We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“relaxing stay close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
seattle
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“relaxing stay close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I just came home from a vacation with a group of six. I know we were lucky as my friends own a timeshare there and got a Oceanfront 1 bedroom with a hot tub on the deck and a second studio lock off unit. My brother and wife got a deluxe 1 bedroom. This gave me a good idea of 3 different room types. Having a kitchen and nice deck really made for a relaxing stay. While my brother and sister in law did the time share presentation I just said no and it was fine. The thing that makes this hotel so nice is they have a good variety of food onsite and not high priced. I really liked going next door to the Hacienda for two dinners. The best was being able to walk to the Marina and being right on the beach was the best perks. After a few days we discovered all the great $2 fish taco places downtown which was a nice treat. If I had a negative to this property it would be the less than desirable pool which for most of the day is in the shade. While the location is wonderful some rooms won't have much of a view but if you stick to rooms above the 4th floor you should be fine. I did a quick check online for resale timeshares and found several in the $700-1500 price range which sure sounds alot better than the $7500 offered to my brothe for a one week 1 bedroom.. I'm very tempted to buy a timeshare just so I can come back to Cabo. It had been quite a while since I had visited and thought the town and beach very fun and with the friendly staff at Cabo Villa its a very nice place to spend a week or more. They were also quite flexible in allowing us a 11 pm checkout which was nice on the last day.
Overall the pros far outweigh the cons and this property has the rooms, location, food and service to rate it a top pick to visit.

Room Tip: try to get a room above the 4th floor and if you get a room facing the marina your more likely to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidgmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    287
    110
    89
    94
See reviews for
274
393
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

After two weeks at Cabo Villas this January, I'm happy to say that the things that make this resort so enjoyable are still true, and some things have been improved to make a stay here both relaxing and worthwhile.

For us, the people who work at Cabo Villas are its heart and soul. From the moment we walk in each year until the day we leave, they are warm, friendly and unfailingly hospitable. We stay at other resorts as well, some of them fancier, others more luxurious or better appointed. Where they cannot compete with Cabo Villas, however, is in their employees and the sense of being welcome and at home. The rooms are very comfortable and well-cared for, the pool lounge chairs are great, and all of this creates an atmosphere that encourages guests to linger and to relax.

Location is another factor and Cabo Villas is perfect in that regard. Everything in town is in walking distance and that wonderful stretch of Medano Beach is the best way to start or end a day. In the past, this prime location also meant dealing with the non-stop noise/music from the bars and party animals on the beach. Apparently, someone in management heard the complaints from previous years because the music at CV's own pool bar has been turned way down and the speakers on the beach no longer blast the resort. We arrived this year on Christmas Day and my first thought, because of the noticeable and welcome quiet, was that no one was on the beach. In fact, Medano was completely packed and, down there, the music was loud and raucous, but the resort? Not a peep from the beach. It was heavenly, and we spent every spare moment on our patio, enjoying the breeze and the peace.

Baja Brewing is still going strong on top of the CVR building, but live bands play just three nights a week now and only until 10:15-10:30, not the previous 11:00. Wednesday is karaoke night at the upper pool bar and I understand that noise can go on for quite awhile. My advice? Call the front desk if it's after hours or join in, if you can. It's a great time and you don't have to sing unless you want to, but it is a lot of fun. I went for the first time this year and will definitely make it a habit for my future Wednesday nights.

New Bayview-style buildings are, apparently, in-the-future works, with a new pool and other amenities planned. I don't know when construction will start, but it seems to be a sign that Cabo Villas is well and thriving. WiFi is free to owners, which is a huge deal, NOT available at all resorts, and worked well and consistently for the most part. C'mon, it's vacation, people, step away from your laptops.

While I would selfishly like to keep Cabo Villas to myself, I'm posting this review because I hope those who've stayed away might be encouraged to return, that newcomers will feel as welcome as we do. This isn't the perfect resort, I'm not even sure such a thing exists, and yes, there are a few rooms without views of any kind and if you're on the sixth floor below Baja Brewing on the nights the band plays, well, they will stop. But in terms of hospitality, location and comfort, Cabo Villas is the best place to be in Cabo San Lucas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustATravelerWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our trip started out on a bad note, left a bag on the shuttle service, however the front desk was amazing and went out of their way to help us get it back, expecially Gabriel ( as he came to be known 'the angel' for my mom). Everyone has been friendly and gone out of their way and even remembered us from last year. This is my second time there and it is like returning home after being gone a while.
Even the managers took time to talk to us and get to know us ( Noel) and made us feel at home.
Close to diving ( Andromeda Divers)- who remembered me, the beach, close to town for shopping and Cabo Wabo ( great food, drinks)
The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and we had a great time. Watching the sun come up every morning with a cup of coffee, and reading a book, was the way our mornings went after using the gym in the morning. I would recommend the location and hotel/vacation rentals/timeshares.

Room Tip: higher up has the better views, and avoid the people at the airport- JUST say NO ( multiple times)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had a great time! Our room was large and very clean. We had a small kitchen with a fridge, stovetop, but not an oven. Our balcony overlooked one of the 3 pools and the ocean. Although the bacony faced NE and we missed the sunshining in we had great views of the sunrise every morning. Our bed was terrific and the bathroom very spacious.
The staff were great. We loved our housekeeper. Everyone was helpful from the front desk to the beach service.
We had the choice of sitting the the restaurant's beach area or go next door to the public beach. Both were wonderful.
This hotel had good events happening there, but the best part was location to all of the great areas of Cabo!!! Fun restaurants just down the street or just take a 10 minute walk to the hub of activity by the marina.. a little further to old town and more great restaurants. It was VERY SAFE!!!! I would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We are long time owners at Cabo Villas and just returned from 3 weeks and as always had a wonderful stay. The staff is always ready to accomodate you to make your stay feel like your second home. The area around Cabo Villas has great restaurants, the beach is the best and it is an easy walk to town. If the beach activity is to crazy just walk a ways and you can find just what you want. Can't wait till we go back!

Room Tip: There are variety of rooms but always try to get above the 3rd floor. Except for a few rooms all ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stonecutter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
#20 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.4 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.0 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury...
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): $323 - $496
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 142 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing