We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surf vacation”
Review of Puerto Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puerto Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at a resort in Huatulco for a week before we made it to Puerto, and the latter was by far the highlight of the trip. David and Swantje are very hospitable and accommodating. We definitely improved our surfing skills. We will return and recommend our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was warmly welcomed by Swantje and David Salinas, the owners of the Puerto Surf House (http://puertosurf.com.mx/en/) in December 2009, my first visit there. I loved the experience so much that I wanted others to know about it. Swantje and David are welcoming, kind, flexible. They are both amazing teachers - she teaches Pilates (and also gives an incredible Thai massage) and he focuses on surfing. If you never thought you could surf, he's the man for you.

It is a family-run business with a lot to offer. They have two rooms with double beds and private baths. The rooms are clean and have a bed (with bednets), drawers, side-tables and desk). There is no internet or TV (Internet you can find across the street at the organic restaurant). They have kitchen facilities just outside the rooms (see photos below). The garden is large with coco trees and hammocks. It is the perfect place to relax.

Surfing: the house is located on the best beach to learn to surf (called "La Punta"). Grab your board and hop in the water ! They have waves all year round and David is careful to take you out to whatever beach has waves that meet your skill level (see photo of the car you will ride in). David is an amazing teacher because he teaches basic skills, is incredibly patient and optimistic, and keeps you very safe. He's also a really great surfer.

In your non-surfing hours you can lie on the beach, go into town (a 20 minute bus ride), take one of their many (non-mechanized) water toys for a spin, get a Thai massage or take a Pilates class from Swantje, eat at the wonderful restaurants across the street or further down the street, go on walking tours nearby, take an inner tube down the river, enjoy the fantastic sunsets...

Have fun !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melaniesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.6 km away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
182 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
260 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#19 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
316 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#26 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
85 reviews
4.6 km away
Casa Losodeli
Casa Losodeli
#2 of 70 in Puerto Escondido
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Surf

Address: Calle Nuevo Leon S/N | Corner Benito Juarez, Col. Brisas de Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 70934, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Escondido
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By creating a homey and quiet atmosphere set in a naturally beautiful area, we want you to experience surfing and relaxing in a new way. We are located at La Punta de Zicatela, 50m from the beach. La Punta is a left pointbreak and a gret spot for beginner and intermediate surfers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing