We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely morning

We have just spent a lovely morning here. We loved the castle and grounds. Everything was so... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
Rebecca H
via mobile
Good views

Looks an interesting castle from the outside, but we did not know the history of it, and it had a... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
Keithupzap
,
Hinckley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 358 reviews
  
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
152
138
48
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
138
48
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage lawn games tea room car park catholic church weld arms children's activity halloween event hunting lodge lovely grounds information boards extensive grounds st andrews worth the climb interesting history free entry cream tea
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Sadly this was closed to visitors when we went, but it looks so good that I think we must go back sometime when it's open. The grounds were interesting and pleasant to walk around. What was weird was hearing the explosions and machine gun fire from the neaxt door army shooting range, It was so out of the expected. What was even more odd was seeing the way the sheep and crows didn't react at all!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

What a stunning castle from the outside. Inside it is well presented and I can see why they have weddings there. The chapel near the castle was so peaceful. The coffee shop was staffed by very friendly, funny and helpful staff. Our tea and cake was delicious.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank magpiegirl036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for your review we are pleased you had a lovely visit and found our staff helpful we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Lulworth castle is actually a 17th Century mock castle, which has now been turned into a museum.

Quick visit on our way home from Weymouth and had a very pleasant stroll through the grounds and into St Andrews church, which sits within the grounds.

Will be returning soon for a proper visit as the ‘castle’ looks stunning.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Tim121home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed a short visit to the park and hope you manage to visit the castle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We spent about 2 hours touring the castle, grounds, church and chapel. Terrific views from the castle tower, and well curated exhibits in the castle, including about the Weld family who owned it for hundreds of years. The church and chapel were quaint and peaceful spaces. Especially liked walking around the cemetery and reading people's stories on the tombstone. Be sure to stop at the Weld Arms for a pint and a bite afterwards - it's just a short walk away (see separate review)

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank yygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We came here about five or six years ago, and it appears that more areas have been opened in that time.

A former castle that sadly suffered a devastating fire in 1929. Still in private ownership, but the ruins re-opened thanks to help from English heritage. Well worth a visit.

We only visited the castle, but it looks as if the grounds would also be worth looking around as well.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 4ChordsNoNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews