We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Decameron Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 367
USD 240
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 338
USD 267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 831
USD 748
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus by Melia Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 616
USD 458
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 596
USD 386
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 510
USD 429
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabo Azul Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 286
USD 273
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 339
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 450
USD 377
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One & Only Palmilla(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
USD 916
USD 817
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
20
26
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
26
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview from the balconymanagement companyeach morningcondosurfzipperunitstubsbedroomnoisefurnitureoceanbalconiesproximitysunscreenpalmilla
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I have been to Cabo San Lucas once before, and stayed downtown Cabo at the Bahia Hotel with friends, so for this second trip, we decided to try something different. Las Olas is located about 20 minutes from the airport, its a ten minute cab ride to the quaint little town of San Jose del Cabo, and five minutes south of the Mega Super Store for all of your shopping needs.

We stayed on the first level, B105, a three bedroom, two bath condo. It was great to have all the amenities to make nice meals at the condo, and a great way to save on meals out.

B105 is a great condo, super easy to access the pool or beach. A wonderful spot for chilling on your patio, watching the surfers, or engaging in the fun. This is a great surf spot, nice for stand-up paddle boarding, and calm enough to swim.

The pool was great, the location was ideal on beachfront property, there are stairs down to the beach, easy walking to Zippers, a great restaurant and bar with live music. When the tide is down you can easily walk to Cabo Surf Hotel.

The condo is located very close to the highway, so you will hear traffic and jake brakes. We did not mind the noise when sleeping, but some may find it loud.

One challenge we had was getting a cab. The onsite security guard is not always able to call a cab, especially at night, so it's best to walk to Zipper's, order a tequila shot, and ask the friendly staff to call a cab. You can also call a cab from your condo.

The town of San Jose del Cabo is quiet and a really nice alternative to downtown Cabo. There are many great restaurants, such as Mi Casa and Salsitas.

One last item, curfew for pool hours at Las Olas is strictly enforced, as well as no glass at the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Eunetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I am day two into my week vacation here and and counting down the minutes until it is time to leave! First, we were told the unit would be unlocked. We arrive after dark and it is locked. We have no cell phone and have no idea who to call. Thankfully, the gate guard called someone who knew the lock box key....why the owner never thought to give us the lock box code is beyond me. Second, the unit is over run with ants. I emailed the owner who told us to call the property manager. There was no card in our unit with any property management information. She finally emailed me the number which is great advice except that the land line phone makes successful calls 1 out of every 10 tries. We email the owner on this issue and she says she never actually used the phone in the unit becuase she has a cell phone. Not all of us that travel out of the country have cell phones that work! We decide to be proactive and go to Mega to get our own bug spray.

On day 2, after dark of course, our lights go out for no reason whatsover. After fumbling around with no success, my husband finally goes to a neighbor's unit to ask where the breaker box is--we find out it is BEHIND a painting. That was awesome. It took 45 minutes to get the internet working again, which in the meantime I tried to call the condo owner--who of course did not pick up the phone.

The phantom "property manager" still has not appeared despite our repeated pleas for help. Whatever you do, do not stay in this unit! Maybe other units in the compex are managed better, but this one is pathetic at best.

I just got an email from the owner saying we can move out and get our $$ back. WHERE ARE WE SUPPOSED TO GO? My flight does not leave for 5 days. Instead of fixing the problems and making the situation right, she wants to kick us out on the street? This lady is a piece of work. Spend your $$$ somewhere else!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank iggy5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

My wife and I are both surfers and we LOVE Las Olas! The location and price can honestly not be beat! We rented a cute 1 bedroom condo (A502) and loved the views of all of the surf breaks from the living room and balcony. We really enjoyed having so many surf breaks right in front of our condo. How convenient! And the 3 hot tubs--which also have views of the surf breaks--are so nice to soak in after hours in the water. The sunrises are amazing from the condo balcony as well. The pool and grounds are immaculate and our condo was very well kept. Very nice to have all the pots and pans and cooking utensils you need cook and BBQ in the condo when you arrive. And it's also good to know that the complex is gated and has 24-hour security (especially when you have a rental car). Although we never felt unsafe anywhere in this part of Mexico. Downtown San Jose has tons of fun bars and restaurants. And if you are not a surfer--or if you are visiting on the surfing off-season-- there are still lots of activities in this area to keep you busy. It's pretty amazing that you can get all of this for $75/night! We will be back for sure. We loved the complex, the beach and the surf. And we really loved the price!

Room Tip: We like the A building because it was newer and had good sun.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ga8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This place is perfect for surfers. Otherwise, not worth it. Not near much of anything so rent a car or ride the bus. Unless you consider 3 to 5 miles one way walking distance.
Run down is a good description. The pool is shallow so last week when it was very hot, the pool was way too warm. Not at all refreshing. Not really a beach for swimming. Pretty rough and a steep drop off.
The unit we were in smelled like cigarettes. The floor needed cleaning and the blinds to the patio didn't work very well. The toilet ran. We never did get any hot water, even if taking a shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in the penthouse on the 6th floor and had an amazing vacation. All of the condos have a beautiful ocean view and relaxing balconies/patios with loungers and tables. The pool is great for kids but still a very peaceful pool and hot tub area. The pool overlooks the beach where the surf spots are and there were plenty of waves for all levels. It was within walking distance to restaurants but we mostly cooked our own meals. We loved Zippers which was right nextdoor. Thank you to Cabo Bound Services for setting up our rental for us. Cabo Bound Services rents out many of these condos.

The Wildfongs

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews