We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool, manatees were awesome”

Dolphin Discovery Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery Puerto Aventuras invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in the paradise of the Riviera Maya. Our beautiful, natural lagoon setting is ideal for your hands-on interactions with our family of dolphins, manatees and sea lions. We offer programs for all ages, a family-friendly experience you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very cool, manatees were awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Had a great time. Would be helpful to have a family member join but not participate as you can't take your own camera in the facility so if you want pictures you either have to buy theirs (the cd is very expensive ($150 USD) or have someone join you and take pictures from the outside (very easy to do as they can stand on the outside of the tanks) Manatees were really cool and the dolphins were really fun. The footpush was the coolest part as you get way out of the water and ride for 40 feet or so. Swimming with the rays/sharks was uneventful, the sharks were all the way at the bottom of the tank so we couldn't see them too well, and the rays just kinda swam around but did not get very close. I had to swim over just to get close.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cholderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,397
    559
    242
    113
    111
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannibal, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Swimming with the dolphins is like no other. The experience with these creaures is priceless. Ever have a big mammal push you thru the water like a torpedo?

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Darkdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“observer's delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

we got to see all the experiences from the docks on the marina...great show, makes me want to go

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonlindsey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Took 7yr old there and loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Went with my 7-year old daughter and really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“TRAINER FOR LIFE EXPERIENCE - WOW WOW WOW!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This trainer for life experience has a focus on educating you about the animals rather than just swimming with them. It includes a full dolphin Royal Swim programme plus a training /education session with the dolphins so you get a lot of time in the water interacting and swimming with them. You also get to swim and snorkel with rays and sharks and we got to pet the sharks and even kiss a shark on the belly- cant say ive ever done that before !! The highlight for us were the manatees we absolutely love them - so gentle and beautiful we got to meet up with Dorothy who we met 4 years ago here in Mexico when she was small - shes huge now and it was lovely to see her again. We also met Juliet and baby Edgar and baby Robert and got to snorkel with them and feed them lots of lettuce by hand ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT EXPERIENCE!! The trainer we were with Andrea was very well informed and we only has a group of 4 of us ( normal group sizes are around 10 i think). The package includes a very basic breakfast, lunch and return transport from your hotel, a certificate and a T shirt, lockers and snorkel masks and costs 199 USD - it is not a cheap day out but you cant do it everyday and it is a fantastic experience so its worth it!
They pick you up at around 7.30 am and collect you at 3.30pm- advertising the event as a full day or 6 hours of activity ,but this includes breakfast and lunch , so in reality you get around 4 hours of animal experience max, time for meals and then about an hour free at the end of the day. It is still an excellent programme tho and we really enjoyed it.
PHOTO FUN:
The only negatives we have is that they take photos of you throughout the day which is good and the photos are great but they do not allow you to have your own cameras in any swim areas - I wouldnt expect them to be allowed when doing the fast activities with the dolphins but for the free time snorkelling i dont see why a few shots cant be allowed? Im not convinced that this is for any other reason other than that they want you to buy their photos, which i'd do anyway. This brings me to the shennanigans which is the photo purchasing - an experience in itself- they dont take video, just stills and they now put them on a CD which is good so you have them stored forever- they dont print any pictures off and you use the PC to select from all you pics and load the ones you want onto your CD. So far so good but now we come to the prices which start at 25 USD per picture!!!!! You will have around 25 pics so its a ludicrous price. Then they offer a CD of all photos and a printed photobook for around 180 USD (delivered to your hotel next day) . Its still very expensive so unless you want this big package you have to go thru the game of working out what you want to spend or think is reasonable for a certain number of pics on the CD and then refusing to pay much more than that- eventually youll get a deal- maybe go for around 15 - 20 pics and offer 50 USD and negotiate? We still think its expensive as they are simply putting files onto a cd and there are no printing costs but i guess the photographer has been with your group for 4 hrs too and the pics are capture a very special experience very well. What we dont like is the initial price quoted , its extortionate and if you dont haggle its a rip off and its unnecessary why do it? Why not just start with a fair price? So the tip is to haggle hard and allow yourself plenty of time before your transport arrives to go thru this lengthy process.

This experience is amazing, it is worth a 5 rating and is highly reccomended- weve taken 1 star off for the 'photo fun' .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjaxmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Puerto Aventuras also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Puerto Aventuras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing