We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
USD 402
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 406
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
USD 501
USD 456
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 346
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
USD 438
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 346
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 389
USD 166
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 317
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
USD 267
USD 224
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,221)
Filter reviews
4,223 results
Traveller rating
2,711
918
321
150
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,711
918
321
150
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssayil buildingcaptain morganmini golfflow riderfishspanish restaurantwater sportsla fuentesports bara la carte restaurantsclub premiumbarcelo mayaother resortsgreat resortbowling alleybuffet foodmake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 4,223 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is my seventh time on this exact property! It just gets better and better every time! I love the restaurant choices and tons of activities offered. Coming here saves us so much money because we don’t need to leave the property for any excursions. There is plenty to do and plenty of quiet space to do nothing and relax! Love it!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Rhonda F,

Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding your stay with us, we are glad you still remember your experience at Barceló Maya Caribe. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Maya Caribe from March 24-31st/2018. I have a few thoughts.
1) Restaurant reservation process is a pain. OUr flight was 9 hours late arriving and we were exhausted the next day so didn't make it into the office until our 2nd full day. we were told there were no reservations left but a woman in the line offered us her reservation to the seafood restaurant. The office woman then found 3 more openings for us by some miracle. Two of the sittings were 8:30 pm, which was a bit late for us but we made the best of it.
2) Food was okay. I have definitely had better but it was fine for a one week stay.
3) Entertainment - phenomenal at the Kukulkan Teatro. Went to 4-5 shows and they were all great. Very talented people.
4) Staff not as friendly as I have encountered at other resorts in the past.
5) Rooms-comfortable. No issues.
6) We did not travel with kids but the kid areas looked like great fun.
7) Resort is HUGE (with all 5 linked) but after a couple of days, it was pretty easy to get around without getting lost.
8) Beach-lovely. Areas to swim and sunbathe and if you go to the dock or over to the Palace area, the snorkelling is great. Had a turtle swim right underneath me.
**Up to this point, I would recommend this resort BUT I cannot return for the following reason:
There is a dolphin pool. I saw 5 dolphins in a tiny area which is ironic considering that the ocean is a few metres away. They are paraded around all day and then left to swim in this ridiculously small enclosure for the rest of the day. The Spa for the humans is larger than this pool. In this day and age of heightened awareness of animal rights, this just sickened me.
I hope that this resort closes this venue down and decides instead to educate people about dolphins, instead of choosing to 'entertain' people.

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor of the Sayil building.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Sandi W,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We value your preference, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great resort but the restaurants are impossible to get reservations. We were told that our premium room would have preferred reservations. This turned out to not be true. We were also told that you may not make dinner reservations before arriving. This is somewhat true but the system allows you to email ahead of time and “hold”reservations.

We checked in on Friday of a busy week. There were NO reservations available for our entire week before 9:00.

The resort allowed a large group of spring breakers to book up the entire resorts dinner reservations. When they decide not to go, the restaurant sits half empty but you can not get a new reservation because they didn’t cancel.

It really put a damper on the week as we do not like buffets. If you like buffets or don’t mind waiting an hour or two for a table to possibly open up, then this resort is for you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear john w,

Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriously and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Outstanding resort!! Shout out to Hassim Viana our waiter for breakfast each morning!! Super efficient, friendly, remembered our names! Highly recommend him for any breakfast meal...he made it so enjoyable! Thanks Hassim!
Kandi

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Barcelo Maya Caribe, we are glad we have fulfilled your expectations and that you have enjoyed your vacation with us, We love your positive attitude and we will be pleased to serve you again in the future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed here from February 28 to March 7. Booked a private transfer through Expedia using Supershuttle. Friendly service. Only waited about 15 minutes for a driver to pick us up once were outside the airport. Very pleased to arrive at hotel to be greeted and whisked over to the Premium check in. We had been upgraded as we are Expedia gold. Although we didn't get a room upgrade we were able to book our dinners at ala carte restaurants and receive free WiFi for the week. We immediately booked our meals on arrival to get times we wanted.

We had requested a room closer to beach. We were placed in room 2535 in the Sayil building which was very close to the beach and just in behind the premium rooms. Quick walk to beach and pool area. Arrived late so we ate at the sports bar in the mall area at Caribe. Good snack food and drinks.

We made good use of the beautiful gym facilities every morning before breakfast. I have been to a lot of gyms and this one is truly gorgeous and well equipped. Weights, machines, mats, stability balls, weighted balls and more! It is in the same building as spa.

Our room was spacious and well equipped with robes, slippers, safe, ample closet space, toiletries and balcony with chairs and table and drying rack.

Our maid did a great job every day of cleaning and straightening our room.

We loved the beach although a couple of days the winds blew in a lot of sea weed, but staff worked hard to clean it up as best they could. Enjoyed water aerobics in the pool at lunch with the great activation staff.

We visited the buffets at all 4 resort sections as well as the beach bars and beach restaurants. Great selection of fresh fruits, salads, meats, seafood, hot dishes and breads and pastries for every meal. Ate at 6 ala carte restaurants: Tokyo (show table), Trattoria, Capri, Rancho Grande, Santa Fe and spent an extra $20 each to eat at the Palace at the Rodizio>Received great service and had great food at all of them. I would like to recognize a few of our special servers: Dary Perez and David C at the Caribe buffet, Hassim at buffet, Ermeterio at Capri restaurant, Abraham C at maya beach buffet, Elevi at Trattoria, Carlos at Santa Fe, Irwin and Tokyo and Alex at Rancho Grande.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful greeting us with a smile and a Hola!

Attended a few of the evening shows. Enjoyed the Divas and Michael Jackson shows.

Attended Roman Catholic mass on the Sunday evening. Beautiful outdoor chapel just off the market area.

The resort grounds are kept very clean and lawns and greenery well manicured. Signage for getting around is clear. It is a huge resort and it was great to have access to the 3 other sections. Enjoyed our walks during day and in evening.

Wifi worked well even on the beach!

We visited the premium lounges for special drinks and wine before dinner each night. Very thoughtful and professional staff in these lounges and throughout.
We have stayed in other resorts in the Mayan Riviera, including Gran Bahia Coba, Gran Bahia Akumal, Grand Palladium and this one is as good or better than all of these.

Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: ask for closer to pool or beach
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear 0155,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Barcelo Maya Caribe, we are glad we have fulfilled your expectations and that you have enjoyed your vacation with us, We love your positive attitude and we will be pleased to serve you again in the future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews