We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BURNSIDE COTTAGE

Set in rolling countryside, that's the sea just behind the hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in rolling countryside, that's the sea just behind the hill
The cottage looks onto 1/2 acre front garden 'Burnside' sits on a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Set in rolling countryside, that's the sea just behind the hill
The cottage looks onto 1/2 acre front garden
'Burnside' sits on a quiet country lane
Kitchen living room
Woodburner for cosy nights in
Dining area opens onto back garden
Step outside to BBQ
Back patio for lazing
Fenced back garden is ideal for children
Double room with views over front garden
Twin room with zip and link beds, can be converted to king size double
Cosy single bedroom, views over back garden
Front garden teaming with birds and other wildlife
Inquisitive deer in front garden May 2014
Bathroom
Galloway's glorious coastline just over a mile away
Explore magical walks to sandy beaches
Beautiful Isle of Whithorn a short drive away
Lots of rivers and lochs for fishing etc
Galloway hills - great for walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
090248
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Top marks for this gem! The location is superb - big skies and peaceful with cows, sheep, farmers and wildlife for company. The cottage is home from home and we REALLY did not want to leave after two weeks! Okay, so the weather was brilliant too ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulH257
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Burnside cottage the first week in June. This was our first time to The Machars in Scotland and we had a wonderful week discovering this lesser known area of Scotland in Galloway. The cottage was one of the best equipped we have been to and was cosy and very comfortable. The cottage is in the middle of glorious countryside with nothing around except fields and wildlife. Just what we needed to unwind! The owners had made every effort to make our stay relaxing and have added little touches like supplying bird food to top up the bird feeders. There was plenty of local information and maps provided with details of how to order a lobster straight from the boat at Port William! We will definitely return to this wonderful part of Scotland and use Burnside cottage as our base

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found Burnside Cottage to be very well appointed, clean, fresh and comfortable. There is ample heating for winter plus a log burner for cosy nights. It has a spacious living area with a kitchen and large dinning table at one end and sofas and a wood burner at the other, with a large garden for long summer days. There are three good-sized bedrooms and the bathroom has an great electric shower. It is conveniently located a mile from Port William and the cottage is in a wonderfully peaceful location surrounded by fields. Port William has a shop and a restaurant and can be walked to from the cottage, although welly boots are a good idea for wet weather. Galloway has a lot to offer for walkers and cyclists with many forest trails and coastal walks. There are a good choice of restaurants in the quaint towns and villages that are a short drive away.

One point, mobile phone connection at the cottage is extremely poor and and the time of our visit there is no WiFi, which may or may not be an advantage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty, comfortable cottage in Port William”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This is a cosy, spacious holiday cottage, with everything you need for a quiet, relaxing break. We had a week over Christmas and comfortably cooked and ate a family Christmas dinner around the large dining table. The owner of the cottage even provided a Christmas tree with decorations, most welcome! The wood burning stove was so efficient, we only lit it once! The cottage is very well equipped for families, lots of DVD's, books, games - even a travel cot and slow cooker for those long days out. We intend to return this summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquillity in rural southern Scotland”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013

The cottage is in a very quiet location in a quiet part of Dumfries and Galloway, but for us this was what attracted us. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. We are a family of five and there was plenty of room for us all. The location is great for exploring Dumfries and Galloway. The Machars area where the cottage is situated is a gently undulating rural area and is great for walking, cycling and quiet beaches. Local facilities are adequate and you can buy everything you need in the local towns and villages if you know where to look, but if you love large out of town supermarkets (we don't) this is probably not the place for you. The nearest larger stores are about 20 miles away in Newton Stewart. We took our bikes and did quite a bit of mountain biking in Galloway Forest on the purpose build Seven Stanes cycle routes. They are brilliant - highly recommended. To sum up, lovely cottage in a super area.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing