We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bookings and a very long wait”
Review of The Cove

The Cove
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: THE UK's Best Craft Beer Bar 50 yards from the beach. Amazing homemade food using local produce. Awesome range of craft beers. Barista coffee, now with two floors and balcony with stunning sea views Open everyday from 10am until late.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Recommended by local tourist office and popped in on spec. one day over Easter. Advised to return around 18.30 one evening as more likely to get a table (8 of us)...which we duly arrived and were advised of an approx. 45 minute wait so we said fine and got some drinks upstairs in the “sports bar”.. (there are only approx. 8 or so tables in the small dining area downstairs). We eventually sat down to eat 2 1/2hrs later. The women in our group were persisted and the kids asleep but the food was ok for 10.30 at night... I couldn’t help thinking that the staff knew exactly what they were doing and outwardly were trying to be helpful....... Evening topped off by another table thinking that farting loudly was funny... if a Camera crew had jumped out at us and said “you’ve been framed” I wouldn’t have even raised an eyebrow.... why do us brits put up with this poor service and rudeness?
We couldn’t be bothered to cause a fuss and should have gone to the “chain pub” next door but hindsight is a wonderful thing...
On a positive note IF you’re lucky to get the timings right I’m sure that this quirky little restaurants food would be quite a nice experience - ours unfortunately was not. P.s. we’re not related to any of the other families that have left similar reviews...

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

I'm really sorry to read your review as I remember your lovely family and you did wait such a long time to be seated. In our defence we cannot seat you until a table comes available and we did try and keep you accurately updated. At any point we would have completely understood if you wished to go to the pub next door and it was your decision to stay.

However we don't want anybody to leave disappointed and I have a young family myself so i understand how hard it is. Please be assured that this is not normal practice and we were experiencing the busiest evening of the year so far during the main Easter holidays. Even the large capacity pub next door was full on this particular evening and we can only do our best to cater for a massive demand during peak times, we cannot change our size and what we are.

Hannah will be really upset to hear your review as she had mentioned to me several times how patient and lovely you had all been. I hope you will give us another chance and experience The Cove in its normality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Another great visit to our favourite bar and eating house tonight. Superb food and drinks, excellent staff and such a warm, friendly atmosphere as always.
Thank you to all the staff for making ‘The Cove ‘ such a special place to visit . We love it!!! X

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Rona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks very much for such a positive review and leaving us 5 stars. It is always really great to read.

I will pass your comments on to the whole team who will be really pleased. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I noticed that there have recently been a few negative views posted by the same family in what is clearly an agenda driven attempt to damage the reputation of The Cove. Well some people are just like that and their threats never to frequent the establishment ever again is an absolute blessing for the rest of the decent minded good folk that do. The Cove deserves all the plaudits it receives, the food is excellent, the beer is always in good nick, hence their recent NATIONAL award for best craft beer pub in a rural environment in the UK. Most of all, the staff are some of the loveliest friendly and kindest people you could wish to get to know. Yes I’m biased because I live locally and absolutely love what Toby & Shelley have done to place, putting the heart back in to the centre of the village. All I would say is take time to enjoy the visit because if you’re the sort who thinks the world revolves around you, have no respect for decent hard working people and have a complete inability to understand that when it’s busy patience is required the please go elsewhere. BTW, it is worth pointing out that the recent expansion has not included any increase in the number of tables at which food is served. Take a chill pill!

Date of visit: April 2018
8  Thank MattfromBolberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

You certainly can't although we will always try our best ! :-)

Thanks for mentioning our great team of staff who all work so hard and are so appreciated.

We are also very lucky to have such a lovely crowd of locals who help us to put the occasional bad review into perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I popped in to get a takeaway black coffee. It tasted like they’d had it sitting behind the counter since 1972 and had cooked it at 5000 degrees. Ended up chucking it in the bin. Will not bother going back.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank SidBoggle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Im very sorry to hear this and very surprised as our coffee is hugely popular and award winning. If you had brought the coffee back to us we would have been happy to change it. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were 7 blokes on a few days away walking the south coast path and ate here on three occasions and the food and service was fab u lous. Great deal on 2 for 1 on one evenings which was a bonus. Although it only has a few tables downstairs it made for a very cosy atmosphere with good mix of tourists and locals.
Hannah and her staff looked after us very well and say hello to a Robin who gave us local knowledge on walks in the area.
Will definitely return if back in the area.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Beardsmore-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks so much for your great review and for coming back several times throughout your stay. I remember your group and it was a pleasure to meet you all. Thanks for mentioning Hannah and the team, they will be really pleased and I will mention your comments to Robin who will no doubt be in later for his pint of Wildcider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cove also viewed

 

Been to The Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing