We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great long weekend away!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lakeview Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeview Summer
Master bedroom Superking/twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Lakeview Summer
Master bedroom
Superking/twin bedroom
Dining room
Kitchen
Sitting room
Lakeview Winter
Day bed
Log burner
Terrace
Terrace
view from house
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Carsington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele W
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great long weekend away!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked Lakeview Cottage for a weekend get together with a group of friends that are spread about the country. It was absolutely perfect! The cottage itself was beautiful and really stylishly appointed with amazing views of Carsington Water. The lounge was huge and very comfortably fit everyone in our party. The kitchen was great with all the pots/pans/utensils and really convenient with the dishwasher, though the fridge is very small so don't take too much. We were lucky in a sense that it was quite chilly as we were able to leave some of the bottled drinks outside to keep cold. There was a log burner that we got a lot of use out of because it was a particularly blustery weekend, but that didn't keep us from taking a walk around the village and down by the water. There is a pub about 5-10 minutes walk away and it was a lovely little spot for some mid afternoon drinks, so nice and relaxed that we decided to return on the Sunday before we left to have the Sunday carvery :) We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a great place to get together and relax. We haven't received our deposit but assume that we will get it all back after the 10 days that they email you it takes to process it after check out, and Pamela was so responsive I can't imagine it being the big issue that others have reported.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cfs543
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lakeview the perfect family choice”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a lovely place to stay with the family. Well situated for days out lovely views from the house its self. Great play facilities for young children within the garden grounds. As a family of five I would highly recommend this property for your family holiday.
The owner was also very accommodating during the booking process and this was very reassuring, everything was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious accomodation with amazing views of the lake”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lakeview is an amazing spacious home with beautiful outlook across Carsington lake.Idealy situated for the Derbyshire peaks.The house is tastefully decorated and can easily sleep 8 people. So much to see and do, will have to make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin331
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in Beautiful settings”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Lakeview for a long weekend with our family and elderly parents. The property was very clean, beds very comfortable with lovely bed linen. The property was very well kitted out although the fridge could have been a little larger for a sleeps6-8.
Although no mobile signal in the cottage (the joys of country life) the WiFi was good so skype and facetime were used! But a mobile signal was possible in the carpark.
The owners were very helpful with where to find the local shop and decent pub for Sunday lunch etc.
We have recommended this property to many friends and our parents enjoyed the area so much they want to go again next year!
Thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage overlooking a lake with great walks and pubs nearby”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Lakeview last weekend and had a wonderful time. We were a group of 5 adults & one child ( 5 yrs old ). Its a bit hard to find in the dark and signal in the area is really bad but once you find it it is well worth it. Pamela recommended a great walk over the hills to a fantastic pub called the The Old Gate which has a roaring fire and excellent food. Would definitely recommend it! The house was well equipped and the linen smelt amazing! My nephew loved the zip wire in the garden. All in all we were very happy customers :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing