We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
USD 304
USD 221
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 79
USD 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 143
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 200
USD 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
USD 188
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 187
USD 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 25
Expedia.com
View Deal
USD 408
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
357
322
138
47
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
322
138
47
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoyster bareco gymwater wingsplaya lindaupper poollobby barwaterpark areakids clubitalian buffetdark sanda la carte restaurantscrocodile reserveseafoodcanadian moneykayak tourwater taxikids pool
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Great visit and a first to Ixtapa. Wonderful hotel with great service. Restaurants were very good and many options. We did go to 3 a la carte restaurants and the reservations desk was extremely helpful. Nice beach for walking early morning and evening. We also booked the sailing and kayak tour. We would have liked to be able to take the kayaks out on our own, but could only go with the group. Perhaps hotel limits use for safely reasons.... we also took the local bus to Ixtapa one day and Zihuatanajo another. Terrific beaches at zihua where we enjoyed sun and tacos. Snorkelling at Ixtapa Island is very accessible from the Azul. We took the water taxi twice and the folks at the restaurants took great care of us: snorkel gear, drinks and tacos. Be sure to take sunscreen!

We took USD and discovered that locals prefer to receive their tips in pesos. We ended up getting some from an atm at the Adult Grand lobby.

Would recommend the archeological tour, the guide is extremely knowledgeable.

Wonderful time in Ixtapa &we hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Our kid-free room was close to the lobby bar so not a great place for light sleepers.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunloverinAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We had an excellent stay at the Azul Resort. Staff are courteous and helpful. Greeted by a drink and dancers when we arrived and it just set the stage for an awesome week.

Room was very suitable. All we needed. We did not have a balcony but our view looked straight out over the pools .... to the ocean ... to Ixtapa island. Sunsets at night were marvelous. It had a safe and lots of room to store things. Other than one day housekeeping was great. Promptly done and generally a towel figurine to decorate the beds. :)

Food was very good. I like Mexican food but not all the time and there was lots of choice for me. It was tasty and as I said I nice variety. The first night at the Colores buffet we had beef tacos. The meat was not good - mostly fat. After that all of our meals were very good. Soup could have been warmer.

We usually ate at La Terrazza and it was always good. Costa Azul was our favourite a la carte. Very good food, nice atmosphere and entertaining servers. :) Men need to have close toed shoes to go in.

Also ate at the steakhouse Las Velas. Good. A comment about steaks at both places is that they do not overcook them! Wife ordered well done and her steak was still running blood. Sent it back with not much change. I got 2 steaks that night. :)
Friends had steaks at the Azul with the same result. Medium well was blue rare. Just so you know. :)

The snack bar at the beach is very good too.

Location is nice. It is a 5 minute beach walk to the pier and market at Playa Linda. After that you can walk for another mile or so on the public beach. We did that very often.

The public beach is much nicer than the beach in front of the hotel. The hotels beach is the only thing that is not as good as the rest of the resort. It was clean, lots of chairs and umbrellas, and people always there to help you, but it wasn't really the sand we are used to seeing on a beach. It was very dark and hard packed. The water was usually pretty dirty. The public beach was sand.

It was also very nice to walk on the "road" side of the resort. There are walking/bike paths that apparently go all the way into Ixtapa. I didn't try it. I did walk to the south everyday for a mile or so. Part of it is uphill, but a really nice walk. A few minutes to the north gets you to the Playa Linda market as well as the Crocodiles. A must see. A view point goes out over a protected area for crocodiles. I was lucky enough to be there at feeding time one day. Very interesting to watch!

A 12 pesos bus ride gets you to Ixtapa for a little sight seeing. A 50 peso water taxi gets you to Ixtapa Island. A must. Crystal clear water and nice beaches. All the beaches are in front of businesses and they do expect you to purchase something to use the chairs etc. There is also snorkelling on all beaches. Apparently there is a nudist beach. Wife said she wasn't going and highly recommended I didn't either. As I said apparently there is a nudist beach.:)

We did not spend any time at the pools.

We had an excellent time here. Providing a sand beach is not the only reason you are going on a holiday it is excellent. If Ixtapa is in our future travels We would stay here again.

Room Tip: You have to ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prairieboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Guest:
Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We stayed at this resort Feb 16-23, 2018. We are a family of four with a 9 and a 7 year old. This was out first trip to Ixtapa. Overall our trip was very good and we enjoyed many aspects of this resort.

We had a room in the main building, 18th floor (actually floor 8). The room was a good size and very clean and well maintained. The ocean view was amazing - the best we have ever had!! The bathtub/shower/toilet had a separate room from the sink/vanity which is a nice feature. There was a pull out clothes line in the bathtub which was perfect for drying bathing suits. The Wifi was really good in our room and free with Sunwing. The elevators were fairly quick with a short wait time but they were extremely warm inside.

We loved the pools and spent the majority of our time at the larger "lower" pool with swim up bar at one end of it. We usually did not have too much trouble finding a spot with some shade as long we were down by 9-10am. The kids pool / slides looked okay to me but our kids tried it once and decided that they would both rather be in the larger pools and did not make use of the slides and spray features in this area. The large bins of water wings at each pool were a nice feature. The lifeguards were very observant and did an excellent job at making sure that guests were following rules and playing safely,

We did not spend a lot of time at the beach - but we thought it was fine. The sand is harder and more compact then some areas of Mexico. The water was stirred up and silty for first several feet but more clear and not too deep further out. There is an area roped off for swimming and the lifeguards were very diligent at making sure guests stayed in this area. We did spend part of a day snorkelling and swimming at the Island where the sand is softer and the water more clear.

We did attend three shows during our stay and we thought that they were all very well done. The shows we attended were shared with the Azul Grand and located in an area between the two resorts.(a short walk from the main doors of the resort) The dinner show had to be booked in advance. There was also a theatre area right at the Azul Beach resort but we did not see this being used during our stay.

We did two two of the speciality restaurants for dinners - the Costa Azul and the Oyster Bar. The menu choices were quite varied at each and we all enjoyed our meals at each place. We all loved that Caesar salad made fresh at your table at the Costa Azul.

We ate most of our meals at one of the three buffets restaurants (not all three were open at each meal). For the most part the food was okay but we did find that the selection was fairly repetitive and the variety lacking compared to some of the other resorts we have stayed at. Some of the feature foods that they made on the grill were good. We enjoyed the chicken stir fry and the beef fajitas! We did not personally enjoy many of the desserts served at the buffets BUT we did really love the fresh sugar/cinnamon donuts that we had at two dinners. They were very popular!

The snack bar was good for a quick lunch during the day. They always had hot dogs, hamburgers, nachos, pizza and you could ask for ice cream / sherbet at the end of the line (we did not know this until part way through our trip).

This resort does have a lot of stairs and some odd /round about ways of getting places This was not a problem for us but I can see it being an issue for those with mobility issues or those using strollers for younger kids.

We found all of the staff to be friendly and always working hard!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cld74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

This is a very nice hotel and was very clean. Rooms were very clean and the view from our room was spectacular. When they say ocean view they mean it. Food was very good as were the a la cartes. Staff were very friendly and the grounds were well groomed. We would recommend this resort to anyone. There was a lot of young families and kids, but was also school break which may have added to it.

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle building on the 17th floor. Excellent view of ocean and area. Although I think all rooms have a good view.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Our room has no balcony, check your agent.
Wheelchair provided by the Paramedic Service of the city, bring your own.
Door lock is not working properly, needs 5~10 swipes.
Little complicate to approach the pools,
elevator—>walking—>elevator...
The restaurants need a reservation are good, other 3 buffet restaurants(Mexican, Italian, Oriental) serve similar foods (mostly Mexican style). The tastes are not too bad, quality food.
The area prefer Canadian and Canadian dollars.
Currency exchange: at airport US$1.- =17.1 pesos, at hotel 16 pesos, Canadian —> 13 pesos.
The hotel has a nice sunset view and islands view. The return ticket to go to the island is 50 pesos.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Ssogary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews