We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 346
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
USD 704
USD 456
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 389
USD 256
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 361
USD 347
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 365
USD 346
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 280
USD 224
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 283
USD 176
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 408
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,071)
Filter reviews
9,071 results
Traveller rating
5,710
1,964
828
301
268
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,710
1,964
828
301
268
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench restaurantother resortsfishcoral grillmaya palaceoaxaca buildingsea turtlesdinner reservationscoco barclub premiumthe check in processadult poolfamily vacationbeautiful resortbuffet foodspecialty restaurantsmake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 9,071 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have been staying at this hotel for several years. Our early check-in went smoothly and quickly. We got a room upgrade which we appreciated very much because that made a huge difference in our stay. We were able able to make reservations for a la carte restaurants right away.

However, the service and quality of the hotel has consistently been decreasing over the years, and this was more noticeable this year. We were told that the hotel is saving on costs, and we do believe that! The quality of the food at the buffet restaurants used to be excellent, but now it is just decent with very little variety one day to the next (you will see at breakfast some food that you saw at dinner). The hotel grounds and architecture are gorgeous. It’s very clean and safe.

A negative thing is that many guests from the other hotels came to the Palace to enjoy the pool and the buffets, and they were allowed to do that, so the hotel was always crowded! We could easily recognize them because of the color of their bracelets (we learned which color belongs to each hotel, so there was NO confusion). Actually, some of them used to bring their purple towels from their pools to the Palace. Also, many people (including those of the other hotels) reserved the pool and beach chairs the whole day and they came back late in the afternoon. We always woke up early, but we were no able to find a lounge at the pool for adults during our stay. Due to the crowd, there were a couple of days where no server came to our table during breakfast. Yeap! Here is where you think if it’s worth paying more to stay at the Palace if you can enjoy its facilities even if you stay at the other four hotels???

The food at Rodizio was delicious and the meat was cooked perfectly. The best part was our waiter Bredy Barrios, he remembered us! The food quality at la Fuente has visibly decreased. It used to be one of our favorite restaurants, but it’s not anymore. The food at the Brasserie was delicious. They no longer decorate the restaurants with carved fruits as before - again, saving on costs?

The rooms are very nice and they have everything you need for a nice vacation, BUT I had to request a new sheet on my first day because the one I had had blood and urine stains!!! The maid truly apologized and she took care of our room every day. We also asked her for different towels because the ones that were in the bathroom could easily exfoliate our skins. It was always warm during the nights in our room because de A/C is set to 21C (70F) by the management. Can you imagine that in beach room? - again, saving on costs?

The pool is great, but the waitresses are the best. Angélica and Rosa are very friendly and professional. They also remembered us! The lobby bar is wonderful and the staff is very nice and attentive. Mr. Chang always remembered our drinks!

Check-out took almost an hour because the lobby member was new. He actually asked me to go to guest services to print out my reservation by myself and then take it back to him because they don't have reservations information in the system???? I think the staff must be fully trained before working directly with the customers.

Night entertainment had less staff than before. The Fiesta Mexicana felt kind of “empty”, but we attended the shows every night. We are a little bit disappointed in the direction management is taking the Maya Palace, but we will definitively go back to this wonderful resort (although now we are not sure to which hotel, due to what we described earlier).

Overall, this was our fifth visit and we had a great vacation, as always! The Mexican people is very nice, friendly and genuine, that’s why we will continue going back to that beautiful country and to the Barceló ¡Hasta pronto!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Adrianabyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Adrianabyp,


Thank you for your valued time and your review on your recent stay at Barceló Maya Palace.

It is with great concern that I read your feedback about how we did not manage to exceed your expectations during your stay, please know that day by day each and every staff member puts very much effort in order to work hard and to accomplish your every needs, our goal is to make your holidays as perfect and memorable as they can possibly be. Please forgive us, for not being this the occasion.

I truly hope you allow us another opportunity to welcome you and allow me to assure you that you will notice all the improvements we have made since your last stay and hopefully change the thought you have towards our Resort.

Best Regards,

José Luis Serratos
Manager on Duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Staff, accommodations and facilities were excellent. The service at Coral Grill was superb and the waitress, Selene Tec was attentive and great . The food at coral grill can be improved on with more selections but what was presented was tasty and well made

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bossy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Bossy M,

We were delighted to welcome you in the Riviera Maya. Thank you for your valued review and for choosing Barceló Maya Palace.

We look forward to seeing you back again in a near future, our entire staff will be more than happy to pamper you and your loved ones for a perfect experience!

Kind regards,

José Luis Serratos
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our three children loved the Kid's Club! Thanks to the staff for the activities and working well with all the kids. At the theatres, the evening entertainment was skilled and excellent! We had time to relax, snorkel, do activities together and apart, dine together as a family, and have an all around refreshing vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank randalll186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear

Thank you for your valued review on Barceló Maya Palace. We really appreciate your thoughtful comments and kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back soon!

Kind Regards,

José Luis Serratos
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The nicest of the Barcelo complex, and right up there in grounds and amenities with other five star resorts in the area. All problems stem from difficult management and the brand itself's style of keeping things formal.

Food at the restaurants was good, and great at the French. Tepanyaki (Hibachi) was excellent as well. Buffet became repetitive each day and night. Steakhouse was also great, I did not care for the seafood. The pizza place at the Maya Mall was interesting, as was the sports bar, with a great arcade and screens showing hockey. A nice touch, but the Maya Mall in general is just too far away.

We did not go to the club, again because the bus takes too long and walking would be difficult after drinks.

Wifi was terrible, and cost too much. They should just give up the revenue, increase the rates, and make Wifi free. It went down a number of times, and we were lied to by the staff stating that the rain makes the wifi signal weak (I work in networking, rain should actually improve signal strength).

The entire resort suffers from decisions at the management level that makes things difficult. We began to call the place the "Barcel-NO" due to the numerous attitude issues that were clearly the result of poor management.

Also, there needs to be more food poolside or close by, as well as a snackbar at least in the lobby, but maybe closer to the buildings, to make late night and quick eating worth while. The current location of the snack bar makes it just another buffet.

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same, and unless you pay more you'll be walking a lot.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Michael K,

Thank you for providing your positive feedback after your recent stay at Barceló Maya Palace. It is overwhelming to our staff, knowing that they have being able to accomplish yet another wonderful vacation. We are overwhelm you appreciate all staff service.

Regarding all other comments, they have now sent to our Complex Manager, for his review and follow up. I can confirm to you that Barceló Hotels & Resorts, pays very much attention to all feedback from our guest, their likes and dislikes. This is the only way on how to achieve greatness in our service. I offer a sincere apology for any inconvenience occurred during your vacation.

We will be more that honor to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

José Luis Serratos
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The resort property is basically comprised of 5 resorts. The Palace is the one we stayed at both times. It seems to be quieter than the rest, especially at the adult pool. The Palace houses the restaurant that we found to be the best, Brasserie. Our second favorite restaurant was Tokyo, which is in the big, covered mall between the Caribe and Colonial. We upgraded to premium ocean front this time and found that the beds, although not great, were much better than the standard Palace room we stayed in the first time we were there 3 years ago. Food overall is average, and same with the alcohol, even though it's supposed to be "top-shelf" for premium. The resort is kept up well, it's clean, and the view is nice.

Room Tip: Ocean view is of course the best view and the best location
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ChelleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear ChelleAnn,

"We highly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I regret to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Please rest assured that your issues have been forwarded to the corresponding departments who are already taking the necessary measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We can, and will ensure that the company regulations and standards are being strictly followed by our staff. There is no doubt that if we find irregularities by one of our hosts, that person will immediately stop working for us to guarantee the well being of our guests and their belongings.

Thank you again for your remarks, and we hope you give us the opportunity to show you the improvements we are making on our service.

Best Regards,

José Luis Serratos
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews