We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Castle”

Lulworth Castle & Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lulworth Castle stands majestically in extensive parkland at the heart of the Lulworth Estate, close to Lulworth Cove. Built in 1608 as a hunting lodge to entertain royalty,it was purchased together with an estate of 20 square miles, by Humphrey Weld in 1641. Today the Estate still remains in the ownership of the Weld Family. All but destroyed by fire in 1929 the Castle exterior has been restored by English Heritage while the interior has been consolidated providing a magnificent open plan space. Within its displays and exhibits, cellars and memorabilia discover the fascinating story of its past.Climb the tower for spectacular panoramic views of the Purbeck countryside and towards the Jurassic Coast - an experience not to be missed. St Mary's Chapel, in the Castle grounds, is historically significant being the first stand-alone Roman Catholic place of worship to be built after the Reformation. Inside soak up the atmosphere and tranquility of this special place. Please note that jousting no longer takes place at Lulworth Castle.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a visit to this beautiful castle. English Heritage helped restore the outside of the Castle after it fell into disrepair after a fire in 1929. It is a magnificent looking castle and the grounds and Church are stunning too. Our younger children took part in a bat trail inside the castle but sadly we didn't have time to complete the squirrel trail outside too. The tea room is worth a visit with a good range of homemade cakes/tea's/coffee together with branded chocs/snacks/ice creams/drinks. A trip up the tower is recommended as the views from the top are incredible. Very friendly staff in the Castle and tea room.

Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Castle & Tearooms, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"english heritage"
in 24 reviews
"hunting lodge"
in 11 reviews
"lawn games"
in 7 reviews
"tea room"
in 19 reviews
"car park"
in 30 reviews
"catholic church"
in 4 reviews
"children's activity"
in 4 reviews
"weld arms"
in 7 reviews
"information boards"
in 13 reviews
"st andrews"
in 4 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 8 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 8 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 6 reviews
"free entry"
in 11 reviews
"interesting history"
in 9 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 9 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 17 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018

Sadly this was closed to visitors when we went, but it looks so good that I think we must go back sometime when it's open. The grounds were interesting and pleasant to walk around. What was weird was hearing the explosions and machine gun fire from the neaxt door army shooting range, It was so out of the expected. What was even more odd was seeing the way the sheep and crows didn't react at all!!

Thank dick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

What a stunning castle from the outside. Inside it is well presented and I can see why they have weddings there. The chapel near the castle was so peaceful. The coffee shop was staffed by very friendly, funny and helpful staff. Our tea and cake was delicious.

1  Thank magpiegirl036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for your review we are pleased you had a lovely visit and found our staff helpful we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Lulworth castle is actually a 17th Century mock castle, which has now been turned into a museum.

Quick visit on our way home from Weymouth and had a very pleasant stroll through the grounds and into St Andrews church, which sits within the grounds.

Will be returning soon for a proper visit as the ‘castle’ looks stunning.

Thank Tim121home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed a short visit to the park and hope you manage to visit the castle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We spent about 2 hours touring the castle, grounds, church and chapel. Terrific views from the castle tower, and well curated exhibits in the castle, including about the Weld family who owned it for hundreds of years. The church and chapel were quaint and peaceful spaces. Especially liked walking around the cemetery and reading people's stories on the tombstone. Be sure to stop at the Weld Arms for a pint and a bite afterwards - it's just a short walk away (see separate review)

Thank yygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulworth_Estate, Public Relations Manager at Lulworth Castle & Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lulworth Castle & Park also viewed

 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Lulworth Castle & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing