We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,886)
Filter reviews
3,886 results
Traveller rating
2,517
888
238
114
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,517
888
238
114
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas mariaslos riscosel patiola trajineraphase poolel edentequila barphase iiactivities directorinfinity poolall inclusive packagetime shareall inclusive planshuttle servicefree shuttlecart driversgolf cart
Filter
Updating list...
3,478 - 3,483 of 3,886 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The grounds are beautiful, be prepared to walk up and down steep hills and or stairs as you meander your way to the different locations. They do have carts that will take you to your destination if your timing is on.

It's very quiet, The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the best fun is with the Activities Director.

The food at the restaurant is horrible! The poolside grill is definitely the place to eat when you go. On many occasions, we ditched the all inclusive and opted to go into town

The room was nice and clean except for the mold in the shower and there were a few places in the room where the paint was peeling.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 730DsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Enjoyed every moment. the activity director Fernand and the Bell boy Francisco were excellent.
Loved the market, what a delightful girl! Plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovedmytrip73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My sister and her spouse own timeshare property at Hacienda Encantada. This is 2nd time I have been their guest. It is super clean and the staff are superb. Fernan, the Activities Director, is tops, always makes sure everyone has a fun time and feels welcome. Everyone of the wait staff are solicitous and kind. Abraham, one of the waiters, is awesome.
Only one complaint: if staff at pool bar/restaurants had come around more often, we would have likely spent a LOT more money. They rarely made rounds and we had to walk up to the bar for almost every drink or order of food. Maybe they confused us with all-inclusive guests, but we were not. We often gave up and wandered up to our rooms for drinks and snacks. Hanging out at the pool makes you hungry and thirsty!!
Very Nice resort. Recommend it highly! I rated the "value" section just average because it isn't cheap, of course, but what is?

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Pros: Amazing views in a very quiet part of the coast, right next to the ultra luxurious Esperanza Resort. Rooms are gorgeous with lovely balconies. Sitting by the infinity pool is sheer bliss overlooking the Pacific with migrating whales.

The Cons: The food is not amazing. We had an all inclusive deal, however, we got what we paid for in terms of quality. Our Margaritas were made with Tequila and Sprite until we complained to the manager. The service is not consistent. Check in was very difficult as we had booked a special rate on the Hotel's own website that they did not want to honor.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, if you can book one of the many special deals that are offered. This is a 3 star resort in a 5 star location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juju1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a week stay through an interval timeshare exchange. Overall we had a great trip and think the property is beautiful if you have a quiet relaxing vacation in mind.
From the moment we arrived the staff was great. A couple stand outs were Cesar and Juan who were friendly and out of their way helpful. This was the general vibe throughout the place with a few exceptions. I wish the front desk check in staff could adjust their attitude a bit as they acted as if they were doing us a favor to check us in. But overall, this was not the case.
Rooms were very nice, well kept and did not lack anything I could think of. However, your room location greatly affects your views. As previous reviews have noted, ask to be up high or at the end of a building. We were initially put in a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool. We begged, pleaded and tipped our way to a room change. Room 3250 was a great view in both directions. This made all the difference in our trip.
The grounds were nicely manicured and picturesque. All the restaurants had great views too, but I would suggest dining elsewhere as there are many amazing restaurants in the area. If you do dine in make sure you save your receipt and check your bill carfully. We paid for many bills in cash, and one time the waiter thought he would keep it as a large tip and put our bill to our room. This is Really too bad because overall the service was good and friendly.
While vowing not to do the timeshare pitch prior to the trip, we ended up doing it at HE. They were much less high pressure than I anticipated, and professional about it. I would do it again.
A fun tip is to climb the cliff above the las Maria's restaurant. Great view for sunrise, or any other time too. You can see many whales from this point, and the other side of a beautiful cliff.
As a recap, beautiful grounds, views and overall great staff. A great place to come and relax with a loved one. (would NOT consider this a good place to bring young children as there are many cliffs, dangerous drops and not much to do.) but if you want some peace and quiet in a beautiful setting this may be your place.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdurakjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews