We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely views, lovely house but has some negatives”
other travellers have booked this property
Lakeview Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeview Summer
Master bedroom Superking/twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Lakeview Summer
Master bedroom
Superking/twin bedroom
Dining room
Kitchen
Sitting room
Lakeview Winter
Day bed
Log burner
Terrace
Terrace
view from house
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Carsington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Northendl...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely views, lovely house but has some negatives”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful location, with stunning views of Carsington Water. It was immaculately clean and tidy, the beds and bedding were of very high quality, you can be sure of a good nights sleep here.
Certain things disappointed us about the property, we agree with a previous review, the tv was old, no music system available, despite having a downstairs bedroom there is no toilet on the groundfloor, oven grill ineffective, dishwasher broken and the patio area is very small and not private.
A few things to beware, your deposit will be cashed 6 weeks prior to the stay, something which we have never experienced previously. As a result the list of very heavy charges in the visitor manual meant that we felt it necessary to report minor issues to the owner including a broken dining chair and the dishwasher. The owner did respond in a positive manner and attempted to resolve our issues promptly.
We arrived 20 minutes early after a long journey and were advised by the owner to return at the appointed time agreed in the rental terms, whilst we accepted this it would have been nice to have been given a more welcoming alternative suggestion.
Finally, I did have to contact the owner 1 week after departure to find out when I would receive the deposit back, which I have now received in full.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds and view
Liked least: Heavy list of breakage charges
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views very relaxing”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We have just spent a lovely week at Lakeview ,the house is clean and well decorated it is in a good location for walking and cycling .
We spent the weekend with five members of our family and the rest of the week on our own .
The kitchen is well equipped for cooking family meals , the living room very comfortable with lots of seating and a very cosy log burner a cupboard filled with games and books for all ages .The master bedroom has a wonderful view of the water and is so nice to sit in bed with your morning cup of tea watching the changing moods that was magical .
So many places to visit , you could spend hours in the book shop in Cromford ,we spent a wonderful day at Chatsworth the house was decorated for Christmas and the Christmas Market was on .
We came home relaxed and lots of very happy memories would love to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintFran...
Berkhamsted
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent property, beautifully presented.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice property, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, very good kitchen, large sitting room, terrace for sitting/eating outside overlooking Carsington Water. Good pub in village about 5 minutes walk.
Rooms decorated and furnished to a very high standard and very clean.
Good base for touring Derbyshire Dales and further afield.
Main bedroom has a kingsize bed plus a daybed, this can be used for an infant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property is well furnished and decorated, fantastic views over Carsington Water.
Liked least: Property is attached to owners house, no private garden. Not a major issue for us but could be for others. Owners large garden can be used and has Wendy House, slide, swings etc.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage, stunning location”
Reviewed 12 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Lakeview Hopton over the Christmas week 2011 and it provided an ideal setting for a great family Christmas. The cottage itself is a very spacious 3 bed and comfortably accommodated 8 adults with the pull out a bed in the master bedroom. The cottage is beautifully decorated throughout, the living room and dining room are both larger than they appear on the photographs. The log fire in the living room lent itself well to cosy Christmas nights in and the kitchen was well equipped to handle the prep of our big Christmas dinner no problem. All bedding and towels were provided and the owner even went to the trouble of having a Christmas tree installed prior to our arrival which was a very nice touch that was much appreciated.

The surrounding area is walkers paradise and a boxing day stroll around Carsington water was the perfect way to walk off all the turkey. About 10 minutes’ walk from the cottage is a proper county pub called the Minors Rest that served a good selection of ales-some local.

We found no fault with the property and would not hesitate in recommending it to others, our security deposit was returned in full within days of our departure. It was a Christmas that will live long in the memory!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & view
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing