We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 81
USD 68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 159
USD 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
USD 304
USD 221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 143
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 191
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 190
USD 174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 25
Expedia.com
View Deal
USD 408
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveller rating
438
325
233
105
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
438
325
233
105
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower bmexican resortlobby areadaily activitiesplaya lindaflea markettowel artpool chairsall inclusive packagecity busmexican nationalstortillasactivity staffhaving funweather was perfectbuffet restaurantbeach volleyball
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

from the time you check in with Dalia & Theresa & Miguel takes special care to get your bags to your room-you feel welcome. The resort is lovely-grounds are pristine. Staff is constantly cleaning from the chambermaids to young Christian taking care of the banos!(they deserve lots of tips!) Food was good- We loved our omelettes with " the works" breakfasts overlooking the ocean-service was wonderful. Our favourite dinner was with the pasta man-We chose our own-with lots of variety. Our go-to spot was the adults only pool-with swim up bar-be sure to try the signature drink-the Fontan! Location is central-go out the front to the left is Playa Linda with a great market -and crocodiles! and to the right-Ziwa-bus is 12-15 pesos and a great -fast ride! If you don't want to go far-markets and stores are right across the street. Be as lazy or busy as you want--Lay on an in- pool lounger - get a massage or go for a long walk on the beach-about 1 hour from one end to the other-don't forget Zumba at 11:00 to work off your breakfast. Fun times at 2:00-we learned how to make flowers from fruit and how to make 6 cocktails. Don't miss the al-a-cart restaurant. The handsome rec director- Giovanni- made our reservations for us. The recreation staff is wonderful-they will bike with you to the market if you're so inclined. Most importantly--don't miss the show from 6:10-6:40 every night-!We watched from our balcony- The most beautiful sunset we have ever seen!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay. Comments like yours are very important for us. Our main purpose is to make you feel like home. We are working on room renovations and we hope to have you back in the future...

Best Regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Needed Server around pool área more umbrellas bottle water or big container for filling up but staff was friendly and helpful cenor giovanny was very helpful and friendly i would rate 8 outof 10 !!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank aschartrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay. Certainly, comments like your it help us to improve. I will let my partner Giovany know about his good service.

We are working on renovations and we hope to have you back in the near future...

Best Regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

For an all inclusive it was OK.. I took my teenage boys on their first tropical vacation this year and we decided on Fontan Ixtapa. I was disappointed with a few things with this resort. First the "adult only pool" was for 16 and over. I understand the issues with having children in the adult only but when my son was just sitting at the edge and I was right next to him it shouldn't have been an issue. However, we moved. The other problem I have is that the one activity my youngest wanted to take part in was the inflatable balls that you climb inside. He wasn't allowed because he wasn't 16. He can para-glide but couldn't do this with parental consent. My main issue is there were things for the younger children and over 16 but nothing in between. The bars closed at 6pm and the only one open until the Disco was the lobby bar and it was TERRIBLE. The only good part I found was the food was very good and there was a good variety offered. I would happily go back to the Ixtapa area but never to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShannonS1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear visitor,


Thank you for the time taken to share your experience. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience, but safety is a priority for all our guest. We are working on room renovations and we hope some day in the future you decided to visit us once again...


Best Regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I took a trip with my husband and daughter recently, the service was excellent. The location was perfect and everything was within a reasonable distance. Definitely counting down the days until we can return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazmin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Jazmin S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the provided service. We will keep continue working on renovations and we really hope to have your visit once again.

Best regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Great Location Staff very Friendly
Rolly B
Home away from home
Must visit at least once you won't be disappointed
So if you are planning your family vacation for next year Don't hesitate to give them a call Golf course within a 10 minute walk

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank RollyIxtapa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear RollyIxtapa123,


I woul like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about "Hotel Fontán Ixtapa". We are really glad to have you back in this side of the Pacific Ocean. We will continue working on renovations and we really hope to see you once again...



Best Regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews