - sounds very restful. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards
Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing