We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,159)
Filter reviews
4,159 results
Traveller rating
2,696
947
252
120
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,696
947
252
120
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews las marias los riscos el patio la trajinera phase pool el eden tequila bar activities director infinity pool all inclusive package time share all inclusive plan shuttle service golf cart free shuttle cart drivers sister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,693 - 3,698 of 4,159 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

we did enjoyed ourselve; but found the lack of a beach to walk on a very sad disappointment. The service charge daily was $7.00 per person... so watch when you arrive that you understand what they are saying and ask for a lower price.
nice activities.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

2nd time and cabo and was given a week here to stay through a friend. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. They do ask about a $7 tipping charge up front to cover gardeners and other people working around the resort. If you listen carefully though she doesnt mention bellboys etc to be included in this so they will expect a tip in addition. We stayed the phase 2 building in room 1251 in building C. Decent view of the ocean from our patio area. We were right behind the fire pit area. The fire pit area was nice to hang out at night. The room was a nice size and was clean for the most part. The kitchenette area had everything we needed for making breakfast or a quick lunch so no complaints there. We heard the food here was terrible so we did not get the all inclusive plan and only ate french fries by the pool one day which were good but its hard to mess up fries. We drank some dirty monkeys, mojitos and margaritas while there and must say the drinks by the lower pool are so much better. The one and only day we were at the top pool the drinks were not great at all. The bottom pool in more crowded but didnt find any difficulty in getting a chair by the pool. The bottom pool also is cleaner in my opinion. The hotel is pretty quiet and sometimes you feel like you are the only one there when walking around. We were able to avoid their timeshare talk while we were and honestly probably wouldnt recommended buying one there. There is no sign of any renovations or new construction for any of there upcoming projects. This place is quite a distance from town and we had a car which was great. Taxi ride from here is quite expensive and the shuttle to there sister resort I heard isnt always convient with the times. I thought the bed was fine but my husband is picky about his sleeping and absolutely hated the bed so if you have a bad back I wouldnt recommend staying here.
There is no swimmable beach here but there is a path you can walk down to the beach and walk along the rocks which is nice. Overall it was a nice stay but there may be better places to stay in Cabo.

Room tip: First pick phase 1 on either 3rd or 4th floor cause this gets you a direct ocean view. Second pick is phase 2 which is there only other building. Phase is also nice but it would be considered partial ocean view. We stayed on garden level which was nice but I would always try to get a higher level if you can. Either way any room has a nice view.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We recently returned from a six day stay at Hacienda Encantada.

To begin, we booked our stay through a third party vendor and experienced some issues. Thankfully, in the weeks before we arrived, Carmen took the time to make sure that all the wrinkles were ironed out. Thank you Carmen!

The welcome letter from the hotel was also really helpful. We have been to Cabo many times, so we were familiar with the timeshare gauntlet at the airport, but for the uninitiated, the information warning guests of these tricky folks at the airport is a huge help.

From the beginning, the experience was wonderful. Francisco and all the bellmen were wonderful. Not once during our trip did we experience a less than smiling, friendly and helpful bellman. The cart service was always prompt and we never felt like we were a bother. Other resorts could take a lesson from HE's service workers.

The property and the rooms are beautiful. It was spring break time and the hotel was booked solid, so we were initially put in an owner's one bedroom unit in the front building. Spectacular! The view of the infinity pool and the ocean just could not be beat! Going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves crashing is unbelievable. Sadly, we were moved to the studio room we actually booked the following day. Can't really complain. Although the room was not in the front building, we still had a great ocean view. If an ocean view is important to you and you aren't an owner, ask for a room on the 3rd floor or higher. You won't be disappointed.

We booked an all inclusive stay and I would recommend this to everyone. For the most part, the food available at the hotel is pretty good, but the restaurants aren't inexpensive. Our daily breakfasts at Las Marias were delightful, either ordered off the menu or the buffet. Lunch and dinner here weren't as good, but you won't go hungry. El Patio snack bar provides a nice variety of lunch items poolside. La Trajinera offers gormet dining selections in the evening which we enjoyed on three different occasions. This restaurant is a fine dining experience, so remember to bring along something to wear other than shorts! I must say that dining here is an event! Sergio is fantastic and will make the experience one to remember.

For the most part, we spent our time near the pool, on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. We were lucky enough to be able to watch whales frolicking in the ocean almost daily. And the service we experienced was fantastic. I can't say enough about pool manager Orlando who made sure that every single need we had was met. Wait staff Rocio also made sure that our glasses were never empty and our bellys were always full!

I have read other reviews which complained of extra charges on their bills. We found a couple of items on our bill that were in error, but we we brought this to the hotel's attention, and they were quickly removed.

The only negative we experienced was the time share presentation. We were interested and have experienced these before, so we knew what to expect. We expected professionalism from the sales rep, but when we declined to purchase, Jeff's attitude turned more than a little nasty. I guess only one fly in the ointment isn't too bad!

In summation, HE is a wonderful, laid back, friendly and beautiful place to spend some time recharging one's batteries. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luckme0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We went with our two children, ages 14 and 12. For families with kids there seemed to be very few, but on the plus side, Fernan the activities director concentrated, on our son and he loved it. Over all a Wonderful resort! We stayed for a week on the all inclusive with our two children. Absolutely no major complaints. The view from the lower pool is a solid 10 out of 10. The service is a 10 and room a 10 as well. You will need to tip as the staff make around 10-12 dollars a day. They want you to tip 7 dollars a day when you check in but dont give the money directly to the staff who help you the most.
It is true that the resort is on the side of a very steep hill but they have golf carts that take you around. The elevator was broken for two days unacceptable for those on higher floors.

The restaurants are very good except for the buffet on theme nights. The entertainment on theme night is fine and entertaining but the food not so much. The value this resort offered was great for those on the all inclusive plan. If not on the all inclusive it will be very expensive.
The towel card system is ridiculous and annoying. We recommend they adopt another way to keep track of pool towels!
The time share issues were the easiest situations to resolve. Don’t take the tour we as did not. I don’t know why anyone would purchase a time share from the resort; they are available for resale (on the internet) for more then half off the going rate! All the timeshare people go back to their rooms to eat and drink, due to the expense and not having the all inclusive.
Overall I highly recommend this resort and will come back! You can pay a lot more and get less. This is not an overly crowded resort with tons of people who get drunk. This is a more mature resort that is very nice with excellent service and great staff.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I just read rtffax's comments about the tipping policy at Hacienda Encantada. I, also, signed for $7 per day for tips. When Juan Arenas, one of the bell boys, wheeled my single suitcase to my room, he asked, "What, no tip?" I had thought the the $7 covered this, but I gave him another $3 for the one suitcase. He muttered something in Spanish that sounded like "Peoha", obviously unhappy with the tip. Hacienda Encantada needs to set some specific policy guidelines. No one should start their vacation with a surly bell boy practically demanding a tip.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SusanMSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews