We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort and vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent resort and vacation”
Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

We are a family with a 10 year old who are regular Mexico travelers. We have stayed at a RIU before but this is our first time in Cabo area.

We would highly recommend both the hotel and the area.

First, completely safe. Never had an issue. Never felt unsafe. No worries or issues. And we went off on our own a number of times.

Second, hotel was excellent. Typical Mexico rooms but they were good. Great view. Food was excellent - we only do the buffet as it is easier with a ten year old. Service was excellent all the time. The front desk was very helpful and prompt with our room booking issue at check in. The beach was great and yes you can go in the water. Just down from the hotel was a roped off area that was fun to swim in.

Third, Cabo and area was great. Weather was wonderful. We did a whale watching tour, a camel ride on the beach and went on our own into Los Cabos and San Jose All were great.

Overall would highly recommend the hotel and the area for a holiday.

Dave

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank DavefromSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,907
    2,071
    736
    428
    330
See reviews for
1,181
2,940
66
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed her for our honeymoon. The grounds were really nice and well taken care of. We reserved an ocean view room, we got one - but then it rained outside and in our room - so they moved us to a partial ocean view. Which was still okay. Once we were sitting in our new room, getting ready to go out and a staff member just walked it without knocking - it was strange. Another couple said their camera went missing from there room...don't know if it was a similar occurance that was about to happen. The food was really good - all of it. The pools were great! There was no swimming on the beach becuase there was a big drop off and huge waves, so we stuck to the pool. We did take a boat out to lovers beach and that made for some good swimming and me getting stung by a sting ray. So be careful there. Overall I would reccommend it, but lock everything up in your room that is worth anything.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and the experience was really amazing. The food at the main restaurant is great, with a ton of variety. I am a very picky eater, and I had no trouble finding tons of different dishes to try. The breakfast buffet is great, try to get a seat on the terrace, overlooking the pool, palm trees, ocean and the arches. The Asian Night theme didn't impress me too much, but there was still plenty of 'regular' food. The service at this hotel is really impressive, and there are always waiters walking around getting you drinks, both poolside and at the bars/restaurants. We didn't bother making reservations, since it was a short stay. The lounges at the pool were reserved early on, but there didn't seem to be a shortage of them. If you want one in the first row around the pool, get there by 8 am, otherwise you won't get one there. The infinity pool is amazing, and the view of the arches in the background is hard to beat. The rooms were really nice as well, housekeeping is great. You don't need to worry about anyone stealing anything pretty much anywhere in this resort (don't be stupid about it either), our stuff was fine in the room and at the pool, as well as in all the restaurants. There is a safe, which we did use for passports and ID's. They are serious about returning towels, but not unreasonable; we missed the turn in time for the towels, and they had been cleaned up already, but when we explained at the front desk, they were very nice about it and didn't charge us, even though it was our fault. The view is amazing, and the ocean is very pretty, but I wouldn't recommend swimming in the ocean at that location. The current is very, very strong even under great conditions, and even for an amazing swimmer that could spell trouble. However, since there are 3 pools to choose from (plus the little ones), it's not something I would consider an issue. Added bonus, if you want to do the horseback riding on the beach, it's right in front of the hotel. We did a dinner cruise and a snorkeling trip, booked separately from the hotel, and getting a cab to and from the hotel was quick, easy and affordable ($12 one way for two people). Checkout was very efficient, as was checking in, staff in the entire resort are very well trained and genuinly friendly. Tips are not expected, and your level of service won't be affected, but are of coure welcome. I'm not sure how this place is for kids, since it was just my sister and I traveling together, but the resort isn't overrun with kids so you can still relax either way. Overall, I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room, third or fourth floor. Less noise from people walking by and the views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Had a great week at the Riu. We had oceanfront room with a nice balcony perfect for whale watching! Rooms very nice, but the mattresses on the beds need to be replaced. The chairs on the balcony were not very comfortable, they needed cushions. The food at breakfast is the best buffet of the day. The standard lunch buffet was o.k., but nothing exceptional. The lunch at the Mexican specialty restaurant much better with a beautiful view of the water. The way they do the specialty restaurants makes no sense- it is set up like a cruise ship with specific seatings instead of scheduled reservations. I think they could accommodate more guests with an open seating arrangement. Needless to say, if you were not up at 7:00am to make the reservation for that evening you were basically out of luck. The grounds were very well maintained and the staff friendly and accomodating. Easy cab ride into Cabo so no complaints there. The pool and swim up bar were fantastic. Most drinks were hand blended- not out of a machine- so that was very nice feature. Overall- very nice place for adults, not so much for families with young children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbags76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louisis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was a little hesitant at first seeing some of the reviews about food being bad but that was soon dismissed on the first day. Breakfast buffet was awesome, lunch time was excellent and the specialty places were outstanding as well (THEY DO FILL UP FAST AT THE SPECIALTY SO MAKE THE RESERVATION AS SOON AS YOU GET THERE). Every day at this place made me never want to leave. The staff was so friendly and the housekeeping went above and beyond. Heck they folded clothes that weren't perfectly folded and neatly organized some of our shoes and such. The resort is also the cleanest thing I have ever seen. They are constantly sweeping things up, even when i thought there was nothing to clean, and just going above and beyond. After staying at RIU PALACE I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on my vacations (if they have one in the town I'm visiting) and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give the best views. We stayed in a Jr. Suite (will definately stay in that level again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.8 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
1.6 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.8 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,631 reviews
6.0 km away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Cabo San Lucas - Colonia El Medano - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): $318 - $661
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing