We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Esperanza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Esperanza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Esperanza is another beautiful big resort that is well done and well designed. I am more of a boutique resort and hotel type of girl, but If you like big resorts with all the bells and whistles you will enjoy Esperanza.

Here's what’s tops at Esperanza:
Service - very very good!!! - 5
Views - beautiful - 5
Pools - many, plenty and very well done, pool fun for kids and adults - 5
Spa - expensive but very good - best masseuse Daniel, if you like it deep and you like to be stretched out he is your guy - he is one of the best I have ever had! - 6
Exercise Facilities - top notch including my favorite power plate
Classes and Activities - fabulous yoga by Isabelle and Blanca - great TRX classes and boot camps plus other fun activities like mountain biking and cooking classes - 5
La Palapa Restaurant - very good for lunch or dinner - 4


Here's what’s less than tops:
Construction Quality - we were in the villa section - which is very very nice- but the walls and windows are far from sound proof - some of the thinnest and nosiest accommodations I have ever experienced - 1
Beach - there is no swimmable beach at Esperanza, but that is common for many Cabo Resorts - 1
Cocina Del Mar restaurant - is a huge disappointment - and most people that I ran into felt the same. It was bad for breakfast as well as dinner - and it’s pretty pricey -1
El Bar - the restaurant and Bar where they serve tapas - was also disappointing - 2

Room Tip: the reason I give the rooms and the sleep quality poor ratings because the walls and construction ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeLStrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for sharing candid feedback regarding your recent stay at Esperanza.
I am thrilled that you enjoyed our service at Esperanza. Our staff work very hard and enjoy what they do!

Recently at the Spa we have included new complementary activities such as boot camp and TRX classes. I am glad that you enjoyed these classes and appreciate your comments.

Regarding your Food & Beverage feedback, our Executive Chef and F&B Director are working on new menus and offerings to enhance our culinary experience here at Esperanza.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Esperanza!

Yours Sincerely,

Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    80
    26
    19
    12
See reviews for
179
471
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The resort is a 5 overall, the service and workers are amazing.
I suggest that if you stay there, avoid 3rd floor rooms especially C-54; or bring ear plugs. The generators are very very loud throughout the night that are very hard to sleep through, even after several drinks!! So bring your earplugs!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweety4431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent visit to Esperanza!
I am glad that you found our resort to be a 5 overall and the service and staff to be amazing. I have shared this wonderful news with my team.

Regarding the noise in your casita, we are working to correct this issue.

I appreciate your comments and hope to have you back at Esperanza very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Esperanza for a week. The entire experience was truly incredible. I was expecting a "great" resort - but Esperanza exceeds "great" in so many ways. The property is stunning - much more beautiful than can be portrayed in any pictures. My room was perfect - clean, comfortable, quality bedding, linens and towels, a wonderful outside deck with seating and hammock, spacious bathroom with quality fixtures, large double head shower and separate tub, lots of attention to details and "extras" (quality Keurig coffee maker, large flatscreen TV (rarely used!)),quality furnishings in well-designed spaces and gorgeous views! The restaurants, facilities, pools, spa, etc are all wonderful - comfortable and convenient. The beaches are stunning and the bars are inviting and create a perfect mood with gorgeous views (and spectacular drinks!). The resort physically - all of the above - is as good as it gets. But what puts Esperanza in a league of its own is that on top of the property itself being so stunning - the staff turns it into an experience that is simply unforgettable. At every level - drivers, reception, waitstaff, bartenders, hostesses, pool attendants, housekeepers - they are all truly amazing. Polite, friendly, accommodating, helpful, pleasant, knowledgeable, flexible - they all work very hard to make sure that their guest's time is perfect, and quite simply - they succeed. They are there when you need them but not at all intrusive. I've had many experiences at fine properties and met many impressive staff members, but there is something quite extraordinary in the way Esperanza delivers with excellence, as a whole, in every way. And special thanks to the general manager Mark, and especially to my "personal concierge" Elena, who coordinated every need, activity, reservation, excursion and meal with seamless perfection. The weather was ideal (it took me a while to realize that "never" as an answer to my question "how often does it rain?" wasn't a joke), and Cabo was just a short taxi ride away for a couple exciting nights out on the town. Esperanza is a magical experience and I will undoubtedly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
I appreciate your amazing comments from your recent business trip to Esperanza!

Thank you for taking a moment to send us such valuable feedback and letting us know that your stay was “absolutely spectacular”! I am delighted to hear that our team delivered an unforgettable experience during your time here at Esperanza.

We hope to have you back very soon!

Warmest Wishes,

Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

From the moment of arrival we were greeted by our concierge and a lovely icy cilantro treat. No check in required, just whisked to our ocean front room with infinity jacuzzi on the balcony. Room was lovely, great bed, housekeeping, and fantastic welcome ammenities for my husbands b-day. Poolside was terrific...attendants worked constantly to provide water, specialized iced treats, and any order you wished to place for lunch or cocktails. No children at this pool. Mostly couples, not a singles place. Spotted migrating whales from our room and restaurant each day...fantastic(binoculars included with room)
Delicicious breakfast, a few choices for dinner, favorite being the restaurant at the resort(fantastic fresh fish.beautiful spa and yoga room. Also Boot camp on the beach was fun. Exercise facility was clean updated and spacious. Concierge booked golf for my husband at an ocean course that he enjoyed.
Esperanza is comprised of the owners side and the resort side. Children are not allowed at the pool on the resort side. Their are alot of families on the resort side. Grounds are impecible,transfers by hotel definately worth it.
Didn't make it into Cabo San Lucas, but went to San Jose del Cabo and it was worth the cab ride. All in all if you want an easy, totally relaxing, casually elegant mexican resort, book the esperanza.

Room Tip: three level resort, book at least the mid or top level...binoculars included to watch the whales...n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at Esperanza! We are thrilled that we were able to make your stay memorable and that you loved your room and amenities as well.

We would love to have you both back to Esperanza soon!

Warm Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Upon my arrival at this resort I was impressed with the sheer beauty of it but oh it gets so much better. The personalized service is over the top from the concierge who tours the property with you then takes your to your room as you gasp and awe at the resort grounds to the amazing wait staff in the restaurants. When we arrived to my room their was a butler making mojito's on my terrace, fresh chips and guacamole with pico de gallo awaited me, I was so overwhelmed tears came to my eyes. I have been to many highly rated resorts none compare to Esperanza. Things not to be missed; take a walk at sunset on the beach and watch the waves crash over the rocks, in season (as it was upon my visit) I sat at the infinity edge pool and watched a pod of whales put on quite a show. Order the beef tacos, trust me on this, order them! Filet Mignon is not my favorite cut of beef seemingly it lacks flavor but not here, order the Filet you will not be disappointed. It is apparent the staff here is well trained, prideful of their work and frankly seem very happy to be at work. Refreshing and kudos to the General Manager! One employee waived his hand towards view and said "How do you like my office?" well sir, I liked it very much!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for such wonderful comments about your recent stay at Esperanza. I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that you found our service and staff to be the very best! Here at Esperanza we enjoy what we do best, making sure that our guests go home happy.

Thanks once again for taking a moment to send us your delightful feedback.
We look forward to having you and your friends back at Esperanza very soon.

Warm Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.7 km away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.8 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
4.9 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
6.7 km away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
6.4 km away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Property: Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): $1,006 - $4,052
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing