We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Huge resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were at the Barcelo Maya Tropical Feb 11-18th, 2012. We were there with a huge group (around 30-40 people) to attend a destination wedding. The resort is massive, so it was very confusing to get around at first. A little overview:
Rooms: 1st floor rooms smell musty/mildewy, if you can, ask for a 2nd floor room
Restaurants: buffet comparable to other large all-inclusive buffets (not very good, but we could always find something we liked). For the sit-down restaurants, Mare Nostrum (seafood) was my favorite! If you get the lobster tail, pick the grilled lobster, that way you get the whole tail. The Japanese restaurant, Kyoto, was also very good (hibachi style). The steak house, Santa Fe, was also better than we had anticipated. The Italian restaurant, Capri was horrible! Not one person liked the food there!
Service: the service was okay.. I know the staff works very hard, the resort is so massive, I just think they can't accomodate everything everyone wants or needs. They do have the friendliest staff! At the lobby bar tell Cinto "hola"! Service was also slow at the swim-up bar, but come on, you are on vacation.. no rush, right? a tip goes a long way! You have to try the coconut drink (it's just coconut water and whatever top shelf alcohol you want in it) very refreshing, and you get to drink it out of the coconut! you don't get that in Minnesota!
The grounds are immaculate! Beach was excellent for snorkeling! the wedding on the beach was gorgeous! All in all it was a wonderful trip! If you don't mind huge resorts, I would recommend this resort.. if you are looking for something more intimate, this is not your place to go...

Room Tip: 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 23 May 2016
DEAR MnSara

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,619
    1,003
    320
    157
    93
See reviews for
1,943
1,200
40
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were supposed to stay at the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort and when our bus stopped at the reception at the evening, they sent us at the Bercelo Tropical just beside, first we were mad because we didn't know what to expect about the Tropical, so we went to our room to sleep the first night and the morning after, we walked across the complex, we went to the Maya Beach Resort to compare and we decided to stay at the Tropical. The Maya Beach Resort seemed to be older, the beach was really nice but a bad odour was present in that bay.

I think the Tropical is newer, the installations are clean and well maintained. The beach was clean every morning. The staff was really nice with us, the entertaining team was always on duty during the day to make us move and play. The food was excellent at the buffet and in all the restaurants "a la carte" that we've tried. All the complex is awesome, the theater, the lobby, the restaurants, the pools, etc.

The only negative point for us was our room. The room would require renovations. it let appear some moisture. Accessories such as alarm clock, ceiling fan did not work. Televison was old. The safe had to be smashed and replaced by the consierge because the door would not open and our passports were inside. But we didn't pass very much time in the room so it wasn't a big problem for us.

We would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on the east or south side to have more sun and a less humid room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bombster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 23 May 2016
DEAR: Bombster

Once again thank you for having chose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your recent stay and really hope to have your preference for your next holidays

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful hotel. Landscaping was the best I have seen. The place is huge. It took us a couple of days to really figure it out but what the heck, we were on vacation!! Food was good and reservations pre-made when you get there. That worked fine for us. We only made the Italian and it was great. Heard the Japaneese was fantastic. Rooms were large and fine. If you think the bed is hard, look under the mattress. You should find a nice pillowed mattress cover that is very soft. Why it is under there we do not know. Pools and bars were great. Disco loud. Shows good. If you go say hola to Roland at the pool bar, Walter in the cigar bar, and Jasmine in the lobby bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NebraskaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
Dear: NebraskaBill

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,
Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; we thank you very much for the kind explanation of the Resort.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our second stay here. A beautiful complex. Large, lots to do. A la cartes were delicious. Great service. Would stay again. Only one negative comment, we stayed in a junior suite and since it faced the pools, was very noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Dear: Peg50

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical.
The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon. This was also our first "exotic" trip, we flew over 10 000 km to get away from -15 deg. celsius in Romania to arrive in 25+ on the Riviera Maya (major commitment to sunny weather, we know).
We arrived at Cancun Airport where we were picket up by our Tour Operator in air conditioned buses, and delivered to Barcelo Maya Resort.
On the bus we were told we would be upgraded for free to the Tropical hotel, i supposed because there were no more rooms at the Caribe, where we made our original booking.
Check-in took a while, since i think an entire Jumbo Jet landed that evening at the bacelo maya. It also rained that day I think, so it was very humid, and waiting in line at the check-in was less than optimal.
When we arrived we told them we were on our honeymoon, so they offered us a "upgrade".
They gave us 2 days in a suite at the Colonial, then they said we would have to move to a regular room in the tropical. For the "inconvenience' of having to move, they would give us Barcelo Premium bracelets, which gave us access to a lot more services, and what was most important to us - internet access = skype calls. we took the offer.

The suite was amazing - 2 rooms, and a bathroom with 3 partitions - jacuzzi and sink, toilet and shower room. Balcony had 2 sunbeds, 1 hamac and view of the main pool.
We also received a complimentary champagne and a plate of fruits - we quite enjoyed that.
There were 2 LCD TV's - one in the bed room, one in the living room - Unfortunately, the reception on the TV was analog, so as big as the screens were, the screen noise was visible, kind of a shame that they cannot get digital reception and digital distribution in the rooms, it's a waste of LCD TV IMO.

The regular room in the tropical was a definite step down from the suite, but still nothing major to complain. The bathroom had all required toiletries. The room was large, minibar was stocked, our balcony was facing the walkways and we could enjoy afternoons there.
The beds were ok, we were quite happy with them, also the sheets were quite soft to the touch.
The TV in these rooms is not LCD TV, it was a regular CRT, but i think the picture was better than on the big LCD's, and we didn't do much TV watching while there anyway.

The minibar was stocked when we arrived and they did not restock it daily, but to be honest we barely drank 1-2 beers a day, so it didn't bother us that much.

Internet access is wireless access, the speed was ok, were trying to call people in europe via skype, and that worked out wonderful for us, since it was a loong way from home.


The food: although we had some restaurant reservation tickets, we didn't use any of them, My wife and i found the food at the buffet quite enjoyable, and ate there every time, breakfast, lunch and dinner. In 1 week while we stayed there we did not get bored of the food, we always had something different to try out.

The drinks: While we are not big on drinks, and didn't spend much time at the bar, when we did go for a cocktail or a beer we enjoyed our drinks although i'm pretty sure the drinks were a bit watered down, but not to the point where we could not enjoy them.

The service: We tried to tip the cleaning staff, the waiters and the bartenders, but probably not as much as they expected (we had issues with withdrawing cash from the ATMs in the hotel - i think my bank was the issue - so we tried to hold on to our cash).

The grounds: were absolutely stunning, this is our first visit to the tropics, but it was amazing, from the beach, which was great for snorkeling, especially in from the tropical rooms, to the walks on the beach, up to the deserted property south of the barcelo. The palm trees on the beach were good for the shade and toned down the breeze in the pool area. The resort if kind of huge, you can do quite a lot of walking around the resort to explore the different areas.

The shows: i don't think we adjusted to the new timezone until very late in our trip so we only saw 2 shows, the MJ with Lev Garcia and the beauty contest. They were ok, nothing to complain.

I found the location of the hotel to be very good. We used colectivo to get around all the time, although the first time we went out of the resort, the colectivo was packed, the subsequent ones were not crowded. The resort is between akumal and playa del carmen, so we did snorkeling in akumal, and shopping in playa del carmen, it was right in the middle.

What kind of dented our experience was the maid service was a little irregular, and switching rooms kind of made us waste half a day waiting for the room to get cleaned up. Also the beverages were not as good as I thought they would be.

Overall we were very happy with our trip to Mexico, i would recommend this this to our friends and we would probably book here again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DyJohnnY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 8 June 2016
Dear DyJohnnY,

We apreciate your past visit very much, thank you for the feeback. We want you to know Barcelo Maya Beach Resort has been refurbished lately. We assure you will enjoy to come back.

Best Regards

gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,629 reviews
30.7 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
2.8 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,002 reviews
20.0 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Property: Barcelo Maya Tropical
Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): $278 - $575
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Puerto Aventuras, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing